Union County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Union County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Union County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||October 14, 1864|
|Address||Union County Courthouse|
1106 K Avenue
LaGrande, Or 97850
Union County Website
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the town of Union. The County is located in the northeast area of the state. 
Union County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1875,
and naturalization records 1900-1975.
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate and court records from 1854. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Union County Court House as of August 2018.
Union County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
Union was the former county seat until after 1 February 1901.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Named for the city of Union which is located within the boundaries, a county seat at the time of the creation of the county.
- Records Held at the Courthouse
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Union County Court House as of October 2005.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
11 February 1887: Wallowa County was set off.
1 February 1901: Southeast portion of Union known as the Panhandle was annexed to Baker County by the order of the State Legislature.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
Defunct Post Offices[edit | edit source]
- Alicel: Alicel is a station on the Joseph branch of the Union Pacific Railroad. It is reported when this branch line was built about 1890, Charles Ladd, a local resident, had the station named for his wife, Alcie Ladd. After the death of Mr. Ladd his widow married a Mr. Tucker and subsequently lived in Seattle. Alicel is located in the Grande Ronde Valley. Had a post office from 1890 until 1972. Alicel was platted in 1890.
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|ORGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
United States, Cemetery Abstracts, 1949-1969
Vol. 21 page 177 - Lower Cove Cemetery, Alical
Census[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Union County, Oregon Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
- 1833 – 1963 Oregon Wills and Probate Records 1833-1963 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 Oregon, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Union County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Union County GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
Union County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Union, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Oregon accessed 29 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Union County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Union County, Oregon" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Oregon, accessed 16 January 2019.
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at (accessed 18 July 2011).