Teton County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Teton County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Teton County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho, United States Genealogy
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Founded||January 26, 1915|
|Address||Teton County Courthouse|
150 Courthouse Drive
Driggs, ID 83422
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the adjacent Teton mountains and valley. The County has Driggs as its seat and the County was created January 26, 1915. The County is located in the east area of the state.
Teton County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Clerk[edit | edit source]
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
It was named for the adjacent Teton mountains and the valley which covers most of the county. It is believed to have been first visited in 1808 by John Colter who had been a member of the Lewis and Clark expedition. No particular Indian tribe made their permanent homes in the valley, but councils were held here and it was a hunting ground for many tribes. In 1882, the first permanent settlers came into the valley but substantial growth did not begin until 1888 when Latter-day Saint settlers from Salt Lake City began to establish the town of Driggs followed closely in 1889 by more Latter-day Saint settlers from the Cache Valley who formed Victor. The early settlers first called the area Teton Basin. The county population is roughly 8,000, up from 7,467 in 2005 and 5,999 in the 2000 census, which itself was up 74% from the 1990 census. The county's beauty and wide open spaces are attracting significant growth.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
In 1882, when the first settlers came to Teton Valley it was part of Bingham County. In 1893 when much of Fremont County was created from Bingham, the southern part of Teton Valley (Victor area) remained in Bingham County while most of the valley became part of the new Fremont County. (See 1900 census note). Before 1910 the county line was adjusted and the Victor area also became part of Fremont County. In 1913 when Madison County was created from Fremont County, Teton Valley became part of Madison County. It was divided from Madison in January 1915.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Home Town Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have websites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Teton County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Teton County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Teton County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Driggs.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The county is organized into 6 cemetery districts which govern 8 cemeteries. Two of the districts have two cemeteries each. In addition, there is another cemetery located just across the border in Teton County Wyoming in which county residents have been buried. These 9 cemeteries are: Bates, Cache-Clawson, Cedron, Darby, Driggs, Felt, Haden, Victor (all in the county) and Pratt (in adjacent Teton county Wyoming).
Contact information for the cemeteries:
Bates - Kerry Buxton 208-354-2710; Cache-Clawson - Denny Thomas 208-456-2381; Darby & Driggs - Ronda Moss 208-354-2964; Haden - Dale Breckenridge 208-456-2652; Victor & Cedron - Carla Sherman 208-787-2445; Pratt - Jim Wilson 307-353-8116
All of the tombstones in these cemeteries were photographed by Jim Doman in 2006. They can be viewed at findagrave.com, an index to these photographs can be found at Valley of the Tetons Library in Victor, Idaho 208-787-2201, email@example.com, http://tetons.lili.org/.
For additional information about the cemeteries of Teton County that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Teton County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
Although census records can be searched by name, it is helpful to know where residents of Teton Valley, most of which became Teton County, were enumerated before the County was organized.
1900 - residents in the south part of Teton Valley (Victor area) were enumerated in Teton Precinct (District 17), Bingham County. Other residents were enumerated in (District 50) - Chapin Precinct, Haden Precinct, in Fremont County. Those living in the area now called Alta, Wyoming, (then called "Pratt Ward" at the mouth of Teton Canyon were enumerated in Teton District (District 65) Unita County, Wyoming.
1910 - residents of Teton Valley were enumerated in Bates, Cache, Chapin, Driggs, Haden, Leigh, Victor townships in Fremont County. Those living on the Wyoming side at the mouth of Teton Canyon were enumerated in Alta District (District 138), Unita County, Wyoming.
1920 - Teton, now a county, residents enumerated in Bates, Cache, Chapin, Clementsville, Driggs, Felt, Leigh, Richvale, Tetonia and Victor townships. Those on the Wyoming side were enumerated in Alta township, Lincoln County, Wyoming. By 1930 those in Wyoming were in Alta township, Teton County, Wyoming
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
- List of Teton County stakes and wards to about 1948.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Online County Records
- 1900-1988 Idaho, Teton County Records, 1900-1988 at FamilySearch — index and images
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Teton County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Teton County courthouse in Driggs, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Teton County that have been microfilmed include:
Register of Actions, 1924-1953; general index, 1921-1966 Idaho. County Court (Teton County)
Directories[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has in its collections copies of city, county, state and regional directories.
History[edit | edit source]
Benjamin Woodbury Driggs, History Of Teton Valley, Idaho, (Caldwell, ID: Caxton Priinters, 1926)
Benjamin Woodbury Driggs, edited by Louis J Clements & Harold S Forbush, History of Teton Valley, Idaho, (Rexburg, ID, Eastern Idaho Pub. Co., c 1970)
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Teton County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Driggs, Idaho.
At this point there do not seem to be microfilmed copies of any Land and Property records of Teton County by either the Idaho State Archives or the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- A digital Teton County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Teton County, Idaho is available online.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Teton County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452222) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Teton County. The originals are held in the Teton County courthouse in Driggs, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1892-1990 Idaho Naturalization Records, 1892-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
The original naturalization records of Teton County that have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise have been indexed in their Index to Naturalization.
Declaration of intent, 1916-1925; certificates of declaration of intent, 1911-1923 of naturalization/citizenship records in Teton County have been microfilmed by the Family History Library and are available for viewing in Salt Lake City or in any of its affiliate family history centers.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Current[edit | edit source]
Historical[edit | edit source]
Copies of issues of many Idaho newspapers are found in the collections of the Idaho State Archives.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1943-2013 Idaho, Southern Counties Obituaries, 1943-2013 at FamilySearch — index and images
Pension Records[edit | edit source]
Mothers' Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho for widows and/or orphans, under certain conditions. Petitions for those pensions were filed with the probate court in each county. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise, and have been indexed. Teton County Mothers' Pensions are included in that index.
Old Age Pensions were also provided by the State of Idaho from 1931 to 1936. The original records for these pensions in the Idaho State Archives have also been indexed. Teton County Old Age Pensions are included in that index.
Probate[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1857 – 1989 Idaho Wills and Probate Records 1857-1989 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Some probate records from Teton County have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Copies are available for viewing either in Salt Lake City or one of its affiliate family history centers.
The Idaho State Archives has also microfilmed Teton County probate records which can be viewed at their facility in Boise.
For any existing and more recent probate records, contact the Teton County courthouse in Driggs.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Teton County should be in the courthouse in Driggs and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in the Teton County area are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 Idaho, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1864-1976 Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Nearly 1100 marriages, 1915-1942, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1947-1963 Idaho Divorce Index, 1947-1963 at FamilySearch — index
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at Family Search — index and images
- 1938-1961 Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
Deaths occurring in Teton County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.
Deaths from other sources[edit | edit source]
A significant source of death and related information for eastern Idaho families can be found at the following website Eastern Idaho Death Index.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Valley Of The Tetons District
56 N Main
Victor, ID 83455
Phone: (208) 787-2201
- Valley Of The Tetons District
79 N Main St
Driggs, ID 83422
Phone: (208) 354-5522
- Teton Valley Historical Museum
137 N Highway 33
(208) 354- 6000
Museum includes artifacts donated by local families, organized into displays depicting scenes from the past.
- State Historical Society
2205 Old Penitentiary Rd
- Idaho Historical Society Facebook Page
- Idaho State Archives Digital Collections - Enter County in Search Bar
- The Idaho Welsh Society -- excellent cultural and historical site
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- David O McKay Library - an affiliate library
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Teton County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Teton County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Teton, Idaho Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/ida/teton/."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Teton County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Teton, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Teton County,Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Teton_County,_Idaho#Communities, accessed 15 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03