Walton on the Hill St Mary, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Walton on the Hill St Mary, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a List of the Parishes and Chapelries in Walton-on the-Hill

Walton on the Hill St Mary, Lancashire
Walton St Mary .jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union West Derby
Registration District Ormskirk; West Derby
Records begin
Parish registers: 1587; Separate registers exist for Walton on the Hill Edge Hill beginning 1813 and for Walton on the Hill Stanley beginning 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1625; Separate records exist for Toxteth Park St Michael in the Hamlet beginning 1815 and for Walton on the Hill Edge Hill beginning 1822 and for Walton on the Hill Stanley beginning 1832
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Liverpool North
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

WALTON-ON-THE-HILL St Mary, a parish, in the union and hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 3 miles north by east of Liverpool. The parish consists of the district chapelry of West Derby; the chapelries of Everton, Formby, and Kirkby; and the townships of Bootle with Linacre, Fazakerley, Kirkdale, Simonswood, and Walton. [1]

The town name 'Walton' may have been derived from the same origins as the country name 'Wales'. The Saxons called the earlier inhabitants of Briton (the Celtic Britons) the 'Walas' or 'Wealas'. Thus, Walton may have once been called 'Walas' town. Whatever the origins of the name, Walton is one of the oldest areas of settlement in Merseyside.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Walton on the Hill St Mary[edit | edit source]
  • Bootle St Mary Chapelry - 1848
  • Edge Hill St Mary Chapelry - 1837
  • Everton Christ Church Chapelry - 1845
  • Everton Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1847
  • Everton Emmanuel Chapelry - 1867
  • Everton St Augustine Chapelry - 1830
  • Everton St Chrysostom Chapelry - 1853
  • Everton St Cuthbert Chapelry - 1877
  • Everton St George Chapelry - 1814
  • Everton St Peter Chapelry - 1850
  • Everton St Peter and St Ambrose and All Saints Chapelry - 1849
  • Everton St Saviour Chapelry - 1866
  • Everton St Timothy Chapelry - 1868
  • Formby St Peter Chapelry - 1620
  • Kirkby St Chad Chapelry - 1678
  • Kirkdale St Mary Chapelry - 1835
  • Knotty Ash St John Chapelry - 1836
  • Stanley St Anne Chapelry
  • Walton Breck Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1849
  • West Derby St Jude Chapelry
  • West Derby St Mary Chapelry - 1681

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Walton on the Hill St Mary Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Walton on the Hill St Mary are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]

West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 453-457. Adapted. Date accessed: 07 October 2013 .