Vågå Parish, Oppland, Norway Genealogy
Guide to Vågå, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
| Vågå Parish | |
|---|---|
| Jurisdictions | |
| Stift/Bispedømme/ Diocese |
Hamar |
| Prosti | Nord-Gudbrandsdal |
| Len 1599-1660 | Akershus |
| Amt 1689-1919 | 1660-1687: Akershus, 1687-1689: Gudbrandsdalen og Hedemarken, 1689-1757: Akershus, 1757-1781: Oppland, 1781-1919: Kristians |
| Fylke 1919-Present | Oppland |
| Region | Østlandet |
| Prestegjeld | Vågå |
| Kommune | Vågå |
| Skifteretten | Nord-Gudbrandsdal |
| Tinglag | Vågå |
| Fogderi | Nord-Gudbrandsdal |
| Sorenskriveri | Nord-Gudbrandsdal |
| Skipreide | N/A |
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Vågå clerical district included Vågå, Sel and Heidal (Hedal) parishes until 1910 when Vågå clerical district was divided into: Vågå clerical district with Vågå parish; and Sel clerical district with Sel and Heidal parishes. See also Sel clerical district.
Also available as digital images from The National Archives of Norway.
Vågå: 1739-1972
Vågå / Heidal: 1739-1904
Vågå / Sel: 1739-1904
Vågå / Vågå: 1739-1972
Sel / Heidal: 1894-1973
Sel / Sel: 1894-1972
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- 1664-1666 Census Gudbrandsdalen prosti Vaage (Vågå) clerical districtVaage (Vågå) parish Bredenbygden Selbygden (Sel) annex parish. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 122967 Item 3 and online as Digital Archives
- 1801 Census Vågå clerical district includes Vågå, Sel, and Heidal parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Film 122994 Item 1 and online as 1801-telling for 0515 Waage.
- 1801 Norway Census, 1801 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1865 Census Vågå clerical district includes Vågå, Sel, and Heidal parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Films 123099 Items 1 and 2 and online as 1865-telling for 0515 Waage.
- 1865 Norway Census, 1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1875 Census Vågå clerical district includes Vågå, Sel, and Heidal parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Films 273225-273228; farm name index Film 273273, and online Digital Archives
- 1875 Norway Census, 1875 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1891 census for Vågå Digital Archives
- 1891 Norway Census, 1891 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images; also at Ancestry ($), MyHeritage ($)
- 1900 Census Vågå clerical district includes Vågå, Sel, and Heidal parishes. Microfilmed images are available at the Family History Library Films 273838-273842 and online as 1900-telling for 0515 Vaage.
- 1910 Census The 1910 census search at Digitalarkivet
- The census of 1865, 1875 (partial), 1900 and 1910 are also available at the Norwegian Historical Data Center
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Land Records[edit | edit source]
Farm Books[edit | edit source]
Farm Names[edit | edit source]
79 Aabakken 110 Aabaksæteren 149 Austrem 5 Baarstad 47 Bakken 116 Bakken 81 Berge nedre 169 Bessæteren 9 Bjørnstad nedre 24 Blesum nordre 6 Bolstad 123 Bondesonspladsen 150 Braaten 149 Brandvol 70 Bratland 118 Breidokken 131 Brennsæteren 162 Byteskveen 129 Bøneslisæteren 117 Dalen 109 Djupviken 160 Eide 68 Fillinsø 119 Flataasen 106 Fluguhaugen 57 Gaarden 64 Galstad 91 Grev 26 Haakenstad 25 Hagen 40 Hagen 126 Halvorsløkken 4 Hammer 3 Hammerteigen 161 Hanslien 12 Haugen 43 Haugen 120 Haugen 52 Haugen nordre 170 Heimdalen 69 Hellen 147 Holdbø nordre 39 Holen nordre 12 Holungsøien søndre 36 Huden 35 Huset 107 Kalbakken nedre 154 Kjølstad 143 Kleppe nordre 158 Kleven 55 Klomsrud 140 Klones 150 Kobbersletten 77 Kolgroven 116 Kristofferløkken 71 Kvarberg nedre 133 Kviten 161 Lien 27 Lunde Nerigaard 67 Lyen 2 Løkken 62 Løkken 76 Mo 171 Murudalsæteren 146 Neset 104 Nesløkken 95 Næpneset 161 Ommundgaard 167 Ommundsæteren 57 Oppistuen 105 Perstuen 157 Pillerviken 60 Præststulen 32 Raastad mellem 49 Raastadpladsen 1 Ragnildengen 163 Randsroen 134 Ringneset 125 Ringnessæteren 139 Ripstranden 154 Rottem 137 Rusnes 143 Rusvandet 7 Rydningen 132 Rydningen 130 Saghaugen 94 Sagrusten 5 Salien 168 Salien 48 Sandbusgaarden 87 Sande 88 Sandnes nordre 100 Sandviken 42 Siem nordre 102 Simonsneset 156 Skaar nedre 50 Skaarvangen 57 Skaarvangen 38 Skindet 46 Skjesvold nordre 56 Skjærstulen 1 Skrien 65 Smedsmo 11 Snerle nordre 63 Spakerud 152 Stade nordre 145 Steinaløkken 146 Stokstad nedre 121 Stordalen 48 Storgjoten 102 Storrvik mellem 98 Storsteinsrusten 136 Stranden mellem 141 Sunde 142 Sundlien 36 Svare mellem 20 Sve 150 Svenstad 24 Sæta 114 Sønstelien 44 Sønsteng 18 Sør-Sandbu nedre og 14 Sørem 161 Sørlien 151 Teigen 115 Tesnespladsen 1 Tolstad 99 Trælviken 128 Tuvstulen 13 Uleberg 90 Ulsanden 82 Ulsbu 66 Vaage Præstegaard 73 Valbjør 86 Valle nordre 75 Visdal nedre 83 Viste nordre, mellem 53 Volden 145 Vombteigen 59 Ødegaarden nedre 124 Ødegaardsnessæteren 61 Øfsteng 21 Øi nedre 54 Øiagaarden 159 Øverlien
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Gudbrandsdal judicial district
*1720-1735 Family History Library
*1659-1721 Digitalarkivet
Nord-Gudbrandsdal judicial district
*1658-1887 Family History Library
*1732-1907 Digitalarkivet
- The Nord-Gudbrandsdal probate register for the years 1824-1843 includes a list of all reported deaths in Vågå, Lesja, and Lom for the year 1833 on pages 334b-335.
Gudbrandsdal deanery
*1696-1712 Family History Library
*1696-1712 Digitalarkivet
