Umatilla County, Oregon Genealogy
Guide to Umatilla County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Umatilla County, Oregon|
Location in the state of Oregon, United States Genealogy
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
|Founded||September 27, 1862|
|Address||Umatilla County Courthouse|
216 SE 4th Street
Pendleton, Or 97801-2590
Umatilla County Website
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the Umatilla River. The County is located in the northeast area of the state. 
Umatilla County, Oregon Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1862. 
County Records Inventory listing the records held at the Umatilla County Court House as of August 2010.
Umatilla County Court is structured differently. Check the County Records Inventory link for addresses for location of records (left column).
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Named after the Umatilla River. The name Umatilla is derived from the Native American name for the river, which was first recorded as Youmalolam in the journals of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
14 October 1864: Grant
16 February 1885: Morrow County set off.
For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator.
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
Defunct Post Offices[edit | edit source]
- Adams: The town is about 13 miles northeast of Pendleton on Wildhorse Creek. Named for John F. Adams, part of whose homestead is now included in the town. Post Office established 9 July 1883 with William H. McCoy, postmaster. FamilySearch Catalog
- Albee: A post office with the name Snipe was established at this locality on June 17, 1881, undoubtedly taking its name from nearby Snipe Creek. John H. Clifford was postmaster. On Apr. 17, 1882, the name was changed to Alba and in 1887 a plat for the community was filed using the same form. Alba is the Latin word for white. Sometime near the turn of the century the place became known as Albee for the Albee brothers, well-known locak stockmen, and on July 30, 1907 the name of the post office was changed to conform. Like many other small communities in eastern Oregon, has suffered the ravages of time begining with the depression of the 1930s and accelerating during World War II. The post office was closed on Oct. 31, 1943. All that remains are a few weatherbeaten buildings on private property. FamilySearch Catalog
Indian Reservation[edit | edit source]
Umatilla (Confederated Tribes of Umatilla - specifically Sahaptin-speaking Cayuse, Umatilla and Walla Walla tribes)
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits[edit | edit source]
Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. Trivia Tidbits
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|ORGenWeb Archives||FamilySearch Places|
|See Oregon Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
Church History and Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
- Historic sketches of Walla Walla, Whitman, Columbia and Garfield Counties, Washington Territory, and Umatilla County, Oregon (If the link does not work, go to ancestry.com ($), click Search, select Card Catalog, paste Title into search box, click Search)
Maps[edit | edit source]
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Umatilla County, Oregon Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 - Oregon, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1919-1920 - Oregon, World War I, County Military Service Records, 1919-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1921-1938 - Oregon, World War I, Veteran State Aid Applications, 1921-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Rivers and Waterways[edit | edit source]
Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. Rivers and Waterways
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has copies of some records such as:
Umatilla County record of deaths 1907-1929, certificates of death 1913-1944
See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- 1842-1917 Oregon, Oregon State Archives, Births, 1842-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images (*); Also at: Ancestry
- 1860 - 1952 Oregon Births, 1860-1952 at FamilySearch — index
Delayed Birth Certificates
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
- 1826-1975 - Oregon, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1842-1917 Oregon, U.S., State Births, 1842-1917 at Ancestry - index and images ($); Also at: FamilySearch
- 1849-1884; 1991-2006 - Oregon Marriage Index, 1849-1884; 1991-2006 at FamilySearch — index and images; collection is incomplete.
- 1906-1968 Oregon, U.S., State Marriages, 1906-1968 at Ancestry - index and images ($)
- Extractions of early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index
- Marriage Index 1885-1896 Actually is a book of affiants reporting the marriages. Historical Records Collection
Death Records[edit | edit source]
Societies, Libraries and Museums[edit | edit source]
Umatilla County Library District
425 S Main St
Pendleton OR 97801
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Umatilla County, OR History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Oregon Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- The Umatilla County GenWeb Project, part of The ORGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Project
- USGenWeb Project backup site
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
Umatilla County Oregon Genealogy References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Umatilla, Oregon" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Umatilla_County,_Oregon accessed 29 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Umatilla County, Oregon . Page 572-574 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 563-564.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Umatilla County, Oregon page 574, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- WorldCat 50140092; FHL Collection Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002)
- Wikipedia contributors, "Umatilla County, Oregon" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Umatilla_County,_Oregon, accessed 2 January 2019.
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map VI" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at (accessed 18 July 2011).