Uruguay Genealogy
Guide to Uruguay ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, church records, parish registers, and civil registration.
| Uruguay Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Uruguay Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Uruguay is a country in South America bordered by Argentina and Brazil. It was formerly a colony of Spain. The official language is Spanish.[1]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Uruguay ResearchLinks to articles on getting started with Uruguay research. |
Uruguay Research ToolsLinks to articles and websites that assist in Uruguay research. |
Uruguay Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Departments[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the department level in Uruguay. Click on a department below to go to the department Wiki article listing more information.
Uruguay is divided into 19 departments (departamentos, singular - departamento):
- Artigas
- Canelones
- Cerro Largo
- Colonia
- Durazno
- Flores
- Florida
- Lavalleja
- Maldonado
- Montevideo
- Paysandú
- Río Negro
- Rivera
- Rocha
- Salto
- San José
- Soriano
- Tacuarembó
- Treinta y Tres
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Uruguay Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Research Tutorials[edit | edit source]
- U.S. Hispanic Immigration
- U.S. Hispanic Immigrants: Finding their Place of Origin
- Improve your Search Results in FamilySearch Hispanic Records
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1888-1980 - Uruguay, Passenger Lists, 1888-1980 at FamilySearch — index and images
Other Resources[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Uruguay," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uruguay, accessed 20 April 2016.
