Union County, Iowa Genealogy
Guide to Union County, Iowa ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Union County was named for the "Union" of states that the people wanted to preserve and is located in southwestern Iowa.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Union County Courthouse
300 North Pine, Suite 6
Creston, IA 50801
Phone: 641-782-7315
Union County Website
Union County, Iowa Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1880 | 1856 | 1880 | 1880 | 1854 | 1880 | 1847 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1893 Fire destroyed the courthouse. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Union County. To find more resources, go to the Iowa Bible Records page.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Union County, Iowa Biographies Project at RootsWeb — links to biographies and local histories
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| |
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa recorded not only federal, but state censuses for several in-between years as well. For more information, see the very informative Iowa Census article.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 2,012 | — |
| 1870 | 5,986 | 197.5% |
| 1880 | 14,980 | 150.3% |
| 1890 | 16,900 | 12.8% |
| 1900 | 19,928 | 17.9% |
| 1910 | 16,616 | −16.6% |
| 1920 | 17,268 | 3.9% |
| 1930 | 17,435 | 1.0% |
| 1940 | 16,280 | −6.6% |
| 1950 | 15,651 | −3.9% |
| 1960 | 13,712 | −12.4% |
| 1970 | 13,557 | −1.1% |
| 1980 | 13,858 | 2.2% |
| 1990 | 12,750 | −8.0% |
| 2000 | 12,309 | −3.5% |
| 2010 | 12,534 | 1.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1885 Iowa State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1895 Iowa State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1905 Iowa State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images (individual cards, not family context)
- 1915 Iowa State Census, 1915 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1925 Iowa State Census, 1925 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1907-1932 General Index to Affidavits, 1907-1932(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — indexes & images
- 1909-1990 {{FHL|489037|item|disp=Change of Name Records, 1909-1990}(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Creston, Iowa Directory, 1889 at Ancestry ($)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Coen-Beaty-Pearson Funeral Home in Creston
- Pearson Family Funeral Service and Cremation Center in Creston
- Powers Funeral Home in Afton and Creston
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. They include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Iowa Land and Property for information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, transactions were usually recorded and housed at the county courthouse.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Union County, which may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Iowa Local Histories.
|
- History of Union County, Iowa From the Earliest Historic Times to 1908. 1908. by George A. Ide. Chicago, IL: S.J. Clarke Publishing Company. Online at: Google Books,
- Illustrated Centennial Sketches, Map and Directory of Union County, Iowa. 1876. Creston, IA: C.J. Colby. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, HathiTrust
- Mount Pisgah: History of a Temporary Settlement of the "Mormons" While on Their Westward Journey. 1916. By Andrew Jenson. Salt Lake City, UT: The Deseret News Press. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For online maps and collections in libraries and societies, see Iowa Maps. Historical maps may be especially useful.
for more resources
- 1860-1918 U.S., Indexed County Land Ownership Maps, 1860-1918, Union County at Ancestry ($) - index.
- 1875-2007 Union County 1875-2007 at Historic Map Works - may include names of land-owners.
- 1885-1932 Fire Insurance Maps for Union County, Iowa at Library of Congress - various years between 1885 and 1932.
- IAGenWeb - Union County.
- Iowa Digital Library, Union County at Iowa University Libraries.
- Plat Book of Union County, Iowa(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images.
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collections, Union County at State Library of Iowa.
- Union County Maps at FamilySearch Catalog.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places.
Migration[edit | edit source]
|
Early migration routes to and from Union County for European settlers included:
- Mormon Trail 1846 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[8]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- 1835-1998 Iowa, Armed Forces Grave Registrations, ca. 1835-1998 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index only
- 1862-1910 Iowa, Records of Persons Subject to Military Duty, 1862-1910 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1949 Iowa, Grand Army of the Republic Membership Records, 1861-1949 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War service men in Union County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
- - 29th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Please see the Iowa Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1859-1990 United States, Iowa Naturalization Records, 1859-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1870-1929 Naturalization Records, 1870-1929; Index, 1873-1935(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — Part index, images
- 1930-1936 Naturalization Related Records, 1930-1936(*); District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1758-1997 Iowa, U.S., Wills and Probate Records, 1758-1997 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
- 1854-1935 Probate Records, 1854-1935(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1854-1969 Probate Case Files, 1854-1929; Indexes, 1882-1969(*); Clerk of the District Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1875-1935 Wills, 1877-1926; Will Record Index, 1875-1935(*); Clerk of the Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Iowa tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. Iowa's unique Old Age Assistance tax gives names, addresses and birth years. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1934-1958 Iowa, Old Age Tax Assistance Records, 1934-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded by civil officials on registers, certificates, and other documents. Copies or extracts may be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office. See also Iowa Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1939 Iowa, Delayed Birth Records, 1850-1939 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1935 Iowa, County Births, 1880-1935 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1921-1942 Iowa, Birth Records, 1921-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1518-1996 Iowa, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1809-1992 Iowa, Marriages, 1809-1992 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1836-1926 Iowa, Marriages, 1836 - 1926 at MyHeritage — index ($)
- 1838-1934 Iowa, County Marriages, 1838-1934 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1951 Iowa, U.S., Marriage Records, 1880-1951 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1990 Iowa Deaths and Burials, 1850-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and some images; Also at: MyHeritage($)
- 1880-1992 Iowa, County Death Records, 1880-1992 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1900-1939 Iowa Death Index, 1900-1939 at MyHeritage — index, ($)
- 1904-1951 Iowa, Death Records, 1904-1951 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1920-1967 Iowa, U.S., Death Records, 1920-1967 at Ancestry — index and images, ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1906-1973 Divorce Records, 1906-1973(*) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Union County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Iowa Genealogical Society Library - an affiliate library
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Union County. For state-wide library facilities, see Iowa Archives and Libraries.
Gibson Memorial Library
200 West Howard Street
Creston, Iowa 50801
641-782-2277
E-mail:crestonlibrary310@gmail.com
Website
Union Public Library
406 Commercial Street
P.O. Box 146
Union, IA 50258
641-486-5561
E-mail:director@union.lib.ia.us
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Union County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Iowa Societies.
Union County Genealogical Society
Matilda Gibson Memorial Library
200 W. Howard Street
Creston, IA 50801
E-mail:webmaster@unioncgs.org
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- State Historical Society of Iowa — select from research collection topics
- State Library of Iowa — electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies
- The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection — digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions
- Union County at Cyndi's List - a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
- Union County at Genealogy Trails - volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
- Union County at Iowa USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
- Union County at Iowa USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
- Union County at Linkpendium - genealogy and family history
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed July 29, 2021.
- ↑ Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed July 29, 2021.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Iowa."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union County, Iowa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Iowa, accessed 31 October 2019.
- ↑ National Park Service, "Auto Tour Route Maps" in Mormon Pioneer National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/mopi/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).