Waltham, Addison County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Town Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Waltham, Vermont at Wikipedia

Waltham was created on October 31, 1796 (Vermont Act of Incorporation) and never had a charter of its own, instead coming about through an unusual set of circumstances.

When Vergennes was incorporated out of parts of New Haven, Ferrisburgh and Panton, it was given only the 1,200 acres it now contains. In 1791 about three square miles were taken from New Haven and given to Vergennes, but in 1796 the extra acreage was taken away from Vergennes and incorporated into what is now the town of Waltham. [1]  [2]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

The following is a list of cemeteries in present-day Waltham. For location of cemeteries, see Cemeteries of Vermont, Addison County, website at this link.  

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Historically, the largest religious groups in Vermont were the Congregational, Baptist, Roman Catholic, and Methodist churches. For general information about Vermont denominations, view the New Hampshire Church Records wiki page.

To see the churches in Waltham, visit.

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. The following are church records available online for the town of Waltham:

City Directories[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

The following are online land records for the town of Waltham:

Libraries and Historical Societies[edit | edit source]

Maps[edit | edit source]

The following are online maps of the town of Waltham:

1871 map of Waltham Township

Military Records
[edit | edit source]

Vermont, Addison County, Waltham, Enrolled Militia Records, 1866-1867 - view digital images Vermont, Enrolled Militia Records, 1861-1867 - How to Use this Collection

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Addison County Independent ($)

Burlington Free Press

Rutland Herald

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In Vermont, most probate records are kept at the town level. The following are online probate records for the town of Waltham:

Probate Records
[edit | edit source]

The probate district for Waltham is Addison.
Addison Probate Court
7 Mahady Court
Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone: (802) 388-2612

Town Histories[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

In Vermont, most records are kept at the town level and generally began being kept at the founding of the town. These records may include the following:

  • Births
  • Marriages
  • Deaths
  • Burials
  • Cemetery records
  • Appointments
  • Earmarks
  • Estrays (stray animals)
  • Freemens' oaths (men eligible to vote)
  • Land records
  • Mortgages
  • Name changes
  • Care of the poor
  • School records
  • Surveys
  • Tax lists
  • Town meeting minutes
  • Voter registrations
  • Warning outs (of town)

The following are Waltham town records available online:

Town Clerk Vital and Town Records, 1842-1862, can be found on FamilySearch (browse only images).

The Family History Library has microfilm of original records from the Waltham Town Clerk's Office. These include Records of births, marriages, and deaths, 1794-1999, and Deeds, 1797-1864; index, 1797-1950.

Waltham Town Clerk
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 175, Vergennes, VT 05491
Physical Address: 2053 Maple Street Waltham, VT 05491
Phone: (802) 877-3641
Email: Waltham@myfairpoint.net

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

The town clerk is responsible for these records, and so most originals can be found at the town clerk's office.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

FamilySearch Historical Records Collection has Vermont birth, death, and marriage records online.

Births[edit | edit source]

Marriages[edit | edit source]

Deaths[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

Guide to Waltham, Addison ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Adjacent towns: