Twin Falls County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Twin Falls County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Twin Falls County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho, United States Genealogy
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||February 21, 1907|
|County Seat||Twin Falls|
|Address||Twin Falls County Courthouse|
425 Shoshone Street North
Twin Falls, ID 83303-0126
Phone: (208) 736-4004
Fax: (208) 736-4182
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the nearby waterfalls on the Snake River. The County has Twin Falls as its seat and the County was created February 21, 1907. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.
Twin Falls County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Twin Falls County Courthouse
425 Shoshone Street North
Twin Falls, ID 83303-0126
Phone: (208) 736-4004
Fax: (208) 736-4182
County Clerk Recorder has birth and land records from 1907 and military records from 1919.
Court Services has divorce, probate and court records from 1907. 
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Home Town Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have websites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
This list of places in Twin Falls County, Idaho was compiled from the Lists of Places in Idaho in Wikipedia and from the map of Twin Falls County in Virtual Earth.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Twin Falls County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Twin Falls County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Twin Falls County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Twin Falls.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
There are many cemeteries in Twin Falls County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Twin Falls County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
- 1937-1993 Idaho, Twin Falls County, Sunset Memorial Park Cemetery, Cemetery Records, 1937-1993 at FamilySearch — index
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
- List of Stakes and Wards of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints in Twin Falls County, Idaho to about 1948.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the Twin Falls county clerk for information about years covered and availability of such records in Twin Falls County.
Online County Records
- 1906-1988 Idaho, Twin Falls County Records, 1906-1988 at FamilySearch — index and images
Court[edit | edit source]
It appears that none of the earlier Twin Falls County court records have been microfilmed. We suggest you check Cassia County. For more recent records and the records they do have can be viewed at the Twin Falls County courthouse in Twin Falls.
Directories[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has in its collections city, county, state and regional directories.
City Directories[edit | edit source]
Farm Directories[edit | edit source]
The Gem State Rural's 1916-17 Farm Directory of Twin Falls County, Idaho is available at the College of Southern Idaho and the Twin Falls Public Library. It lists landowners by town, including those owning land in these two counties, but residing elsewhere. The size of the family, amount of acreage owned, the location of the land, and a list of crops and livestock raised on each farm is also included.
History[edit | edit source]
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Twin Falls County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Twin Falls, Idaho.
The Idaho Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Twin Falls County which was formed on 21 Feb 1907 from Cassia County, and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed some of the Twin Falls County land and property records, and the following can be viewed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:
- Register of estates, 1907-1928
- Twin Falls county index to deeds, Twin Falls county, Idaho, 1880-1914
Maps[edit | edit source]
- A digital Twin Falls County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Twin Falls County, Idaho is available online.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Early migration routes to and from Twin Falls County, Idaho Genealogy for European and African American settlers included:
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Twin Falls County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm numbers 1452222 and 1452224) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
- G. Duncan McLeod. Twin Falls County in the World War Ogden, Utah : A. L. Scoville Press, c1920 FHL Digital Images
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
The original naturalization records of Twin Falls County that have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise have been indexed in their Index to Naturalization.
- 1892-1990 Idaho Naturalization Records, 1892-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
Copies of issues of many Idaho newspapers are in the collections of the Idaho State Archives.
'Twin Falls Public Library Newspaper Archive
The Twin Falls Public Library Newspaper Archive includes issues from
- Twin Falls Weekly News (1904-1927)
- The Twin Falls Times (1908-1916)
- Twin Falls Times News (1910)
- Twin Falls Weekly Times (1915-1916)
- Twin Falls Daily News (1918-1936)
- Twin Falls Daily Times (1918-1936)
- Twin Falls Chronicle (1919-1920)
- The Idaho Citizen (1927-1930)
- Idaho Evening Twin Falls Times (1929-1930)
- Twin Falls Times (1931-1940)
- Idaho Evening Times (1936-1942)
- Twin Falls News (1941)
- Times News (1942-October 2013)
The Home page contains a link with an Index of missing issues.
The search engine isn't as robust as some. After using the search option, it would be a good idea to browse specific issues for information such as an obituary if not found in the search results list.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1943-2013 Idaho, Southern Counties Obituaries, 1943-2013 at FamilySearch — index and images
Pension Records[edit | edit source]
Mothers' Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho for widows and/or orphans, under certain conditions. Petitions for those pensions were filed with the probate court in each county. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise and have been indexed. Twin Falls County Mothers' Pensions are included in that index.
Old Age Pensions were also provided by the State of Idaho from 1931 to 1936. The original records for these pensions in the Idaho State Archives and have also been indexed. Twin Falls County Old Age Pensions are included in that index.
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1857 – 1989 Idaho Wills and Probate Records 1857-1989 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed some of the earlier probate records of Twin Falls County (it was Cassia County before 1907), and these films can be viewed at their facility in Boise.
For more recent probate records which may exist, it is recommended that you contact the Twin Falls County courthouse in Twin Falls.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Twin Falls County should be in the courthouse in Twin Falls and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Births[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
The Birth Registers for Twin Falls County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Twin Falls County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
There are 214 Twin Falls County births and christenings in the online Idaho Births and Christenings.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 Idaho, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1864-1976 Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Nearly 6400 marriages, 1907-1942, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
There are 5139 Twin Falls County marriages in the online Idaho Marriages.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1947-1963 Idaho Divorce Index, 1947-1963 at FamilySearch — index
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 Idaho, County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1938-1961 Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
There are 969 Twin Falls County deaths and burials in the online Idaho Deaths and Burials.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Buhl Public Library
215 Broadway N
Buhl, ID 83316
Phone: (208) 543-6500
- Filer Public Library
219 Main St
Filer, ID 83328
Phone: (208) 326-4143
- Hansen District Library
120 W Maple Ave
Hansen, ID 83334
Phone: (208) 423-4122
- Kimberly Public Library
120 Madison St W
Kimberly, ID 83341
Phone: (208) 423-4556
- Twin Falls Public Library
201 Fourth Ave E
Twin Falls, ID 83301
Phone: (208) 733-2964
- Twin Falls County Historical Museum Filer, Idaho
- Twin Falls County Museum
21337-A U.S. 30, Filer, ID 83328
- State Historical Society
2205 Old Penitentiary Rd
- Idaho Historical Society Facebook Page
- Idaho State Archives Digital Collections - Enter County in Search Bar
- The Idaho Welsh Society -- excellent cultural and historical site
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Twin Falls County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Twin Falls County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Twin Falls, Idaho Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/ida/twinfalls/."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Twin Falls County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Twin Falls, Idaho page 180, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Twin Falls County,Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Twin_Falls_County,_Idaho#Communities, accessed 15 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
- Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at (accessed 18 July 2011).