Syria Genealogy

Middle East

Syria

Guide to Syria ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Syria Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Research Strategies Record Finder Finding Town of Origin
Record Types
Church Records Civil Registration Colonial Records Compiled Genealogies Emigration & Immigration	Military Records Online Records Religious Records
Syria Background
Arabic Word List Gazetteers History	Jurisdictions Languages Maps Personal Names, Arabia Personal Names, Kurdish
Local Research Resources
Archives & Libraries Societies

Country Information

Syria is a country in the Middle East bordered by Lebanon, Turkey, Iraq, Jordan, and Israel. The official language is Arabic.

Syria was under Ottoman Empire rule from 1530-1919. To see information about records during those years, see Ottoman Empire Genealogy. The region was under French mandate from 1919-1946. In 1946, Syria declared independence and all citizens age 14 and older were required to carry a civil registration card.

Getting Started

Getting Started with Syria Research Links to articles on getting started with Syria research. Beginning Your Middle East Family Tree - FamilySearch Blog

Syria Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Syria research. Helpful websites Syria research tips. Most Common Surnames in Syria Article: How to do Syrian and Lebanese Research

Syria Online Genealogy Records

Ask the Community

Syria Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Syria. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

Map Color	Governorate Name	Districts
	Aleppo حلب	Mount Simeon, Afrin, Atarib, Ein Al Arab, Azaz, Al Bab, Deir Hafir, Jarablus, Manbij, Al Safirah
	Damascus دمشق	-
	Daraa درعا	Daraa, Izraa, Al Sanamayn
	Deir El-Zur دير الزور	Deir El-Zur, Abu Kamal, Mayadin
	Hama حماة	Hama, Masyaf, Muhardeh, Salamiyah, Al Suqaylebiah
	Al-Hasakah الحسكة	Al Hasakeh, Al Malikiyah, Qamishli, Ras Al Ein
	Homs حمص	Homs, Al Mukharram, Al Rastan, Al Qusayr, Tadmur (Palmyra), Taldu, Talkalakh
	Idlib إدلب	Idlib, Ariha (Jericho), Harem, Jisr El Shughur, Maarat El Numan
	Latakia اللاذقية	Latakia, Al Haffa, Jableh, Qardaha
	Quneitra القنيطرة	Quneitra, Fiq
	Raqqa الرقة	Al Raqqa, Tal Abyad, Al Thawra
	Rif Dimashq ريف دمشق	Rural Damascus, Daraya, Duma, Al Nabaq, Qatana, Qudsiya, Al Qutayfah, Al Tal, Yabrud, Al Zabadani
	Al-Suwayda السويداء	Al Suwayda, Salkhad, Shahba
	Tartus طرطوس	Tartus, Banias, Dreikish, Safita, Al Sheikh Badr

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

• Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research