Wallowa County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Wallowa County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Wallowa County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||February 11, 1887|
|Address||Wallowa County Courthouse|
101 S River Street
Enterprise, Or 97828-1300
Wallowa County Website
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Nez Perce term for a structure of stakes (a weir) used in fishing. The County is located in the northeast area of the state. 
Wallowa County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has birth records 1907-1943
marriage, land and military records from 1897
divorce, probate and court records from 1897-1970
and naturalization records 1897-1920.
Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records
from 1971. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Wallowa County Court House as of August 2009.
Wallowa County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Named for Wallowa River. Lewis and Clark Expedition journals recorded Wil-le-wahas the name.
- Records Held at the Courthouse
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Wallowa County Court House as of July 2004.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have websites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Defunct Post Offices
- Alder Slope: Alder post office, the third in what is now Wallowa County, was established Apr. 5, 1878, with Henry Beecher first postmaster. The office was discontinued Oct. 9, 1890.
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
- 35 years on Smith Mountain WorldCat 10352854
- My days in northeast Oregon: a memoir of wagon trains and pack strings in the 1890s WorldCat 53151451
- Angel from Paradise: the life and times of a Wallowa County cowboy WorldCat 49728789
- Of men and mountains WorldCat 20692913
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|ORGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Farms - Ranches[edit | edit source]
- Wallowa County brand book, 1921 May 1 WorldCat 27077291
- Index to chattel mortgages, Wallowa County, Oregon, 1913-1931 FHL Collection
Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- Origin of Wallowa County place names WorldCat 26989269
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
History[edit | edit source]
- About Wallowa County: people, places, images WorldCat 45243397 FHL Collection
- An Illustrated history of Union and Wallowa counties: with a brief outline of the early history of the state of Oregon WorldCat 35550807 FHL Collection
- The old and the new: history of the post offices of Wallowa County WorldCat 11533878 FHL Collection
- The Wallowa country, 1867-1877 WorldCat 10977066 FHL Collection
- The History of Wallowa County, Oregon WorldCat 10570978
- Historical sketches of Wallowa National Forest WorldCat 276172917
- Reminiscences of Wallowa County WorldCat 10193105
- Wallowa, the land of winding waters WorldCat 31939388
- Carving the north end wilderness;: Flora WorldCat 12279706
- Bits of Wallowa County lore WorldCat 15483800
- This valley: (Wallowa Valley) WorldCat 6874397
- The flora country; the hardships and struggles of the Matt Devin family as pioneers in northern Wallowa County, Oregon. WorldCat 29720945
- Gateway to the Wallowas WorldCat 54510506
- From The Wallowas WorldCat 27965682
- Pioneering in the Wallowas: four frontier tales WorldCat 18593071
- Heritage of the Wallowas: life as it was WorldCat 7853501
- Wallowa County, the Northwest's most scenic area; a land of beauty and opportunity WorldCat 5228592
- Memories: a nostalgic look at life in northeast Oregon WorldCat 8224326
- Wallowa County, Oregon: a capsule history WorldCat 18592973
- The story of Wallowa Lake WorldCat 15635920
- The forgotten grist and flour mills of Wallowa County, Oregon: a history of the eight grist or flour mills that have operated in Wallowa County, Oregon WorldCat 45375331
- Wallowa County, Oregon : the land of peace, prosperity and happiness WorldCat 37724872
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Map of Wallowa County, Oregon, 1922 WorldCat 27993061
- Metsker's atlas of Wallowa County, Oregon, 1935 WorldCat 10239215
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military History and Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
- Signal mountain: Wallowa County's own historical magazine WorldCat 38527127
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. Rivers and Waterways
Schools[edit | edit source]
- School days in the Wallowas: a history of the ninety-one schools and communities, past and present, of Wallowa County, Oregon WorldCat 26657807
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Wallowa County, Oregon, marriage records, 1887-1983 WorldCat 21103560
- Many early marriages are listed at the Western States Marriage Index.
Death Records[edit | edit source]
- Coroner's inquest, Wallowa County, Oregon, 1906-1915 FHL Collection
Voting Records[edit | edit source]
- Election voter register, Wallowa County, Oregon, 1902, 1906, 1914 FHL Collection
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Maxville Heritage Interpretive Center
211 E 2nd St
Wallowa, OR 97885
Wallowa County Libraries101 S River St
Enterprise, OR 97828
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Wallowa County GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch Catalog for the latest
Wallowa County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Wallowa, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wallowa_County,_Oregon accessed 29 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wallowa County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wasco County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Wallowa County, Oregon" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wallowa_County,_Oregon, accessed 16 January 2019.
- HQO - (LAR)