Union County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Union County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Union County is located in the east-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Union County Courthouse
26 W Union Street
Liberty, IN 47353
Phone: 765-458-6121
County Website
Union County Health Department
6 West South Street
Liberty, IN 47353
Health Officer: Susan Bantz, MD
Phone: 765-458-5393
Fax: 765-458-5582
Email: kklein@localhealth.in.gov
Health Department
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1821.
County Health Department has birth records from 1882 and death records from 1907.[3]
Health Department has birth records and death records. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Union County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1821 | 1907 | 1821 | 1821 | 1821 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
February 1903 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Biography Index at Indiana State Library
- Biographical and Genealogical History of Wayne, Fayette, Union and Franklin Counties, Indiana. (Indianapolis, Ind: Frederic Luther Co, 1980). Available at: Vol. 1 FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive; Vol. 2 FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Union County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 7,944 | — |
| 1840 | 8,017 | 0.9% |
| 1850 | 6,944 | −13.4% |
| 1860 | 7,109 | 2.4% |
| 1870 | 6,341 | −10.8% |
| 1880 | 7,673 | 21.0% |
| 1890 | 7,006 | −8.7% |
| 1900 | 6,748 | −3.7% |
| 1910 | 6,260 | −7.2% |
| 1920 | 6,021 | −3.8% |
| 1930 | 5,880 | −2.3% |
| 1940 | 6,017 | 2.3% |
| 1950 | 6,412 | 6.6% |
| 1960 | 6,457 | 0.7% |
| 1970 | 6,582 | 1.9% |
| 1980 | 6,860 | 4.2% |
| 1990 | 6,976 | 1.7% |
| 2000 | 7,349 | 5.3% |
| 2010 | 7,516 | 2.3% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org" | ||
- Index to Mortality Schedule (1860) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Defective, Dependent Delinquent Census at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Presbyterian
Dunlapsville Presbyterian Church
- Members of Dunlapsville Presbyterian Church, Liberty Township (1829-1912) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Presbyterian Church, Brownsville
- 1830-1851 - Presbyterian Church, Brownsville, Baptism Index 1830-1851 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C524131 .[8]
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Directory of Businesses in Union County (1858, 1868) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Directory of Selected Residents of Union County (1876) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Union County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Union County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- Union County Sesquicentennial, 1821-1971. 1971. By Union County Sesquicentennial Committee. N.p: n.p. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana at Map of US.com
- Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Union County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Union County.
- 3rd Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company F
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Company D
- 15th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 36th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 84th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 105th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B and D
- 147th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 148th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies F and F
- 152nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- 1804-2010 Hoosier State Chronicles 1804-2011
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Union County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry $
School Records[edit | edit source]
School Records[edit | edit source]
+
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1802-1892 Indiana, Compiled Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry ($)
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry $
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Union County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Richmond Indiana Family History Center
- Oxford Ohio Family History Center
- Franklin County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Union County Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Union County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Union County Public Library
2 East Seminary Street
Liberty, IN 47353
Phone: 765-458-5355
Email: ucplibrary@gmail.com
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Union County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Union County Historical Society
P.O. Box 143
156 E. County Road 300 South
Liberty, IN 47353-0143
Whitewater Valley Genealogical Association
P.O. Box 941
Connersville, IN 47331
Email: wvgenealogy@gmail.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Union County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Extensive - keyword searches suggested
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Select a county
- Every Name Index.com Online indexes for county histories. Select a county
- Union County Resources on IndianasGore
- USGenWeb, Union County
- INGenWeb, Union County
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Indiana
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Indiana accessed 04/04/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Indiana
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Union County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Union_County,_Indiana, accessed 11 January 2020.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.
