Union County, Ohio Genealogy
Guide to Union County, Ohio ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named after its origins, it being the union of portions of Franklin, Delaware, Madison, and Logan counties. It is located in the West-central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Union County Courthouse
215 W 5th Street
Marysville, OH 43040
Phone: 937-645-3006
Union County Website
County recorder has land records from 1819;
Probate Court has birth, marriage, death and probate records[4]
Union County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1867 | 1820 | 1867 | 1820 | 1819 | 1820 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [7]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Occupations[edit | edit source]
- 1916-1956 Registered Nurse Record, Vol. 1 at Union County Record Service and Archives
- 1941-1976 Minister Licenses, Vol. D at Union County Record Service and Archives
- 1968-1996 Union County Medical Certificates, Vol. 2 at Union County Record Service and Archives
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 1,996 | — |
| 1830 | 3,192 | 59.9% |
| 1840 | 8,422 | 163.8% |
| 1850 | 12,204 | 44.9% |
| 1860 | 16,507 | 35.3% |
| 1870 | 18,730 | 13.5% |
| 1880 | 22,375 | 19.5% |
| 1890 | 22,860 | 2.2% |
| 1900 | 22,342 | −2.3% |
| 1910 | 21,871 | −2.1% |
| 1920 | 20,918 | −4.4% |
| 1930 | 19,192 | −8.3% |
| 1940 | 20,012 | 4.3% |
| 1950 | 20,687 | 3.4% |
| 1960 | 22,853 | 10.5% |
| 1970 | 23,786 | 4.1% |
| 1980 | 29,536 | 24.2% |
| 1990 | 31,969 | 8.2% |
| 2000 | 40,909 | 28.0% |
| 2010 | 52,300 | 27.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Online Land Indexes and Records
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for this county. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Ohio Local Histories.
- Curry, William Leontes, History of Union County, Ohio: Its People, Industries and Institutions, with Biographical Sketches of Representative Citizens and Genealogical Records of Many of the Old Families, (Indianapolis, Ind.: B. F. Bowen and Co., 1915). Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library; Internet Archive.
- Durant, P.A., The History of Union County, Ohio: Containing a History of the County, its Townships, Towns, Military Records, Portraits of Early Settlers and Prominent Men, (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1971). Online at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Ohio Indexes at EveryNameIndex.com — Select the county.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Ohio (1788-1940) at MapofUS
- Kunkel, Joan, Union County, Ohio, Atlas, (Philadelphia: Harrison, Sutton & Hare, 1877); Online at FamilySearch Digital Library
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1820-2009 Record of War Veterans' Graves at Union County Record Center and Archives
- 1820-2011 Union County, Ohio, Veterans' Burial Registration Cards (1820-2011) at Union County Record Center and Archives
- 1888-1919 Ohio Soldier Home Records, 1888-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
Civil War
Civil War service men from Union County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Union County.
- -1st Regiment, Ohio Cavalry, Companies D and K
- -96th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company K, roster
World War I
- 1914-1918 Ohio, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1914-1919 Ohio, World War I Statement of Service Cards, 1914-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1916-1920 Ohio, WWI Index and Return Cards, 1916-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1800-1977 Ohio, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1977 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Union County newspapers often contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
- For more online Ohio newspapers index and images, see Ohio Newspapers.
- 1793-late 1900s Newspapers at Ohio History Connection — Select county.
- 1793-2009 Ohio Newspapers, 1793-2009 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
- Early-late 1900s Newspapers at Ohio Memory — sort by County, City, Time Period, and more.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Union County Obituary Index at Union County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society - index of the obituaries available in the genealogy section of the Marysville Public Library.
- Bouic Index at Mid-Ohio Genealogy Database ($) Video about how to use this collection created by the Marysville Public Library
- Obituaries at USGenWeb Archives
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the Union County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1786-1998 Ohio, Wills and Probate Records 1786-1998 at Ancestry ($) — index and images.
- 1789-1996 Ohio Probate Records 1789-1996 at FamilySearch.org — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1941-1960 Record of Wills, Vols. Y-Z at Union County Record Service and Archives
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1800-1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1800-1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- Union County Tax Records at Union County Record Center.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.
Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1841-2003 Ohio, County Births, 1841-2003 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1867-1908 Birth Records, Vol. 1-4 at Union County Record Service and Archives
- 1940-1958 Delayed Birth Registrations and Corrections, Vol. 0-3 at Union County Record Service and Archives
- 1959-1998 Ohio, Birth Index, 1959-1998 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1789-2013 Ohio, County Marriages, 1789-2013 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1800-1942 Ohio Marriages, 1800-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index.
- 1800-1958 Ohio Marriages, 1800-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index.
- 1820-1904; 1951-1967 Marriages, 1820-1904, 1951-1967 at Union County Records Center and Archives - images
- 1970-2003 Ohio, Marriages, 1970 - 2003 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1833-1967 Ohio, Church and Civil Deaths, 1833-1967 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1840-2001 Ohio, County Death Records, 1840-2001 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1908-1932, 1938–1944, and 1958–2007 Ohio Death Index, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2007 at FamilySearch – How to Use this Collection; Index.
- 1867-1908 Deaths Records, Vol. 1-3, 1867-1908 at Union County Records Center and Archives - images
- 1908-1932, 1938-2018 Ohio, Death Records, 1908-1932, 1938-2018 at Ancestry ($) — index and images
- 1913-1944, 1954-1963 Ohio Death Index, 1913-1944, 1954-1963 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1962-1990 Divorce Appearance Dockets 1962-1990 at Union County Records Center and Archives
- 1962-2007 Ohio, Divorce Abstracts, 1962-1963, 1967-1971, 1973-2007 at Ancestry ($)
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Union County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.
Union County Records Center & Archives
128 S Main St
Suite 114
Marysville, OH 43040
937-645-4177
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Columbus Ohio North Family History Center (Dublin)
- Marysville Public Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Union County. For state-wide library facilities, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.
Marysville Public Library
231 S Plum St
Marysville, OH 43040
937-642-1876
Website
Richwood-North Union Public Library
4 E Ottawa St
Richwood, OH 43344-1296
740-943-3054
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Union County Historical Society Museum
PO Box 303
Marysville, OH 43040
937-644-0568
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Union County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Ohio Societies.
Union County Historical Society
246 W 6th St
PO Box 303
Marysville, OH 43040
937-644-0568
Website
Union County Genealogical Society
PO Box 438
Marysville, OH 43040-0438
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Local Gov't Records by County at Ohio History Connection — Browse their list; records are not online.
- Custom Browse of Historical Collections at Ohio Memory — Use map or alpha bar to select county or place, then browse search options in left sidebar.
- Ohio Genealogical Society ($) — online databases
- Union County OH Genealogy at LDS Genealogy
- USGenWeb project at OHGenWeb. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives, Union County
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
- ↑ Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Union County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/union/ accessed 2/27/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Ohio, accessed 17 January 2019.
