Sussex, England Genealogy
|Sussex Wiki Topics|
Guide to Sussex ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
- This page is about the historic county in southeast England. For other uses, see Sussex (disambiguation).
County Information[edit | edit source]
Sussex is a former maritime county located in South East England and corresponding roughly in area to the ancient Kingdom of Sussex.
The county of Sussex is named for the South Saxons, in Old English, sūth + Seaxe. The expression Suth Seaxe is first recorded in the late 9th century. In the Domesday Book (1086) it is Sudsexe. ...The historic county of Sussex has been divided into East and West since the 12th century, and obtained separate county councils in 1888, but it remained a single ceremonial county until 1974 and the coming into force of the Local Government Act 1972.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U W Y
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Sussex.
Civil Districts[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- GENUKI: Sussex
- Online Genealogical Index
- GenWeb: Sussex pages of the British Isles GenWeb part of the World GenWeb Projects
- The Weald The history, genealogy and topography of the Weald of Kent, Surrey and Sussex
- Sussex+ RootsWeb Mailing List
- Sussex+ RootsWeb Mailing List Searchable Archives
- Cyndi's List for Sussex
- Sussex RootsWeb Message Board
- GenForum Message Board for Sussex
- RootsChat Sussex Forum
- British Genealogy Sussex Forum
- Sussex OPC Online Parish Clerks for the English counties of East and West Sussex.
|English Channel||English Channel||English Channel|