Trondenes Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Trondenes, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Trondenes Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese		 Nidaros bispedømme 1030-1803, Hålogaland bispedømme 1804-1951, Nord-Hålogaland bispedømme 1952-today
Prosti Trondenes
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms (1919-2019), Troms og Finnmark (2020-present)
Region Nord-Norge
Prestegjeld Trondenes
Kommune Harstad
Skifteretten Tromsø prosti, Senja prosti
Tinglag Trondenes
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Trondenes
Skipreide N/A
v • d • e


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Trondenes clerical district contains parish registers for the parishes Trondenes with Harstad, Skånland and Sandtorg. It included parishes Bjarkøy (Sand) and Sandsøy from 1813 until 1875, which were annexed to Trondenes clerical district during that time. Records begin in 1744.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegian headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]


  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666. The 1664-1666 clerical census for Trondenes includes the parishes of Trondenes, Kvæfjord, Bjarkøy (Sand), Torsken, Berg and Hillesøy and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • Ekstraskattemanntallet 1763 Senja fogderi. The 1763 census for Senja fogderi includes the parishes of Astafjord, Trondenes, Kvæfjord, Bjarkøy (Sand), Lenvik, Hillesøy, Torsken, Tranøy, Berg, and Mefjord and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.






  • Folketellinga 1900 for Trondenes (Troms). An index to the 1900 census for Trondenes is available on microfiche at the Family History Library.


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

  • Folk og slekt i gamle Trondenes by Bergljot Holte Bjørkenes and Margareth Jensen. Lineage book covering the whole of old Trondenes Prestegjeld consisting of Harstad and Trondenes parishes. Text in Norwegian.
  • Trondenes bygdebok by Trygve Lysaker. A history of Trondenes with Harstad, Skånland, and Sandtorg in Trondenes clerical district in Troms county and a genealogy of the people and their farms. Text in Norwegian. Farm name indexes to volumes 1- 3 are found in the following links. 948.452-T2 H2L V1 - Trondenes.pdf, 948.452-T2 H2L v2 - TRONDENE-2.pdf, 948.452-T2 H2L v3 - TRONDENES-3.pdf
Tip
 The farm name indexes referenced above include many more names than the list below.

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

108 Aakerøen, 28 Aarbogen, 82 Aarnes, 98 Alvestad, 53 Arnøen, 93 Aun indre,

76 Berg, 68 Bergseng, 107 Bessebostad ,103 Bjørneraa indre, 8 Blaafjeldvandet, 23 Boltaasen, 23 Breistrand, 50 Breivik, 38 Brokvik, 17 Bø,

99 Dale, 36 Dalen, 15 Djuphavn,

92 Elsnes indre, 96 Elsnes ytre, 39 Elven, 20 Erikjorden, 57 Erikstad, 90 Erikstad, 79 Ervik,

90 Fageraas, 35 Fauskevaag lille, 31 Fjeldet, 104 For nedre, 46 Forhavn,

78 Gamnes, 56 Gansaas, 30 Gausvik, 87 Grundvasbotn, 97 Grytø, 37 Græsholmen,

39 Halsebø, 85 Halvormo, 79 Hammeren, 89 Harbakken, 58 Harstad nedre, 61 Harstadhavn, 39 Haugen, 29 Haukebø, 32 Havn, 19 Heimet, 107 Helsingen, 65 Hestehagen, 16 Holtaasen, 45 Husøen, 68 Høgforsen, 86 Høiden,

84 Jensvold,

85 Kaltdalen, 52 Kannebogen, 47 Kilbotn, 49 Kile, 71 Kjelhus indre, 69 Kjelhus ytre, 16 Kjønna, 109 Kjøtta, 27 Kobbevik, 40 Kommelhaugen, 67 Kulseng, 21 Kvitfors, 9 Kvitfors nordre, 11 Kvitnes, 30 Lauklien, 24 Lavangen nedre,

33 Leikvik, 106 Lundenes med Kjeøen, 73 Lyngmoen,

51 Mekile, 43 Melvik, 84 Møkkeland,

14 Nipen, 44 Nordvik, 66 Nygaard, 72 Nygaard,

19 Okseberget, 48 Oldra, 51 Osneset, 26 Otteraa,

17 Reinaasen, 45 Roglen, 1 Roldnes søndre, 19 Rødberg ,81 Røkenes,

63 Sama nedre, 79 Sameiet, 6 Sandemarken, 4 Sandstrand nedre, 27 Sandtor ,88 Sjurdalen, 15 Skaanland lille, 91 Skjerstad, 84 Solbakken, 17 Sollien, 79 Sollien, 55 Stangnes nordre, 54 Steinbergneset, 22 Steinjorden, 74 Steinneset, 12 Steinsland nordre, 23 Storelven, 36 Storhaugen, 83 Stornes, 41 Storvandet, 75 Storvasbotn, 23 Svartvandet, 42 Sørvik, 42 Sørvikmarken,

