From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

This user has taken the Advanced Wikitext lessons in Wiki University
This user attended RootsTech 2018 in Salt Lake City
This user attended RootsTech 2019 in Salt Lake City
RootsTech Connect 2021 logo.jpeg This user watched the live stream of RootsTech 2021.
RootsTech 2022 logo.jpg This user watched the live stream of RootsTech 2022.

Hi there! My name is Denise Beaman. I am the 9th child of 13 all from the same mom and dad (Yes I get asked that all the time). There were 7 boys and 6 girls. My husband is the 4th of 10 children, so yes family get-togethers are a challenge. We broke tradition and had merely 3 children, 1 boy and 2 girls. They have all grown up and moved on with their lives and we have 10 beautiful grandchildren (8 girls, 1 very lonely boy, and 1 angel boy on the other side of the veil). My family is my life!

I got into genealogy at about 20 years old. I have had the bug since day one. I now have over 45,000 names on my family tree that I am trying to prove/disprove/source/etc. Luckily for me my oldest brother took an interest when he retired and he has taken up the cause with me. I thought I knew everything there was to know about genealogy until I had to ask a question and found a whole new world of research sources I had never heard of. Now the more I learn, the more I realize I don't know much at all!!

My favorite part of family history is the stories. I can tie my family to the Mayflower, to many other of the early Pilgrims, the early days of the church, and countless countries. I have a 3rd great grandfather who was a body guard for Joseph Smith, a 2nd great grandfather who came across the plains with the Martin handcart company, a 3rd great grandmother that was said to have delivered a baby at each of the various church historical sites from New York to Utah. I find stories of courage, great trials, testimony, and above all, love of family.

I have been a stay at home mom for the most part. I did various things over the years to help make ends meet like selling things such as Avon(and anything else there is to sell from home), in home daycare, card merchandiser, mystery shopper, and Substitute teaching. In high school I did some basic data entry and accounting training. After my mother passed away in 2008 I went back to school to keep my mind off things and took 2 years of American Sign Language and basic Interpreting. I decided it wasn't a career I would excel in but I loved it. My newest thought is to take classes to become a genealogist and get paid to do what I love (but I would probably do it all for free anyway).

Oh, I was born in Ogden, Utah and spent most of my life there until my husband and I moved to West Point, Utah in 1991. I did have the opportunity to live in South Korea from age 11 to 13 when my dad worked there for the government as a civilian with the military. Another high light of life for me! My hobbies include genealogy, crafts of all kinds, sewing & quilting, music, camping, atv's, snowmobiling, motorcycles, gardening, and anything to do with nature. My favorite TV shows are "Who do you think you are?", "Long Lost Family", "Last Hope", and "Relative Race".

I tried to read through a few profiles on here to see what others have included and so I hope this will give a nice overview of who I am. In reading I already have one or two people that I think I might have a connection with back a few generations... Happy hunting!!!