Unicoi County, Tennessee Genealogy
Guide to Unicoi County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Unicoi County was named for Cherokee word for "fog-draped" or "hazy". The county is located in the northeastern area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Unicoi County Courthouse
100 Main St.
Erwin, TN 37650
County Website Phone: 423-743-9541
County Clerk Phone: 423-743-3381
County Register of Deeds Phone: 423-743-6104
Circuit Court Clerk Phone: 423-743-3541
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1875.
Clerk Circuit Court and Chancery Court has divorce and court records.
Register of Deeds has land records from 1875.[3]
Unicoi County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1908 | 1875 | 1908 | 1875 | 1875 | 1875 | 1810 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
| Banner Hill | Earnestville | Lillydale | Riverview |
| Briggs (hist.) | Erwin | Limestone Cove | Rock Creek |
| Brownlow (hist.) | Fordville (hist.) | Loganton (hist.) | Rocky Fork |
| Bumpus Cove | Flag Pond | Love Station | Shallowford |
| Chestoa | Harris Mill | Marbleton | Unaka Springs |
| Clearbranch | Hulan Hollow | Pleasant Garden | Unicoi |
| Coffee Ridge | Indian Creek (hist.) | Rice Bend | Woodby Hill |
| Davis Springs | Kittyton (hist.) | River Hill |
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
- 1784 - In August 1784 delegates from Washington County (including land that eventually became Unicoi County) and other western North Carolina counties which had split off from Washington County (all now in Tennessee), declared their Independence from North Carolina because of perceived neglect, and misuse by North Carolina’s legislature.
- 1784-1788 - Originally part of the pioneer Watauga Settlements.
- 1785 - By May 1785 they petitioned to be admitted to the United States as the new State of Franklin Genealogy.[6] The Franklin statehood request was denied.
- 1789 - The hopes for a State of Franklin faded. North Carolina became a state and ceded her westernmost counties to the United States. The ceded counties, including most of Washington County (and eventually Unicoi), became the Southwest Territory.
- 1796 - The Southwest Territory was admitted to the United States as the new State of Tennessee.
- 1875 - Unicoi County was established 23 March 1875 from Washington and Carter Counties.
Additional Information
Unicoi is a Native American Cherokee term for the Appalachian Mountains. It is believed to mean "white or fog-draped."[7]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information. | |
Additional Cemetery Resources
- Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1880 | 3,645 | — |
| 1890 | 4,619 | 26.7% |
| 1900 | 5,851 | 26.7% |
| 1910 | 7,201 | 23.1% |
| 1920 | 10,120 | 40.5% |
| 1930 | 12,678 | 25.3% |
| 1940 | 14,128 | 11.4% |
| 1950 | 15,886 | 12.4% |
| 1960 | 15,082 | −5.1% |
| 1970 | 15,254 | 1.1% |
| 1980 | 16,362 | 7.3% |
| 1990 | 16,549 | 1.1% |
| 2000 | 17,667 | 6.8% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Unicoi County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1810-1891
1880
- Padgett, Hilda Britt. Unicoi County, Tennessee 1880 Census. Erwin, Tenn.: H.B. Padgett, 1995. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8982 X2p 1880.
- Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census, Unicoi County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: Byron Sistler & Associates, 1996. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8982 X2s 1880.
1890
- Veterans Census. Southeastern Genealogy ($)
1890 Lost Substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 7 1891. Unicoi County is included in Vol. 7.
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
1891 Male Voters
1900
- Padgett, Hilda Britt. Unicoi County, Tennessee 1900 Census. Erwin, Tenn.: H.B. Padgett, 1995. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8982 X2p 1900.
1910
- Padgett, Hilda Britt. Unicoi County, Tennessee 1910 Census. Erwin, Tenn.: H.B. Padgett, 1995. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8982 X2p 1910.
1920
- Padgett, Hilda Britt. Unicoi County, Tennessee 1920 Census. Erwin, Tenn.: H. Padgett, 1996. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8982 X2p 1920.
1930
- Padgett, Hilda Britt. Unicoi County, Tennessee 1930 Census. (n.p.: n.p.), 2002. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8982 X2p 1930.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Many of your ancestors may be found in court records as defendants, plaintiffs, witnesses, or jurors. Court records can establish family relationships and places of residence, occupations, and other family history information.
- Circuit Court: Court minutes of Unicoi County, 1876-1890, FHL film 972733.
- County Court: Court minutes, 1875-1905, FHL films 972736 and 972737.
- Chancery Court: Court minutes, v. 1-2, 1876-1908, FHL film 972732.
- Tennessee Supreme Court Cases at TSLA
Law and Legislation
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. [8] January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. Online searchable index at TSLA.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
General
- Hensley, Benny E. Beneath the Oaks at the Foot of Meadow Creek Mountain, Oak Hill, Parrottsville, TN. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8895 D2h.
Bibliography
- Beckelhimer - Kerns, Gloria Lambert and Diane Sims. Beckelhimer: Family Records. FHL US/CAN Access Services Window 2243264 Item 1.
- Moore - Fobes, Lawrence G. Moore. 1976?. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M781f.
- Tilson - Bicentennial Register of The Society of Mayflower Descendants in the District of Columbia, 1978. Washington, D.C., 1976.
