Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Trumbull County, Ohio ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Warren
Organized: July 10, 1800[1]
Parent County(s): Jefferson, Wayne[2]
Neighboring Counties
Ashtabula  • Geauga  • Portage  • Mahoning  • Lawrence (PA)  • Mercer (PA)  • Crawford (PA)
See County Maps
Courthouse
Trumbull County, Ohio Courthouse.jpg
Location Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Trumbull County.PNG
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Jonathan Trumbull, Governor of Connecticut, who once owned the land in this region. It is located in the Northwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Trumbull County Courthouse
160 High St NW
Warren, OH 44481
Phone: 330-675-2557
Trumbull County Courthouse

Clerk Court has divorce, court and naturalization records from 1800;
Probate Judge has marriage and probate records;
County Recorder has land records[4]

Trumbull County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1867 1803 1837 1800 1795 1803 1820
Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1908. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

1895 A courthouse fire may have damaged or destroyed some records.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [7]

Cities
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Trumbull County, Ohio online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 1,302
1810 8,671 566.0%
1820 15,546 79.3%
1830 26,153 68.2%
1840 38,107 45.7%
1850 30,490 −20.0%
1860 30,656 0.5%
1870 38,659 26.1%
1880 44,880 16.1%
1890 42,373 −5.6%
1900 46,591 10.0%
1910 52,766 13.3%
1920 83,920 59.0%
1930 123,063 46.6%
1940 132,315 7.5%
1950 158,915 20.1%
1960 208,526 31.2%
1970 232,579 11.5%
1980 241,863 4.0%
1990 227,813 −5.8%
2000 225,116 −1.2%
2010 210,312 −6.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

The Trumbull County Archives has transcripts of each case from civil, criminal and divorce courts, in Common Pleas Court Journals and Common Pleas Court Record Books.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

The Trumbull County Archives/Microfilm department has online maps and deed indexes

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for this county. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Ohio Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Geauga CountyAshtabula CountyPortage CountyMahoning CountyLawrence CountyMercer CountyCrawford CountyOH TRUMBULL.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War
Civil War service men from Trumbull County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Trumbull County.

- 41st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A and K
- 105th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies B, C, and I

World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Trumbull County newspapers often contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the Trumbull County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.

Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Births were not required to be recorded until 1867, and are generally not available prior to that date. The Trumbull County Archives has birth records from 1867-1908 indexed alphabetically on cards. The Ohio Department of Health maintains the birth records from 29 Dec 1908 to present.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

The Trumbull County Archives has both an alphabetical card index, and actual certificates available. Marriage licenses are available from 1816, when they were kept separately, but in 1891 they were combined with the marriage certificates.

Death[edit | edit source]

The Trumbull County Archives also has the death records for this time period indexed alphabetically on cards. Deaths were not required to be recorded until 1867. The Ohio Historical Society maintains death certificates for the state from 20 Dec 1908 - 31 Dec 1944. The Ohio Department of Health maintains the death certificates for this time period.

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Abstracts of original divorce decrees from 7 Sep 1949 to present are maintained at the Ohio Department of Health. Records prior to this date are generally maintained in the probate court of the county in which the original marriage license was filed.

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Trumbull County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.

Trumbull County Records Center & Archives
185 E Market Street STE B
First Floor
Warren, OH 44481
330-675-6615
Website

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Trumbull County. For state-wide library facilities, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.

Warren-Trumbull County Public Library
Main branch
444 Mahoning Ave NW
Warren, OH 44483
330-399-8807
Website

The Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County
Main Library
305 Wick Ave
Youngstown, OH 44503
330-744-8636
Website

Bristol Public Library
1855 Greenville Rd NW
PO Box 220
Bristolville, OH 44402-0220
330-889-3651
Website

Girard Free Library
105 E Prospect St
Girard, OH 44420-1899
330-545-2508
Website

Hubbard Public Library
436 W Liberty St
Hubbard, OH 44425-1793
330-534-3512
Website

Kinsman Free Public Library
6420 Church St
PO Box 166
Kinsman, OH 44428-9702
330-876-2461
Website

McKinley Memorial Library
40 N Main St
Niles, OH 44446-5082
330-652-1704
Website

Newton Falls Public Library
204 S Canal St
Newton Falls, OH 44444-1694
330-872-1282
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Trumbull County Tourism Bureau
321 Mahoning Ave NW
Warren, OH 44483
866-360-1552/330-675-3081
Website

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Trumbull County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Ohio Societies.

Western Reserve Historical Society
Research Library in the History Center
10825 East Blvd
Cleveland, OH 44106
216-721-5722
FamilySearch Wiki
Website

Trumbull County Genealogical Society
PO Box 309
Warren, OH 44482
Website

Ohio Historical Society
Archives/Library
1982 Velma Ave
Columbus, OH 43211-2497
614-297-2510
Facebook

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
  2. Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
  3. Genealogy Trails History Group, “Trumbull County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/trumbull/ accessed 2/27/2017.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Ohio Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Trumbull County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trumbull_County,_Ohio, accessed 16 January 2019.