User:Freephile/sandbox/buttons

Europe

Denmark

Guide to Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Denmark Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder Finding Town of Origin
Record Types
Cemeteries Census Church Records Citizenship Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration & Immigration Genealogies Jewish Records Heraldry Land & Property Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)	Military Records Newspapers Nobility Notarial Records Obituaries Occupations Online Records Periodicals Probate Records Religious Records School Records Taxation Websites
Denmark Background
Biography Church History Cultural Groups Danish Genealogical Word List Encyclopedias & Dictionaries Feast Days Gazetteers Handwriting Historical Geography	History Jurisdictions Languages Maps Personal Names Social Life & Customs For Further Reading
Local Research Resources
Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Country Information

Denmark is a Scandinavian country in Northern Europe bordering Sweden, Norway, and Germany. In 1793 its counties were reorganized into 24 counties. In 2007 the counties were reorganized into 5 regions. Danish is the official language with Faroese, Greenlandic, and German being recognized languages.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Denmark Research Links to articles on getting started with Denmark research. "How to" Guides Birth Information Marriage Information Death Information Denmark Research Tips and Strategies Guided Research See More Research Strategies

Denmark Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Denmark research. Parish List English guide to accessing the digitized Danish records Gazetteers - Finding Place Names Denmark Websites Danish Genealogical Word List, German Genealogical Word List, and Latin Word List Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) Feast Days (Fixed and Moveable) See More Research Tools

OLD buttons

NEW buttons

Denmark
Online Records

Ask the
Community

Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Denmark

• Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
• If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Denmark Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.

Denmark Clickable Map

The map below shows county boundaries from about 1793 to 1970.

Jurisdictions

Counties

The Standard which FamilySearch uses is as follows: Town, Sogn (Parish), Herred, Amt (County), Denmark. Click on a county below to go to the state Wiki article listing more information. The Counties of Denmark (1793 - 1970).

Bornholm Copenhagen City Frederiksborg Haderslev Hjørring Holbæk København Maribo Odense Præstø Randers Ribe Ringkøbing Roskilde (Part of Copenhagen City since 1808) Skanderborg Sorø Svendborg Sønderborg Thisted Tønder Vejle Viborg Åbenrå Ålborg Århus Faroe Islands

Denmark Parishes

• Parish List

2007 Regions

On 1 January 2007 the counties were reorganized into five regions. Their official names are:

• Region Hovedstaden
• Region Sjælland
• Region Nordjylland
• Region Midtjylland
• Region Syddanmark

More Denmark Research Strategies

Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for Denmark.

• Getting Started
• Emigration information
• Immigration information
• Using witnesses to find the next generation
• City People and Research
• My Danish Ancestors, A Step-by-Step Guide to Utilizing FamilySearch.org to find Danish Ancestors.

More Denmark Research Tools

Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools for Denmark.

• Forside contains various databases including citizenship, church records, prisoner records, protocols.
• Denmark Counties
• Danish Dictionary
  
• Nordic Given Names List
• Handwriting Guide and Handwriting Examples
• Maps - counties(amts) herreds local communities
• Military Levy Numbers (Lægdnummer)
• Military Levying Roll Abbreviations (Army)
• Parish Register Headings
  
  • Denmark General
    
  • Southern Denmark (Danish language)
    
  • Southern Denmark (German language)
    
• Timeline of Events in your Ancestors Life
• Typing Æ, Ø, and Å

The usage of "Mormon" and "LDS" on this page is approved according to current policy.

• Mormonkirkens store database
• Record Finder
• Latin date converter
• MyHeritage MyHeritage puts exclusive Scandinavian records online.
• Danish Family Search
• Shifting Jurisdictions in Noerrejylland The database is intended to find archive capabilities where a change can be found. One has to know where the deceased died and his condition.
• Hollinger Family History Lots of data for more than 2,100 people from many European countries since 1480.
• Funeral Records - City of Copenhagen 1861-1942

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

• Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
• Historical Records
• Family History Center locator map
• FamilySearch Help Center Online Lessons:
  • Danish Census Research Part 1: Using the Danish Demographical Database
  • Danish Census Research Part 2: Finding Censuses on Arkivalieronline
  • Danish Census Research Part 3: Extracting Genealogical Information
  • FamilySearch Wiki: Denmark, Norway, Sweden
  • Danish Church Records: Research Strategies
  • Danish Church Records: Finding Ancestors Through Witnesses
  • Danish Resources on FamilySearch.org

References

In other languages: English | português |