Thornton, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Thornton, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Thornton, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union West Derby
Registration District Fylde
Records begin
Parish registers: 1836; Separate registers exist for Fleetwood beginning 1841
Bishop's Transcripts: 1837
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Chapelry History[edit | edit source]

THORNTON, a township with a chapel of ease, in the parish of Poulton, union of the Fylde, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire, 1¾ mile north by east from Poulton; containing, with the town of Fleetwood (which see). A church, dedicated to Christ [Church], was erected in 1835.[1] 

Historically part of Lancashire. During the compilation of the Domesday Book in 1086, the settlement of Torentún is recorded, along with the settlement of Homer Green, which far outdates any claim that Ince Blundell is the oldest village in Sefton. Thornton was combined with Crosby Village and Blundellsands to form the Great Crosby urban district. The district subsequently became part the municipal borough of Crosby in 1937. This in turn was absorbed into the new Metropolitan Borough of Sefton on 1 April 1974. Thornton still however retains Parish Council status and therefore has a historical boundary.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Thornton Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]

West Derby, Lancashire Poor Law Union

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 337-341.Date accessed: 19 November 2013.