10 Tennevik, 68 Toften, 2 Tovik indre, 64 Trondenes, 18 Trøsen,

80 Undlandet,

38 Vandet, 101 Varmedal, 100 Vaskinn, 77 Viken, 34 Voldstad,

7 Øivandet, 70 Øverby

Folk og Slekt i Gamle Trondenes Bind I (Personregister): Alvestad, Aun, Berg, Bergseng, Bessebostad, Bjørnrå, Blåfjell,Blåfjellvatn, Boltås, Breistrand, Breivik, Brokvik, Bø, Dale, Dalhaug, Elgsnes, Eriksjord, Eriksstad, Ervik, Evenskjer, Fauskevåg, For, Forhamn, Gamnes, Gansås, Gansåsbotn, Gausvik, Gressholman, Grunnvassbotn, Grøta, Hagan, Halsebø, Harbakken, Harstad, Harstadhamn, Haukebø, Husjord, Høgda, Kaltdalen, Kanebogen, Kila, Kilbotn, Kjellhus, Kjønna, Kjøtta, Kommelhaug, Kråkenes, Kulseng, Kvitfors, Kvitnes, Lavangen, Leikvik, Lundenes, Medkila, Melvik, Møkkeland, Måga, Nipen, Nordvik, Oldra, Otterå, Planterhaugen, Prestegården, Reinåsen, Ringberget, Rogla, Rødberg, Sama, Sandemark, Sandstrand, Sandtorg, Skavlia, Skjerret, Skjerstad, Skånland, Sletten, Stangnes, Steinbergneset, Steinjord, Steinneset, Steinsland, Stornes, Storvassbotn, Storvatn, Sørrollnes, Sørvik, Tennevik, Tennåsen, Tovik, Trøsemark, Trøsen, Tømmeråsen, Undlandet, Varmedal, Vaskinn, Vika, Vollstad, Øyvatn, Åkerøy, Årbogen

Trondenes Bygdebok I: Alvestad, Aun, Berg, Bergseng, Bessebostad, Bjørnerå, Botn, Dale, Elgsnes, Erikstad, Ervik, Fjellet, Gamnes, Grunnvassbotn, Grøta, Grøtavær, Hagan (Hestehagan- Nygård), Harbakken, Helsingen, Høgda, Høgforsen, Jessevollen, Johnsborg, Jonsgård, Jægersberg, Kaarbøgården, Kaltdalen, Kasfjord, Kilen, Kjellhus, Kjeøya, Kjøtta, Kleiva, Klokkergården, Kolsnes, Kringelhågen, Kroken, Kulseng, Landkonvika, Langnes, Larsbremneset, Lauvhaug, Lein, Leira, Leite, Leitebakken, Linberget, Lindberg, Lindfjæret, Lund, Lunde, Lundeborg, Lundemo, Lundenes, Lyngmoen, Lyngmyra, Melkeneset, Midtli, Minde, Munkhaug, Munkholla, Myra, Myreng, Møkkeland, Måga, Mågøy, Nerbotn, Nergård, Nergården, Neset, Nesvoll Norddal, Nordlund, Norlunn, Nyberg, Nyborg, Nygård, Nymoen, Nøysomhet, Olsrud, Oppeigården, Pettersborg, Prestegården, Raten, Rateskogsletta, Ringberget, Rydningen, Røkenes, Sama, Samamoa, Sandberg, Seljestad, Selvik, Sjurdalen, Sjønstad, Sjøvollen, Skaret, Skarvegen, Skjelstad, Skjerstad, Skjerret, Skoglund, Skrapvollen, Slettebakken, Smibakken, Solbakken, Solheim, Sollia, Solstad, Solsvik, Solvang, Sommerstad, Staurhågen, Stenborg, Steinneset, Stolberg, Stornes, Storvassbotn, Stranda, Strebsomhet, Strindberg, Søbakken, Sørvoll, Tennbakken, Tofta, Toftegård, Trondenes Prestegård, Tryggvang, Tømmeråsen, Undlandet, Uti Steinan, Utsikten, Varmedal, Vaskinn, Vestgård, Vika, Vollen, Vollheim, Øyra, Øverby, Åkerøy, Årflot, Årne, Årnesvik

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Foged Jens Holmboes efterkommere: stamtavle, 1912. Descendants of Jens Homboe (1752-1804), a son of Hans Holmboe from Lesja parish, Oppland county, Norway.  He was a government official in Ervik, Trondenes parish, Troms county, Norway.  He married Anna Margrethe Irgens (1766-1851) 1783. She was born in Tromsø parish, Troms county, a daughter of Tromsø parish priest Johannes Irgens and his wife Anne Margrethe Borchgrevinck.  This couple had twelve children, six sons and six daughters.

Includes Figenschou, Glæver, Stoltenberg, Welhaven, and other families.

Nielsen, Hans, 1828-1877 : Hans Nielsenas håndskrevne samling i Harstads bibliotek.  Contains a copy of Hans Nielsen's handwritten manuscript at Harstad library, with regards to the farm history with genealogical notes of the residents in Harstad parish Norway.

FHL # film 1936221 (Granite mountain vault)

Jensen, Per-Harald, 1953-: Tjeldøyslekta. Descendants of Jens Jakobsen Hol. Jens was born 1755 at Brokvik in Trondenes parish and was the son of Jakob Andersen Brokvik. Jakob was born 1686 at Balstad in Tjeldsund and died in Brokvik 1771, 85 years old.

FHL 929.2481 H689

Available through the FamilySearch Catalog

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Bjørkenes, Bergljot holte; Jensen, Margreth: Folk og Slekt i Gamle Trondenes Bind I familiekatalog 1997

-Lysaker, Trygve: Trondenes Bygdebok: Gårdshistorie for Trondenes Herred med Harstad. Published by Trondenes Bygdebok nemnd med Harstad Bokhandel, Harstad 1956

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Trondenes_Parish,_Troms,_Norway_Genealogy&oldid=4580103"