|Tennessee Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Federal Censuses[edit | edit source]
Population Schedules[edit | edit source]
Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.
Tennessee was admitted to the union as the 16th state on 1 June 1796. It was not included in censuses before that date.
United States Federal Censuses with Online Links[edit | edit source]
Non-Population Schedules for Tennessee[edit | edit source]
Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.
|Year||Type of Census||Links|
|1870||Social Statistics||at Ancestry|
|1860||Social Statistics||at Ancestry|
|1860||Slave owner||at Ancestry|
|1850||Social Statistics||at Ancestry|
|1850||Slave owner||at Ancestry|
|1820||Manufactures||at FamilySearch - Eastern District|
at FamilySearch - Western District
Existing and Lost Censuses[edit | edit source]
Online State and Territorial Censuses[edit | edit source]
State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.
Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.
Tennessee did not take a state census.
Other Census Images[edit | edit source]
- Tennessee, U.S., Enumeration of Male Voters, 1891($) - at Ancestry, index and images
- Census Records and Cherokee Muster Rolls - at FamilySearch, images
Indian Rolls[edit | edit source]
- 1848-1970 U.S., Eastern Cherokee Indian Reservation Rolls, 1848-1970 Ancestry - index and images ($)
Why Use the Census?[edit | edit source]
State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:
- Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
- Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
- Place of birth of this person
- Place of birth of Father of this person
- Place of birth of Mother of this person
- Period of Residence
- How long a resident of this State (years and months)
- How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
- Regular occupation
- Military service
Sources and footnotes[edit | edit source]