Turkey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Turkey ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Turkey Wiki Topics
Flag of Turkey.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Turkey Background
Local Research Resources

Country Information[edit | edit source]

Turkey is a country in Eurasia bordered by Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, and Syria. [1]

Turkey became a country after the fall of the Ottoman Empire in 1923. Constantinople (modern-day Istanbul) was the capitol of the Ottoman Empire prior to 1923.

The Turkish government provides a free genealogical service called "Lineal Kinship Inquiry". This service is available for all Turkish citizens, and is accessible through a website: https://fcsa.gov.ae/en-us/Pages/Statistics/Statistics.aspx

For information on genealogical records prior to 1923, see Ottoman Empire Genealogy.

Getting Started[edit | edit source]

Getting Started with Turkey Research

Links to articles on getting started with Turkey research.

Turkey Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Turkey research.

Ask the
Community

Turkey Map[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are often kept on the local level in Turkey.

MapTurkishProvincesNumbers.png






































Provinces[edit | edit source]

Genealogy records are often kept on the local level in Turkey. Turkey is divided into 81 provinces (iller *singular - ili):

  • 01 Adana
  • 02 Adıyaman
  • 03 Afyonkarahisar
  • 04 Ağrı
  • 68 Aksaray
  • 05 Amasya
  • 06 Ankara
  • 07 Antalya
  • 75 Ardahan
  • 08 Artvin
  • 09 Aydın
  • 10 Balıkesir
  • 74 Bartın
  • 72 Batman
  • 69 Bayburt
  • 11 Bilecik
  • 12 Bingöl
  • 13 Bitlis
  • 14 Bolu
  • 15 Burdur
  • 16 Bursa
  • 17 Çanakkale
  • 18 Çankırı
  • 19 Çorum
  • 20 Denizli
  • 21 Diyarbakır
  • 81 Düzce
  • 22 Edirne
  • 23 Elazığ
  • 24 Erzincan
  • 25 Erzurum
  • 26 Eskişehir
  • 27 Gaziantep
  • 28 Giresun
  • 29 Gümüşhane
  • 30 Hakkâri
  • 31 Hatay
  • 76 Iğdır
  • 32 Isparta
  • 34 İstanbul
  • 35 İzmir
  • 46 Kahramanmaraş
  • 78 Karabük
  • 70 Karaman
  • 36 Kars
  • 37 Kastamonu
  • 38 Kayseri
  • 71 Kırıkkale
  • 39 Kırklareli
  • 40 Kırşehir
  • 79 Kilis
  • 41 Kocaeli
  • 42 Konya
  • 43 Kütahya
  • 44 Malatya
  • 45 Manisa
  • 47 Mardin
  • 33 Mersin
  • 48 Muğla
  • 49 Muş
  • 50 Nevşehir
  • 51 Niğde
  • 52 Ordu
  • 80 Osmaniye
  • 53 Rize
  • 54 Sakarya
  • 55 Samsun
  • 56 Siirt
  • 57 Sinop
  • 58 Sivas
  • 63 Şanlıurfa
  • 73 Şırnak
  • 59 Tekirdağ
  • 60 Tokat
  • 61 Trabzon
  • 62 Tunceli
  • 65 Van
  • 77 Yalova
  • 66 Yozgat
  • 67 Zonguldak

FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Turkey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turkey, accessed 20 April 2016.