- Tilson - Alderman, Pat. Tilson Grist Mill, Mountain Folklore Genealogy. Johnson City, Tenn.: The Overmountain Press, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 T469a.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
The original Unicoi County Deed Books are held at the County Courthouse. In the 1970s, TSLA microfilmed Deed Books 1-7 (1876-1903), Trust Deed Book 1 (1876-1899), and Index to Deeds and Mortgages (1876-1920). FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Films 972739-972744.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
- TSLA Historical Map Collection
- FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes Unicoi County pensioners (p. 97.)
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Civil War Soldier Records and Profiles, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1891-1965 Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Unicoi County:
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Unicoi County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Unicoi County, page 379-380.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at the TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Unicoi County click on the following town:
- 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Obituaries may mention birth, marriage, spouse, parents, and living family members.Obituaries for residents may be found in:
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Prisons[edit | edit source]
- 1831-1850 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
- 1851-1870 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News: Quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. For a keyword search, go to the county index. Read previous issues on their website; FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
- East Tennessee Roots: Published by East Tennessee Roots The table of contents for some issues are available on their website; FHL Book 976.8 D25e.
- Watauga Association of Genealogists Bulletin: Published by Watauga Association of Genealogists. The table of contents for some issues are found on their website; FHL US/CAN Books 976.897 B2w; Bulletin Subject Index: The First Thirty Years, 1972-2001 (Johnson City, Tenn.: Watauga Association of Genealogists, 2002) FHL Book 976.897 B2w index 1972-2001.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The original Unicoi County wills are held at the County Courthouse. In the 1970s, TSLA microfilmed wills covering the date range 1876-1947. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Film 972738.
Online Records and Indexes
- 1779-2008 Tennessee Wills and Probate Records 1779-2008 at Ancestry $
- Images of Wills 1878-1887; Minutes of the Court 1875-1886; 1886-1892; 1892-1898; 1898-1905. Southeastern Genealogy ($)
- 1837-1963 Unicoi County portion of Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
The original Unicoi County Tax Books 1876-1899 are kept at the County Courthouse. In the 1970s, TSLA microfilmed these records. FHL copies: FHL US/CAN Film 972745.
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- 1798-1798 - Tax List, Carter County, East Tennessee Roots, Vol. 9, No. 4. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals. Includes digital images of the original source; covers area that later became Unicoi County.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1828-1939 Tennessee Births and Christenings 1828-1939 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1869-1909 Tennessee Delayed Birth Records 1869-1909 at Ancestry $
- 1908-1912 Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Delayed Births
When the Social Security Administration was created in 1935, the agency asked for birth certificates as proof the applicant qualified for entry into the program. Most Tennesseans who wished to apply were born prior to the 1908 state law that first required the issuing of birth certificates. Beginning in 1935, Tennessee began to issue Delayed Birth Certificates thru an application process that required supporting documents.[9]
Ancestry.com, in partnership with the Tennessee State Library and Archives, has added an index to and scanned images of the 1869-1909 delayed birth records of Tennessee. The indexes to these records at Ancestry.com's Tennessee State Library and Archives web page are free to search at TSLA on Ancestry - indexes are free, images require subscription.($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online indexes and Records
- 1625-1966 Tennessee, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriages 1780-2002 at Ancestry $
- 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriage Index 1780-2002 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1790-1962 Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection. Covers all counties in Tennessee.
- 1796-1950 Tennessee Marriages 1796-1950 (Indexes only) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1838-1888 Tennessee Civil Marriages, 1838-1888 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1851-1900 Tennessee Marriages 1851-1900 at Ancestry $
- 1876-1895 - Unicoi County Marriage Index 1876-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch.
- 1884-1892; 1892 - 1898; 1898 - 1904 at Southeastern Genealogy ($)
- 1980-2014 Marriage Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- 1876-1904 - Unicoi County, Tennessee Marriages, 1876-1904 FHL US/CAN Book 976.8982 V2p.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1874-1955 Tennessee Deaths and Burials 1874-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1908-1933 Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1908-1958 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1958 at Ancestry $
- 1908-1936 - Nikazy, Eddie M. Unicoi County, Tennessee Death Record Abstracts 1908-1936. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1997. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8982 V28n.
- 1908-1912 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1912 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1914-1933 Tennessee Death Records 1914-1933 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1914-1966 Tennessee Deaths, 1914-1966 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1949-2014 Death Records Index 1949-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1796-1850 Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1980-2014 Divorce Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Online Titles
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Unicoi County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Boone North Carolina Family History Center
- Johnson City/Watauga/Gray Tennessee Family History Center
- Kingsport Tennessee Family History Center
- Ashe County Public Library - North Carolina - an affiliate library.
- Buncombe County Public Library - North Carolina - an affiliate library.
- Johnson City Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Watauga County Library - North Carolina - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Unicoi County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Unicoi County Public Library
201 Nolichucky Avenue
Erwin, TN 37650-1239
Phone: 423-743-6533
Fax: 423-743-0275
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Unicoi County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.
Unicoi County Historical Society
Erwin, TN 37650
Facebook
Watauga Association of Genealogists Northeast Tennessee
100 Millard St.
Johnson City, TN 37604
Email: wagsnetn40@gmail.com
Website Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Unicoi County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Unicoi County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Unicoi County TN Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Unicoi County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Unicoi, Tennessee" in Wikipedia accessed 09 Jan 2019
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ J Mark Lowe, "The Land Grant Processes of North Carolina and Tennessee," Lecture, Federation of Genealogical Societies Conference, Knoxville, Tenn., August 21, 2010.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ website