Tucson Arizona Family History Center

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.


The Tucson Family History Center serves the Tucson area. Established in the 1980's, it houses a large collection of family histories and genealogy books donated by the Southern Arizona Genealogical Society and Pima County Library.

Tucson Family History Center.JPG

Center Contacts and Hours[edit | edit source]

Location & Map:

  • 500 S. Langley Ave., Tucson, AZ  85710-4834 United States
  • The free standing building is located on the north east side of the Tucson East Stake Center parking lot, south of Palo Verde Park.  There is ample parking and handicap accessibility.
  • Location Map

Phone: 520-298-0905

E-mail: az_tucson@familyhistorymail.org

The Tucson Family History Center is open Tuesday through Friday from 10:00 A.M. to 2:00 P.M.

  • Closed: Saturday, Sunday, and Monday
  • Closed Days for 2022
  • Roots Tech Conference: Thursday, 3 March through Saturday, 5 March
  • General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints: Saturday, 2 April and Saturday, 1 October
  • Summer Break: Tuesday, 5 July through Saturday, 16 July
  • Thanksgiving Holiday: Tuesday, 22 November through Saturday 26 November
  • Christmas Holiday: Tuesday, 20 December through Saturday 31 December

Limited access collections and partner websites listed below are accessible through the Family History Center Portal.

19th Century British Library Newspapers

This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.

Alexander Street[edit | edit source]

Social and Cultural History

Personal accounts of well-known historical figures.

The American Civil War—Research Database

Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs.

The American Civil War—Letters and Diaries

Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor.

The American Civil War—Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera

Provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images.

Women and Social Movements in the United States

Organized around the history of women in social movements in the United States between A.D. 1600 and 2000.

American Ancestors[edit | edit source]

Advance your family history research today with AmericanAncestors.org! Created by the expert staff at the New England Historic Genealogical Society (NEHGS), America's founding genealogical organization, AmericanAncestors.org is the portal to the nation's leading resource for the highest-quality, comprehensive family history services. Consult with our expert staff, some of the most respected genealogists in the profession. Read the most significant original scholarship and important publications in genealogy. Access millions of exclusive and sought-after records online. Learn with in-depth online courses and webinars from expert staff. Explore the largest collection of original family history research materials in America.

Ancestry Institution[edit | edit source]

Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court records, land records, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. Ancestry is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world.

Visit this partner's localized sites:U.S.AustraliaCanadaGermanySwedenUnited Kingdom

ArkivDigital[edit | edit source]

ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents. Click the link from the Premium Family History Websites page to use ArkivDigital Online.

FamNet[edit | edit source]

The online family history network for those who have New Zealand roots.

Findmypast[edit | edit source]

Findmypast makes it easy to research your United Kingdom ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records, and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life. Please note that not all of the content from Findmypast is available in family history centers.

Fold3[edit | edit source]

Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world.

Geneanet[edit | edit source]

With 3 billion referenced individuals and 600,000 trees online, Geneanet is the first site dedicated to genealogy in France, Belgium, the Netherlands, Sweden, and Germany. The Geneanet community has 2 million members who exchange genealogical information.

MyHeritage Library Edition[edit | edit source]

Used by millions of people worldwide to help research family history, build a family tree, and add photos, historical records, and more.

Newspapers.com[edit | edit source]

The largest online newspaper archive contains 12,100 newspapers from the 1700s to the 2000s, and millions of additional pages are added every month.

Paper Trail[edit | edit source]

Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.

Puzzilla[edit | edit source]

Find new research opportunities on descendant lines in Family Tree.

The Family History Guide[edit | edit source]

Go to www.thefhguide.com for a free learning, resource, and training center for family history/genealogy.

The Family History Guide Mission Statement: "Our mission is to greatly increase the number of people actively involved in family history worldwide, and to make everyone's family history journey easier, more efficient, and more enjoyable."

Here are some of the unique features you'll find on the site:

  • Over 1,200 Goals for learning, supported by over 2,300 flexible Choices
  • Step-by-step instructions to make learning easier
  • Instructions on how to access and use FamilySearch, Ancestry, Find-My-Past, and MyHeritage
  • Links to over 2,400 videos and articles from FamilySearch, Ancestry, and more
  • QUIKLinks that take you to record searches from multiple sources, with a single click
  • A Vault full of additional information not included in the learning goals
  • Project Tracker sheets and Training materials for self-study or group instruction
  • Family history resources for families, youth, and children
  • Extensive information for Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints member interests

Brigham Young University Family History Technology Lab[edit | edit source]

The BYU family history technology lab (click here) has links to several innovative programs to research, visualize, and play games with ancestor information in your personal FamilySearch.org family tree.

Past events - Family History Fairs 2013-2020[edit | edit source]

Family History Fair 2020 - Click here for the list of courses and links to class handouts

Family History Fair 2019 - Click here for the list of courses and links to class handouts

Family History Fair 2018 - Click here for the list of courses and links to class handouts

Family History Fair 2017 - Click here for the list of courses and links to class handouts.

Family History Fair 2016 - Click here for the list of courses and links to class handouts.

Family History Fair 2015 - Click here for the list of courses and links to class handouts.

Family History Fair 2014 - Click here for the list of courses and links to class handouts.

Family History Fair 2013 - Click here for the list of courses and links to class handouts.

Center Resources[edit | edit source]

Arizonatucsonfhc.jpg

Collections [edit | edit source]

  • Several thousand donated books and microfiche are part of our holdings.  Be sure to "Search" the "Catalog" in FamilySearch.org as we are transitioning our catalog of holdings to that catalog. Many of our books are found in the FamilySearch catalog and our internal catalog, but some are only found in one of the two catalogs.  (Note:  Microfilms are no longer available at the Center.  The Church is digitizing all 2.4 million microfilms which can be accessed under Search>Catalog on FamilySearch.org. Some films can only be viewed online at the Center due to restrictions placed on the records by the original record holders.)

Periodicals and Magazines[edit | edit source]

  • Internet Genealogy
  • American Ancestors (NEHGS online magazine)

Computer Software Programs and Resources[edit | edit source]

We  have deluxe versions of the following genealogy management software for you to "test drive."

  • Legacy 9
  • Roots Magic 6 and 7 (software programs that interact with Family Search and My Heritage)
  • Ancestral Quest 15

Additional computer resources include:

·      Genealogy Bank (the Center has a paid subscription for patron use)

·      Newspapers.com Publisher Extra edition (the Center has a paid subscription for patron use)

·      Archives.com (the Center has a paid subscription for patron use)

·      Family Tree Maker disks (some--check catalog)

·      Some Pedigree Resource File disks

·      PAF 4 and PAF 5

Family Search Compatible and Verified Programs

·      Many interesting and helpful programs that tie to information in Family Search can be found at FamilySearch.org/solutionsgallery

Family Search Compatible and Verified Programs

  • Many interesting and helpful programs that tie to information in Family Search can be found at FamilySearch.org/solutionsgallery

Hardware and Equipment[edit | edit source]

  • Eleven (11) patron use computers with free access to the premium sites listed above
  • Scan pictures and documents directly to FamilySearch Memories
  • Photo Scanning System: scan up to 85 photos per minute at 300 dpi, flatbed scanner will separate multiple photos on one page (such as photo album or scrapbook pages), and 'auto correct' can bring pictures back to life

Center Services[edit | edit source]

Individual Consulting[edit | edit source]

  • Center staff are available for personal consulting with no appointment needed and at no cost

Staff Research Specialties [edit | edit source]

  • Specialty times and languages available; send your request to az_tucson@familyhistorymail.org

Presentations[edit | edit source]

  • Center staff are available for presentations to community and religious groups. Please send an email to the address above with your request. There is no charge for such presentations.

Volunteer at the Center[edit | edit source]

  • Community volunteers with an interest in family history, a desire to serve others, and are willing to commit to a weekly or bi-weekly shift for at least one to two years are invited to join our staff.  Training will be provided.  Contact the center through our email or phone number at the top of this page for specific opportunities that fit your schedule.