Uvalde County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Uvalde County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Uvalde County, Texas|
Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy
Location of Texas in the U.S.
|Founded||8 February, 1850|
|Address||Uvalde County Courthouse|
PO Box 284
Uvalde, TX 78802
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Juan de Ugalde, the Spanish governor of Coahuila. The County is located in the south-central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
P.O. Box 284
Uvalde, TX 78802
Courthouse Plaza #15
Ulvalde, TX 78801
Uvalde County has been home to five courthouses. The first courthouse was completed in May 1857, with the first floor of the building housing the courthouse and jail, in rooms with 9' tall ceilings. The second floor, used for county offices had ceilings that were 5' tall at the eves. The 1870 courthouse was a cypress wood frame building. A fourth courthouse was built in 1877. In 1890, an ornate Second Empire style courthouse topped with a clock tower and lightning rods was built. In 1927, the construction began on the current courthouse, shown at right, a brick and concrete structure. The building is a Recorded Texas Landmark. 
Uvalde County Courthouse
Ramona Hobbs, County Clerk
Corner of Main (U.S. 90) and Getty
P.O. Box 284
Uvalde, Texas 78802-0284
Uvalde County Government Website
Inventory of the county archives of Texas : Uvalde County, no. 232, 1941. Historical Records Survey. Inventory of records housed in the Uvalde County Courthouse as of 1936-1937. Digital book on line at the Portal to Texas History.
Uvalde County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
General compliance by the 1930s.
History[edit | edit source]
1852-- The first Anglo-American settlers arrived in 1852. The name Uvalde was originally known as "Ugalde".
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1850--Uvalde County was created 8 February 1850 from Bexar county. Uvalde County was organized in February 1856.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|FindAGrave||Family History Library||FindAGrave|
|BillionGraves (name)||Cemeteries of TX|
|GenWeb Archives||Texas Cemeteries|
|BillionGraves||Names in Stone|
|See Texas Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Uvalde County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Oldtimers: Frontier Days in the Uvalde Section of Southwest Texas, 1939, by Florence Fenley.
- A Proud Heritage: A History of Uvalde County, 1975.
- Uvalde County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Texas Land Survey Maps for Uvalde County, Texas Genealogy (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
- 1845 - 1848 - US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1920 Texas, World War I Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Uvalde County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program at The Portal to Texas History
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800 – 1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800 – 2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840 - 1981 Texas Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1935 Texas Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 - FamilySearch (images and index) - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 - FamilySearch (index only) - How to Use this Collection
- Uvalde County Births - How to Get a Birth Record
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802-2010 Texas, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- Uvalde County Marriages - How to Get a Marriage Record
- 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837-1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837-1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837-1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966 - 2010 Texas Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch - FamilySearch record collection - How to Use this Collection
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
- Uvalde County Deaths - How to Get a Death Record
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 - FamilySearch with images - How to Use this Collection - The index was created by Family Search and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903 and in many counties prior to 1910. Fold3.com also has [http://www.fold3.com/title_479
- 1903-1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903-1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index, 1964-1998 - FamilySearch (no images) - How to Use this Collection - Index to Texas statewide death certificates covering 4 million deaths since 1964.
- 1977-1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968-2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968-2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968-2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Southwest Texas Genealogical Society
PO Box 295
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Uvalde County TXGenWeb
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Uvalde, Texas" in "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uvalde_County,_Texas. accessed 11/27/2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Uvalde County, Texas. Page 675 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- HistoricTexas.net: Uvalde County, https://www.historictexas.net/county/uvalde-county
- Inventory of the county archives of Texas : Uvalde County, no. 232, Book, May 1941
- Historical Marker: Uvalde County Courthouse, located at the corner of Main (Hwy 90) and Getty, Uvalde.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Uvalde County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Handbook of Texas Online: Uvalde County http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/hcu03
- Wikipedia contributors, "Uvalde County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uvalde_County,_Texas, Last accessed 29 August 2019.