Sussex County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sussex County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Sussex
Organized: 01 Feb 1754[1]
Parent County(s): Surry
Neighboring Counties
Dinwiddie  • Greensville  • Prince George  • Southampton  • Surry
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaSussexCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Sussex County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Sussex County is located in the Eastern region of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after Sussex County, England[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Sussex County Courthouse
15088 Courthouse Road
PO Box 1315
State Route 735
Sussex, VA 23884
Phone: 434-246-1096
Sussex County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth, marriage, probate, court and land records from 1754[3]

Sussex County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1754 1754 1853 1754 1754 1754 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Sussex County, Virginia was formed as the result of a law passed by the Virginia General Assembly in November, 1753. This created Sussex County from southwestern Surry County in 1754.

The county is named after the English county of Sussex.[8]

Sussex County, Virginia's county seat is Sussex, where county records were kept in the Dillard House, which was built in 1802, until a courthouse could be erected.

Early in its history, Sussex County was a part of the Anglican parish known as Albemarle Parish.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Sussex County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 10,549
1800 11,062 4.9%
1810 11,362 2.7%
1820 11,884 4.6%
1830 12,720 7.0%
1840 11,229 −11.7%
1850 9,820 −12.5%
1860 10,175 3.6%
1870 7,885 −22.5%
1880 10,062 27.6%
1890 11,100 10.3%
1900 12,082 8.8%
1910 13,664 13.1%
1920 12,834 −6.1%
1930 12,100 −5.7%
1940 12,485 3.2%
1950 12,785 2.4%
1960 12,411 −2.9%
1970 11,464 −7.6%
1980 10,874 −5.1%
1990 10,248 −5.8%
2000 12,504 22.0%
2010 12,087 −3.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1840

  • Evans, June Banks. Census of 1840, Sussex County, Virginia. New Orleans, Louisiana: Bryn Ffyliaid Publications, 1990. Available at FHL.

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. High Hills of Nottoway (1787)[9]
  2. Otterdam (by 1790)[10]
  3. Raccoon's Swamp (1772)[9][11]
  4. Sappony (by 1775)[9][12]
  5. Seacock (1787)[9]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Sussex County fell within the bounds of the Portsmouth Association.

Church of England
go to See also Albemarle Parish
Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Sussex County is available online.[13]

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Births, Deaths and Sponsors, 1717 - 1778 from the Albemarle Parish Register of Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore, MD: Clearfield, 1998. Available at FHL. Digital version at World Vital Records ($).
  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson, and Andrew Wilburn Hogwood. Albemarle Parish Vestry Book, 1742-1786, Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore: Clearfield, 2005.
  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Va.: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Stanton's Monthly Meeting (1760-1829)[14]

Friends from Sussex County, Virginia also attended the Blackwater Monthly Meeting in Surry County, Virginia.[15]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

  • Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of Sussex County.
  • 1865-1872 Virginia, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Deeds of Emancipation, Sussex County, Virginia, USGenWeb Archives
  • Doyle, Stuart. Roots Exposed: The lineage and interrelationships of 15 families from Virginia’s Sussex, Southampton and Greensville counties. Orlando, Fla. 2002. Roots Exposed
  • Heinegg, Paul. "Sussex County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • Johnson, Martha C. Black Families of Elizabeth City Co., VA, 1800-1990: Research of Families of Callis, Davis, Simpson, Radcliff, Originating from Gloucester Co., Mathews Co., York and James Counties and Elizabeth Co., Hampton, Virginia. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [Includes information about the Bassette family of Sussex County, Virginia.]
  • Judkins Family Association. The Judkins Journal. [Newsletter] 16 vols. plus supplement. Available at FHL.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Deeds

  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Sussex County, Virginia Deed Books A-E, 1754-March 1779. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1990. Available at FHL. WorldCat link.
  • Bradley, Stephen E. The Deeds of Sussex County, Virginia, 1779-1792. [Deed Books F and G] Keysville, Virginia: S.E. Bradley, 1993. Available at FHL.
  • Deeds, Sussex County, Virginia, USGenWeb Archives

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Hudgins. 798 patents dated 1701-1818 in what is now Sussex County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. 2004. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Virginia Writers' Program, Works Projects Administration, Sussex County: A Tale of Three Centuries. Richmond: Whittet & Shepperson, 1942. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Historic Residences

  • Stephenson, Mary A. Old Homes in Surry & Sussex. Richmond [Virginia]: Dietz Press, 1942. FHL Collection

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Emporia (Independent City)Greensville CountySouthampton CountySurry CountyPrince George CountyDinwiddie CountyVA SUSSEX.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Sussex County to other parts of the country.]

Early migration routes to and from Sussex County for European settlers included:[16]

Military Records[edit | edit source]


French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Westmoreland County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books (full-view). [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Sussex County, see p. 101.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Accomack County militia officers; see place name index.]


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Sussex County on page 133.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Sussex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Sussex County supplied soldiers for the:

- 4th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment (8th Company)[17]


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Sussex County, p. 105. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. Sussex County men served in the 15th Regiment.[18]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Sussex County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate).[19]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12th Months, 1861-62) (Confederate). Company D (Jackson's Avengers) and Company H (Sussex Light Dragoons).[20]
- 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Liberty Guards).[21]

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Sussex County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

  • Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.
  • Obituaries, Sussex County, Virginia, USGenWeb Archives

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • Family Bible Records of Lamb and Driver Families. MSS., Smithfield Branch of the Isle of Wight Library, Smithfield, Va. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1777 Tithables, 1777, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Jan 1985. Vol. 3 Iss. 2; online at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1782 Sussex County, Virginia 1782 Tax List: In order by surname; index online at Ray's Place - free.
  • 1782 1782 Sussex County, Virginia tax lists (USGenWeb Archives)
  • 1782 Personal property tax lists, 1782, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Apr 1988. Vol. 6 Iss. 2; Jul 1988. Vol. 6 Iss. 3; online at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1782-1818 Heinegg, Paul. "Sussex County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1818," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Sussex County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1789, 1799 Indexed images of the 1789 and 1799 Personal Property Tax Lists of Sussex County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1798, 1802 Removals from militia fines, 1798-1802, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Jul 1983. Vol. 1 Iss. 4; online at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Sussex County is included in Vol. 2.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Sussex County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Sussex County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Blackwater Regional LibraryWebsite

Sussex County, Virginia Historical SocietyWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Sussex County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Sussex County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):127-129. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://www.sussexcountyva.gov/page/about-sussex/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Sussex County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sussex_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 4 March 2020.
  8. Wikipedia Contributors, "Sussex County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sussex_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 442-443. Digital version at Google Books.
  10. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:492. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  11. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  12. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  13. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  14. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  15. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  16. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  17. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 72. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  18. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 204. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  19. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  20. Daniel T. Balfour, 13th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 26.
  21. Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.
  22. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).