United States Census 1930
Indexes and Images[edit | edit source]
Search the 1930 US Census for free here
Twelve southern states have a Soundex index to their census: Alabama (Jefferson, Mobile, and Montgomery counties separate), Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia.
For tips locating individuals in census records see U.S. Census Searching.
Content[edit | edit source]
The 1930 Census was taken beginning 1 April 1930, [time frame?] (except Alaska, 1 Oct 1929).
The following information was recorded by the census taker:
- Relationship to head of family
- Age of person
- Marital status
- Age at 1st marriage
- Birthplace of parents
- Head of household
- Home owned or rented
- Home value or monthly rental
- Live on a farm
- Live on a farm
- Occupation and Industry
- Persons in Household
- Race or color
- Radio set?
- Veteran, which war?
- Year of immigration
- Naturalized or alien
Value[edit | edit source]
- Identify military service - military records
- Identify date of immigration and naturalization dates
- If there were previous marriages / marriage dates
1850-1930 Search Tips: http://www.archives.gov/research/census/1850-1930.html
Unique Features and Problems[edit | edit source]
- The 1930 used a "Crews of Vessels" schedule also called "1930 Census of Merchant Seamen"
- Date at top of each page Response to questions as of 1 Apr 1930
- Omit—children born between 1 Apr and enumeration
- Include—alive on 1 Apr 1930 but dead at enumeration
- Lists age at first marriage
- Lists if individual attended college
- Lists if the household owned a radio set
- Lists whether the individual was at work the day before the census was taken
- Lists if a veteran and which war or expedition
- Only twelve Southern states have a Soundex index: Alabama (Jefferson, Mobile, and Montgomery counties are separate), Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky (only counties of Bell, Floyd, Harlan, Kenton, Muhlenberg, Perry and Pike), Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia (only counties of Fayette, Harrison, Kanawha, Logan, McDowell, Mercer, and Raleigh). See Finding a Person in the 1930 Census (Even Without An Index).
- Enumerators instructed to spell out birthplaces for Germany, Austria-Hungary, Bulgaria, Russia, Turkey.
- No Separate Indian schedules. Reservations enumerated in general population schedules. In place of country of birth for father, the degree of Indian blood was listed, and for country of birth of mother, the tribe was listed.
- Servicemen in duty posts.
- Enumerations District (ED) numbering altered for 52 of the 56 states/territories. County assigned number based on alpha order. ED followed the county number: i.e. 1-1, 1-23, 5-2, 1-73
- American Samoa, Guam, Panama Canal Zone, and the U.S. Virgin Islands did not use this system.
- First census to include seaman on U.S.-flag merchant vessels. 1930 Census of Merchant Seamen, NARA RG 029, M1932 (3 rolls); Alabama to Indiana FHL 2342410, Louisiana to New York (EDs 15-34 to 24-950) FHL 2342411, New York (EDs 24-972 to 52-55) to Wisconsin, Correspondence, reports and records FHL 2342412. Includes name of vessel, owner and address, what port, name of seaman, state or country of birth, occupation, whether a veteran and of what war, and address of next of kin.
States and Territories Covered[edit | edit source]
The census covered all states, District of Columbia, and the Territories listed:
Missing Records[edit | edit source]
- No States Missing
Where to Find the Records[edit | edit source]
The 1930 Federal Census is available online.
- 1930 United States Federal Census (Ancestry) ($)
- Census - US Federal 1930 (Fold3) ($)
- United States Census, 1930 at FamilySearch — index and images
- For the 1930 Merchant Seamen schedules see U.S. Census Merchant Seamen.
References[edit | edit source]
- U.S. Census Bureau, "Availability of Census Records About Individuals" in Fact Finder for the Nation at http://www.census.gov/prod/2000pubs/cff-2.pdf (accessed 24 April 2010).
- Loretto Dennis Szucs, and Sandra Hargreaves Luebking, The Source: A Guide book to American Genealogy, 3rd ed.' (Provo, UT: Ancestry, 2006) [FHL Book 973 D27ts 2006].
- National Archives, "Clues in Census Records, 1850-1930" in The National Archives: Genealogists/Family Historians at http://www.archives.gov/genealogy/census/1850-1930.html (accessed 24 April 2010).