Warren County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Warren County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for General Joseph Warren, who was killed in the Battle of Bunker Hill. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Warren County Courthouse
100 Warren Street
Warrenton, GA 30828
Phone: 706-465-2262
Warren County Website
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records.[3]
Warren County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1919 | 1794 | 1919 | 1794 | 1796 | 1794 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1854 The courthouse at Warrenton burned on 23 April. Deed books from 1817-1844 were destroyed. Most other county records survived.[5] For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]\
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible and Cemetery Records Collection(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- Warren County Bible Records at Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
- Warren County Bible Records at Rootsweb - Warren County GAGenWeb
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1800 | 8,329 | — |
| 1810 | 8,725 | 4.8% |
| 1820 | 10,630 | 21.8% |
| 1830 | 10,946 | 3.0% |
| 1840 | 9,789 | −10.6% |
| 1850 | 12,425 | 26.9% |
| 1860 | 9,820 | −21.0% |
| 1870 | 10,545 | 7.4% |
| 1880 | 10,885 | 3.2% |
| 1890 | 10,957 | 0.7% |
| 1900 | 11,463 | 4.6% |
| 1910 | 11,860 | 3.5% |
| 1920 | 11,828 | −0.3% |
| 1930 | 11,181 | −5.5% |
| 1940 | 10,236 | −8.5% |
| 1950 | 8,779 | −14.2% |
| 1960 | 7,360 | −16.2% |
| 1970 | 6,669 | −9.4% |
| 1980 | 6,583 | −1.3% |
| 1990 | 6,078 | −7.7% |
| 2000 | 6,336 | 4.2% |
| 2010 | 5,834 | −7.9% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1794-1901 Superior Court Minutes, 1794-1901(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1794-1904 Miscellaneous Court Records and Homestead Records, 1794-1904 [Warren County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1798-1910 Annual Returns, 1798-1910(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1817-1945 Minutes and Day Book, 1817-1945(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1818-1906 Superior Court Writs, 1818-1906(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1823-1868 Inferior Court Minutes, 1823-1868 [Warren County, Georgia](*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1823-1876 Recognizance Book 1823-1834, and Evidence of Criminal Court 1839-1876 [Warren County, Georgia](*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1843-1858 Writs, 1843-1858 [Warren County, Georgia](*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1844-1863 Register of Free Persons of Color, 1844-1863 [Warren County, Georgia](*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1854-1932 Jury List 1870-1892, Stock Register Certificates 1854-1901, and Pension Roll 1890-1932 [Warren County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1855-1941 Constable Bonds 1855-1941 [Warren County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1856-1889 Year's Support and County Officer Bonds, 1856-1889 [Warren County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1858-1867 Peddler Licenses, Estrays, and Constable Oaths, 1858-1867(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1866-1901 County Court Minutes, 1866-1901 [Warren County, Georiga](*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1884-1950 Record of Justices and Notaries Public, 1884-1950 [Warren County, Georgia](*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Dawson's Mortuary in Warrenton
- Lowe Funeral Home in Warrenton
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1735-1866 Georgian Colonial and Headright Plat Index, 1735-1866 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - alpha index
- 1783-1909 Headright and Bounty Plats, 1783-1909 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1805-1833 District Plats of Survey at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images organized by county and district
- Colonial Plats and Warrants at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Warren County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
- Origins of Early Settlers to Warren County at Georgia Pioneers ($)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- 1740s-? Historic Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1866 - 1935 County Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)
- Warren County Map at Georgia Pioneers ($)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 Confederate Enlistment Oaths and Discharges at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images and alphabetical index
- 1861-1865 Confederate Muster Rolls at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images; filter by commanding officer, service branch and regiment
- 1861-1865 Confederate Pension Application Supplements - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
- 1864 Militia Enrollment Lists, 1864 - images; filter by county
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1960 Confederate Pension Applications - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
Regiments. Service men in Warren County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Warren County:
- - 5th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company D
- - 22nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- - 48th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- - 64th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate)
Spanish-American War
- 1898 Spanish-American War Service Summary Cards - images and alphabetical index; filter by residence, muster location and unit
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Casualties Scrapbooks - images and alphabetical index
- 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940-1942 Georgia World War II Draft Registration Cards 1940-1942 at findmypast - index ($))
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Georgia Historic Newspapers at Digital Library of Georgia
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
