Tipton County, Tennessee Genealogy

United States

Tennessee

Tipton County

Guide to Tipton County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Tennessee Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Covington Organized: October 29, 1823 Parent County(s): Chickasaw Indian Lands Neighboring Counties Crittenden (AR)  • Fayette  • Haywood  • Lauderdale  • Mississippi (AR)  • Shelby See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption Adopt-a-wiki page This page adopted by: TNGenWeb Project who welcome you to contribute. Adopt a page today

County Information

Description

Tipton County was named for Jacob Tipton, 18th-century soldier. The county is located in the southeastern area of the state.

County Courthouse

Tipton County Courthouse
100 Court Square P O box 528
Covington, TN 38019
County Courthouse Phone: 901-475-3320
County Register of Deeds Phone: 901-476-0204

Tipton County Clerk
Marriage, probate and court records
P.O. Box 528
220 Hwy. 51 N., Suite 2
Covington, TN 38019
County Clerk Phone: 901-476-0207

County Clerk has marriage records from 1840.
General Sessions Court has divorce records from 1823 and court records.
Clerk Chancery Court has probate records from 1823.
Register of Deeds has land records.

Tipton County, Tennessee Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1881	1840	1881	1823	1820	1823	1810
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1914. General compliance by 1927.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. Lack of marriage records: 1823 to 1839 For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see: Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill at 24-7 Family History Circle. When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle at Arlene Eakle's Tennessee Blog. Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki. List of counties in the United States with Record Loss

Boundary Changes

1823--Tipton County was established 29 October 1823 from Chickasaw Indian Lands. County seat: Covington For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Cities
Brighton Covington	Gilt Edge	Munford
Towns
Atoka Burlison	Garland	Mason
Unincorporated communities
Drummonds Randolph	Reverie	Tipton

History Timeline

Additional Information
West Tennessee county.

The county was named after "Jacob Tipton, father of Armistead Blevins, who supervised the organization of Shelby County; Tipton was killed by Native Americans in 1791 in a conflict over the Northwest Territory."

Resources

Biographies

All of the family biographies from the History of Tipton County, Tennessee (1886) by Goodspeed are availableonline at My Genealogy Hound.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

• West Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1821 to 1889. 2006. By Alan N. Miller. Baltimore, Md.: Clearfield Company. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2man. Online at MyHeritage ($). Includes Tipton County.

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Tipton County, Tennessee online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Findagrave.com TNGenWeb TNGenWeb Archives Tombstone Project TNGenWeb Cemeteries Billion Graves
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat
List of Cemeteries in the County	Findagrave.com TNGravestones FamilySearch Places
See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.

 

Additional Cemetery Resources

• Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator

Census Records

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1830	5,317	—
1840	6,800	27.9%
1850	8,887	30.7%
1860	10,705	20.5%
1870	14,884	39.0%
1880	21,033	41.3%
1890	24,271	15.4%
1900	29,273	20.6%
1910	29,459	0.6%
1920	30,258	2.7%
1930	27,498	−9.1%
1940	28,036	2.0%
1950	29,782	6.2%
1960	28,564	−4.1%
1970	28,001	−2.0%
1980	32,930	17.6%
1990	37,568	14.1%
2000	51,271	36.5%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 Tipton County federal population schedules are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.

See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

1810-1891

• Tennessee, Compiled Census and Census Substitutes Index, 1810-1891 at Ancestry $

1840 Pensioners

• A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. See Tennessee, Western District, Tipton County on page 159.

1850

• Carpenter, Mrs. V.K. Seventh census of the United States, 1850, Tipton County, Tennessee,population schedules Searcy, Arkansas L.E. Presley, 1979 FHL US/CAN book 976.817 X2c 1850

1860

• Felldin, Jeanne Robey and Tucker, Charlotte Magee 1860 United States census, Tipton County, Tennessee, surname index Tomball, Texas Genealogical Publications, c1976 FHL US/CAN book 976.8 A1

1880

• Sistler, Byron H. and Samuel D. 1880 census, Tipton County, Tennessee Nashville, Tennessee B. Sistler and Associates, 1992 FHL US/CAN book 976.817 X2s

1891 Male Voters

• 1891 Tennessee Enumeration of Male Voters 1891 at Ancestry $

Church Records

List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places
  

Court Records

Law and Legislation

• Tennessee State Library and Archives, Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850: Index to Names. January 25, 2005. In addition to creating new laws, legislative acts were often required to obtain a divorce, grant legitimacy to a child, or for appointments to or grant payments for public service. The TSLA has created an index to names that appear in these acts covering the years 1796 to 1850. Online searchable index at TSLA.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African American
The Runaway Slave Blog is an online resource where runaway slaves listed in pre-1865 West Tennessee newspapers are identified. Some of the runaway ads appeared in Tipton County newspapers.

Genealogies

General

• As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Tipton, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 15,000 entries.

• Hayes, Sallie. Tipton County, Tennessee Family Histories & Cemetery Records. n.p.: S. Hayes, 199-. FHL US/CAN Book 976.817 D2h. Includes information about surnames: Ruffin, Craddock, Hyde, Sasser and Sherman.
• Matthews, Paul A. Early Families of the Memphis Area: Profiles of 135 Families of Fayette, Shelby and Tipton Counties in Tennessee, Crittenden County, Arkansas and DeSoto and Marshall Counties in Mississippi: With Historical Time Lines and Photogrpahs of Those Counties. Memphis, Tennessee: Descendants of Early Settlers of Shelby and Adjoining Counties, 2008. FHL US/CAN Book 976 D2m.

Bibliography

• Baskerville - Baskerville, P. Hamilton (Patrick Hamilton), 1848-1925. Baskerville Family. Richmond W.M. Ellis Jones' Sons, Inc. 1912. Free digital copy.
• Bird - Embry, Iola. Bird History. Typescript. FHL US/CAN Film 2241.
• Cox - Bush, Lorena W. They followed the sun: some ancestors and descendants of Zachary Taylor Cox and Elizabeth Jane Hitt. Unknown: unknown, 1979. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C839b; FHL US/CAN Film 1321115 Item 7; digital version at Ancestry ($); Heritage Quest Online ($).
• Cullum - Cullum, David and Ed Cullum. Cullums Synonymous: The Descendants of Reverend Marcus Hiram Collum and Elizabeth Jane Davis (North Carolina--Tennessee--Texas). Dallas, Texas: Cullums Synonymous, 1984. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 C898c.
• Cullum - Cullum, David and Ed Cullum. Cullums Synonymous [Newsletter]: A Cullum Family Newsletter. Dallas, Texas: Cullums Synonymous, 1984-1994. FHL 929.27305 C898c.
• McCain- Lynn, E. Elizabeth. McCain Family Members: From the Waxhaws, Tipton County, Tennessee, and Elsewhere. Montreat, North Carolina: E.E. Lynn, 1984. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M123L.
• Mitchell - Goggans, Helen Mitchell, Mavis P. Kelsey and Billie Mitchell Langford. The Mitchell Family of Tipton County, Tennessee: Their Antecedents in Colonial Southside Virginia Including Jones and Bishop and Their Numerous Descendents. Kingsland, Arkansas: H.M. Goggans, A. Mitchell, & B.M. Langford, 1990. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 M692go.
• Pace - Pace, William Carroll and Doris Pace Resner. Pace's, Smith's, Baucom's. 2 vols. Oklahoma City, Oklahoma: W.C. Pace, [1990?]. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 P114p ff.
• Pullen - Archibald Pullen Family Bible Records, 1777-1851 and Pedigree Chart, 1762-1923. FHL US/CAN Film 1145775 Item 3.
• Trobaugh - Kennedy, Chester C. Konawa, I.T.: Two Pioneer Families, Hammons and Trobaugh. Konawa, Oklahoma: C.C. Kennedy, 1993. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H184ke.
• Wood - Wood, McFarland W. Descendants of Josiah Wood through his son David Wood, Albermarle County, Virginia. [microform]. Hopkinsville, KY: Unknown, 1947. Digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($). One branch of the family went to Tipton County.

Land and Property Records

• Tipton County Register of Deeds has Land Records from 1824 and is located at the Courthouse, P.O. Box 528, Covington, Tennessee 38019-0528; Telephone: 901-476-0204.Land and property records include transfer of real estate or personal property, mortgages, leases, surveys, and entries.
• The Family History Library has microfilmed copies of deed records 1824-1896 with indexes 1824-1900; land entry books 1820-1870; and land surveys 1821-1903. Catalog

Local Histories

• Beasley, Gaylon Neil True Tales of Tipton County, Tennessee The History Press Charleston, SC 2007. Free lookups available!
• Williams, Joseph S. Old Times in West Tennessee: Reminiscences, Semi-historic, of Pioneer Life and the Early Emigrant Settlers in the Big Hatchie Country. Memphis, Tenn.: W.G. Cheeney, 1873. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 H2wj 1975. Digital version available through Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.

Maps and Gazetteers

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

• Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
• Map of 1888 Tipton County, Tennessee with numerous small settlements. (My Genealogy Hound)
  
• FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Military Records

Revolutionary War
The following Tipton County Revolutionary War records are available online through TNGenWeb:website

• Tennesseeans in the Revolutionary War: Tipton County
  

Additional resources include:

• A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing, 1967. FHL US/CAN Book 973 X2pc 1840; FHL US/CAN Film 2321. 1841 edition digitized by the U.S. Census Bureau and Google books et. al. [See Tennessee, Western District, Tipton County on page 159.]
• Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." Digital version at Ancestry. Tennessee entries abstracted online at Tennesseans in the Revolutionary War, courtesy: TNGenWeb. Includes veterans from this county; Tennessee section begins on page 381.

War of 1812

• Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul. 1961):95-98. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. [Includes Tipton County pensioners (p. 97).]

Civil War

Online Records

• 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
• 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry (free)
• 1861-1865 U.S., Civil War Soldier Records and Profiles, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
• 1891-1965 Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System

Regiments. Men in Tipton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Tipton County:

Confederate Soldiers

• 1st Regiment, Tennessee Heavy Artillery (Jackson's) - CSA - Company C
• 4th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (Neely's) - CSA - Company I.
• 7th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Duckworth's) - CSA - Companies B and K.
• 9th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Company C.
• 12th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Green's) - CSA - Companies C and G.
• 15th Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry - CSA - Companies I and K.
• 16th Regiment, Tennessee Cavalry (Logwood's) - CSA - Company I.
• 51st Consolidated Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA- Companies G and H.
  
• 51st Regiment, Tennessee Infantry - CSA - Companies A, G, and K.

Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Tipton County:

• Lynn, H.M. H.M. Lynn Papers, 1858-1882. Southern Historical Collection, Manuscripts Dept., Wilson Library, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Free digital copy. 9th Tennessee Regiment, Company C.
• Genealogy Trails, Tipton County Tennessee Military.
• Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Tipton County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
• United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Tipton County, page 379.
• TNGenWeb, Tipton County Civil War Archives Index.

Newspapers

Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Tipton County click on the following cities or towns:

• Covington
• Munford
• Randolph

• 1794-1851 - Lucas, Silas Emmett. Marriages from Early Tennessee Newspapers 1794-1851. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1978. FHL 976.8 V2L.
• 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)

Other Records

Prisons

• 1831-1850 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
  
• 1851-1870 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870 at Tennessee State Library and Archives

Periodicals

Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:

• Ansearchin' News: Quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. For a keyword search, go to the county index. Read previous issues on their website; FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
• Family Findings: Quarterly of the Mid-West Tennessee Genealogical Society. For tables of contents and online access to issues, see TNGenWeb Project. Also try this specialized Google search. FHL US/CAN 976.8 B2f.

• Volumes 1-10 (1969-1978)
• Volumes 11-20 (1979-1988)
• Volumes 21-24 (1989-1992)
• Volumes 32-35 (2000-2003)

• West Tennessee Historical Society Papers: Occasional publication of the West Tennessee Historical Society. FHL US/CAN Book 976.81 B5w. To view Table of Contents and complete articles from 1947 - 2005 see Shelby County Register of Deeds

Probate Records

The County Court has responsibility for the probate records of Tipton County.

Online Records and Indexes

• 1779-2008 Tennessee Wills and Probate Records 1779-2008 at Ancestry $
• 1824-1918 Tipton County portion of Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes.
• 1824-1867; 1843-1859; 1865-1884; 1882-1918 Probate Records - Images of Wills 1822-1827;1827-1832;1832-1834;1834-1838;1838-1841;1842-1845 at Southeastern Genealogy $

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1824-1861 - Sistler, Byron and Barbara Sistler. Index to Tennessee Wills & Administrations 1779-1861. Nashville, Tenn. Byron Sistler & Associates, Inc., 1990. FHL US/CAN 976.8 P22s. Includes an index to this county's probate records.

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.

• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.

Tax Records

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1836 - Douthat, James L. 1836 Tipton County, Tennessee, Civil Districts and Tax List. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL US/CAN Book 976.817 R4d; online: index and purchase details.
• 1837 - Davis, Bettie Brandon. "1836 Map of Tipton County, Tennessee" and "Tipton County, Tennessee 1837 Tax List," Ansearchin' News. Vol. 40, No. 3 (Fall 1993):103-108; Vol. 40, No. 4 (Winter 1993):175-176. For possible FHL and online access, as well as indexes, see Periodicals.
• 1837 Tax List, 1837. Tennessee Genealogy and History, Vol. 4, No. 2 (2000).
• 1837-1838 - Tipton County, Tennessee, Tax Rolls 1837-1838. Buffalo, Texas: Four Scribes, 1987. FHL US/CAN Book 976.817 R4t.

Vital Records

Birth

• 1828-1939 Tennessee Births and Christenings 1828-1939 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1869-1909 Tennessee Delayed Birth Records 1869-1909 at Ancestry $
• 1908-1912 Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection

Marriage

Online indexes and Records

• 1625-1966 Tennessee, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
• 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriages 1780-2002 at Ancestry $
• 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriage Index 1780-2002 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1790-1962 Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 - at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection. Covers all counties in Tennessee.
• 1796-1950 Tennessee Marriages 1796-1950 (Indexes only) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1838-1888 Tennessee Civil Marriages, 1838-1888 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1840-1895 - Tipton County Marriage Index 1840-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
• 1851-1900 Tennessee Marriages 1851-1900 at Ancestry $
• 1980-2014 Marriage Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Book Abstracts and Indexes

• 1840-1874 - Early West Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 1 ff. Indexes names of brides,,grooms, marriage or marriage bond dates for this county for specified years.
• 1840-1860 - Marriage records, 1840-1860, Tipton County, Tennessee FHL US/CAN Film 24841item 1.

Death

• 1823-1852 - Hays, Tony. West Tennessee Death Records (ca. 1823-1852). 2 vols. n.p.: Kitchen Table Press, 1987. FHL FAMIST Book 976.8 V2ht v. 1-2. Tipton County is included in Vol. 1
• 1874-1955 Tennessee Deaths and Burials 1874-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1908-1933 Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
• 1908-1958 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1958 at Ancestry $
• 1908-1912 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1912 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1914-1933 Tennessee Death Records 1914-1933 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1914-1966 Tennessee Deaths, 1914-1966 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
• 1949-2014 Death Records Index 1949-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Divorce

Online Records

• 1796-1850 Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
• 1980-2014 Divorce Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index

Online Titles

• W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Tipton County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• Frayser Tennessee Family History Center
• Jackson Tennessee Family History Center
• Memphis Tennessee Family History Center
• Memphis Tennessee Spanish Family History Center
• Bolivar-Hardeman County Public Library - an affiliate library.
• Chester County Public Library - an affiliate library.
• Germantown Regional Hist & Genealogy Center - an affiliate library.

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Tipton County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.

Munford Memorial Public Library
1476 Munford Avenue
Munford, TN 38058
Phone: 901-837-2665
Email: munford@bigriver.net
Website

Tipton County Public Library
300 W Church St.
Covington, TN 38019
Phone: 901-476-8289
Email: tiptonpl@covingtontn.com
Website
Cemetery Records, Military Rosters, Marriage Records, Census Indexes, Local Histories, Newspapers including Covington Leader, Commercial Appeal, Randolph Recorder, Deeds, Court Minutes, Birth and Death Indexes, Bible Records, Tax Records, Probate Records, etc.

West Tennessee Heritage Study Center
Paul Meek Library
10 Wayne Fisher Dr.
Martin, TN 38238
Phone: 731-881-7065
Website
Holds a variety of genealogical resources including materials relating to the following counties in Tennessee: Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Houston, Humphreys, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Perry, Shelby, Stewart, Tipton, Wayne, Weakley and Carlisle (KY), Fulton (KY), and Hickman (KY) counties in Kentucky.

Societies

Listed below are societies in Tipton County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.

Websites

• Tipton County, TN Genealogy and History (American History and Genealogy Project)
• Tipton County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
• Tipton County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
• Tipton County TN Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides

Use theSearch for Surnames at Mountain Press's website to quickly search a variety of published Tipton County biography, tax, and WPA records. To determine which books are being searched, or to search each publication's index individually, click here. You are now equipped with a checklist of books to pull off the shelves at a genealogy library, or a wish list for your personal book collection.

• Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Tipton County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Family History Library

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.