- 1856-1909 - Georgia, County Voter Registrations, 1856-1909 at FamilySearch — index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1733-1753 Colonial Wills at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1742-1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1754-1776 Colonial Will Books at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1793-1811 Digital Images of Wills. See names of testators. Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1793-1811 List of Warren County Wills 1793-1811 at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1793-1829 Digital Images of Warren County Will Book A (1793-1811) and Will Book B (1810-1829) at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1794-1927 Inventories, appraisements, and sales, 1794-1927(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Warren County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1797-1807 Index of Warren County Estates, Wills, Letters of Administration at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1798-1937 Administration of estates and wills, 1798-1937(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Warren County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1803-1901 Records of administration, guardianship, and executor returns, 1803-1901 Warren County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Warren County) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1810-1829 Digital Images of Wills. See names of testators. Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1810-1829 Index to Warren County Will Book B Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1810-1852 Indexes to Warren County Will Book A (1810-1829) and Will Book B (1829-1852) at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1810-1954 Administrators bonds, 1810-1954(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Warren County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1811-1826 Index to Warren County Annual Returns Book B (1811-1826) at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1829-1852 Digital Images of Wills. See names of testators. Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1829-1952 Index to Warren County Wills Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1850-1857 Administration of estates, 1850-1857(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Warren County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1851-1868, 1881-1947 Estate dockets 1851-1868, and letters of testamentary 1881-1947 Warren County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Warren County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Partial index and images
- 1856-1889 Year's support and county officer bonds, 1856-1889 Warren County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Warren County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Partial index and images
- 1859-1915, 1899-1956 Letters of administrators, trustees and administrations 1859-1915, and temporary letters of administration 1899-1956 Warren County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Warren County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Partial index and images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1787-1900 Georgia, Tax Digests, 1787-1900 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1560-1993 Georgia, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1754-1960 Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1787-1962 Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1794-1805 Warren County Marriages 1794-1805 at Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1794-1835 Warren County Marriage Index 1794-1835. Batch M713911 at FamilySearch.[8]
- 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch — index
- 1828-1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1833-1874 Warren County Marriage Index 1833-1874. Batch M713912 at FamilySearch
- 1875-1888 Warren County Marriage Index 1875-1888. Batch M713913 at FamilySearch
- 1888-1895 Warren County Marriage Index 1888-1895. Batch M713914 at FamilySearch
- Warren County Marriage Contracts found in Deeds and Other Documents at Georgia Pioneers ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
- 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1919-1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1919-1930 Georgia Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - index and images
- 1928-1930 Georgia Non-Indexed Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1928-1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1856-1941 Georgia, County Voter Registrations, 1856-1941 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Warren County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Warren County. For state-wide library facilities, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Warren County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Georgia Societies.
Warren County Genealogical Society
PO Box 47
Warrenton, GA 30828
East Georgia Genealogical Society, Inc.
PO Box 117
Winder, GA 30680
East Georgia Genealogical Society, Inc.
East Georgia Genealogical Society, Inc. Facebook
Georgia State Archives
5800 Jonesboro Road
Morrow, GA 30260
Phone: 678-364-3700
Georgia State Archives
Georgia State Archives Facebook
Georgia Historical Society
Street address: 501 Whitaker Street
Mailing address: 104 W. Gaston Street
Savannah, GA 31401
Phone: 912-651-2125
Toll Free: 877-424-4789
Email: ghslib@georgiahistory.com
Georgia Historical Society
Georgia Genealogical Society
PO Box 550247
Atlanta, Georgia 30355-2747
Georgia Genealogical Society
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Warren County GAGenWeb
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Warren County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers ($)
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Warren County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_County,_Georgia accessed 6 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Warren County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 56-57. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Warren _County,_Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warren_County,_Georgia, accessed 15 October 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
