Surry County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Surry County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Surry
Organized: 1652[1]
Parent County(s): James City
Neighboring Counties
Charles City  • Isle of Wight  • James City  • Prince George  • Southampton  • Sussex
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaSurryCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Surry County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Surry County is located across the James River from the historic sites of Jamestown, Williamsburg, and Yorktown and is centrally located between the Commonwealth of Virginia's capital of Richmond and the Hampton Roads area of Norfolk and Virginia Beach. Surry was named for the English County of Surrey.[2][3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Surry County Courthouse
28 Colonial Trail, East
Surry, VA 23883
Phone: 757-294-3161
Surry County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1896 marriage records from 1768, probate and land records from 1652,court records from 1671 and divorce records[4]

Surry County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1768 1853 1671 1652 1652 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

The follow Surry County Courthouse records are missing:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county is named after the English county of Surrey.[9]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Gwaltney, Anne W. et al. Personal History Departments of Surry and Isle of Wight Counties, Virginia from Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia, Special Virginia Edition, c. 1884. 1884; reprint, 1993?. FHL Book 975.55 D3p.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Surry County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 6,227
1800 6,535 4.9%
1810 6,855 4.9%
1820 6,594 −3.8%
1830 7,109 7.8%
1840 6,480 −8.8%
1850 5,679 −12.4%
1860 6,133 8.0%
1870 5,585 −8.9%
1880 7,391 32.3%
1890 8,256 11.7%
1900 8,469 2.6%
1910 9,715 14.7%
1920 9,305 −4.2%
1930 7,096 −23.7%
1940 6,193 −12.7%
1950 6,220 0.4%
1960 6,220 0.0%
1970 5,882 −5.4%
1980 6,046 2.8%
1990 6,145 1.6%
2000 6,829 11.1%
2010 7,058 3.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1784 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Otter Dams (1791)[10]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Surry County fell within the bounds of the Portsmouth Association.

Church of England
go to See also Albemarle Parish
go to See also Lawnes Creek Parish
go to See also Southwark Parish
Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Surry County is available online.[11]

  • Bell, Landon Covington. Albemarle Parish. Richmond, Virginia: Self-published, 1950.
  • Boddie, John Bennett. Births, Deaths and Sponsors, 1717 - 1778 from the Albemarle Parish Register of Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1958, 1964. Reprint edition, Baltimore, MD: Clearfield, 1998. FHL Collection.
  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson, and Andrew Wilburn Hogwood. Albemarle Parish Vestry Book, 1742-1786, Surry and Sussex Counties, Virginia. Baltimore: Clearfield, 2005.
  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. FHL Collection; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  • Richards, Gertrude R.B. Register of Albemarle Parish, Surry and Sussex Counties, 1739-1778. Richmond, Virginia: National Society Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Virignia, 1958. Reprint edition, Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1984.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

Friends from Surry County, Virginia also attended the Chuckatuck Monthly Meeting in Nansemond County, Virginia.[15]

  • Brown, Jane Douglas Summers and Jones Memorial Library. Jane Douglas Summers Brown (1903-) Quaker Records: Jones Memorial Library (Lynchburg, Virginia); MS 1515. MSS, Jones Memorial Library, Lynchburg, Va. Available on 26 microfilms at FHL. [Includes records of Surry County Quakers; Brown assisted "William Wade Hinshaw in the writing of the Virginia volume of the Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy."]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

County Court

  • Davis, Eliza Timberlake. Surry County Records, Surry County, Virginia, 1652-1684. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1980.
  • Davis, Eliza Timberlake and Robert Barnes. Surry County Records. [1652-1684] 195-?; reprint, Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1995. Original edition available at FHL US/CAN Film 483733 Item 2; reprint available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5562 P2de; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes court, land, and probate records.]
  • Haun, Weynette Parks. Surry County, Virginia Court Records. Durham, North Carolina: Self-published, 1986.

Chancery Court

  • Library of Virginia's Chancery Court Index for Surry County includes scanned images for records 1785-1922, the majority of which fall between 1806-1917.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. "Some Surry County, Virginia, Colonists, 1678-1705," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1979):255-258. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [Arrival lists of indentured servants who appear in Surry County Court Order Books.]
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Surry County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Native Americans
The Powchay-icks Tribe and the Weyenoakes Tribe lived in the area in the late 1600s.[16]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Southside Virginia Families. 2 vols. 1955-1956; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1976. FHL Book 975.5 D2bs 1976-1996 v. 1-v. 2.
  • Chapman, Blanche Adams. Genealogy of Selina Jones Grandy (Mrs. William Boswell Selden Grandy) "Selden Hall" Virginia Beach, Virginia. Typescript. Library of Virginia. Microfilmed 1954: FHL Film 823 This collection covers families of Isle of Wight and Surry counties, Virginia.
  • Foley, Louise Pledge Heath. Early Virginia Families Along the James River: Their Deep Roots and Tangled Branches. 3 vols. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1980. FHL Book 975.5 R2f v. 3 Volume 3 covers Surry County.
  • Gwaltney, Anne W. and H.H. Hardesty. Personal History Departments of Surry and Isle of Wight counties, Virginia from Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia, Special Virginia Edition, c.. 1884. 1884. Reprint: FHL Book 975.55 D3p; another reprint: FHL Film 1753002 Item 13; another reprint: FHL Film 1753002 Item 16
  • Lawrence-Dow, Elizabeth. Autographs of 65 Gentlemen Justices, Militia Officers and Members of the Grand Jury from Charles City/Prince George and Surry counties Who Signed an Oath of Loyalty to Protestant King William III of England in March 1701/2. Richmond, Va.: Dietz Press, 1976. FHL Book 975.5 P4L. [Includes biographies of Charles City County men.]
  • Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD-ROM. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Free online index, courtesy: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. [Includes a great deal of information about residents of Surry County, see discussion of cited sources.] FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 3887.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Deeds

  • Davis, Eliza Timberlake and Robert Barnes. Surry County Records. [1652-1684] 195-?; reprint, Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1995. Original edition: FHL US/CAN Film 483733 Item 2; reprint: FHL US/CAN Book 975.5562 P2de; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes court, land, and probate records.
  • Hart, Lyndon H. III. Surry County, Virginia, Wills, Estate Accounts, and Inventories, 1730-1900. Easley, S.C.: Southern Historical Press, 1983.
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Surry County, Virginia Deeds, 1684-1733. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Co., 1994.
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Surry County, Virginia Deeds and Expense Accounts, 1757-1786. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Co., 1995.

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • Hudgins. 592 patents dated 1619-1788 in what is now Surry County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. 2001. Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.
  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes Surry County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.

Quit Rent Rolls

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Colonial Surry. Richmond, Virginia: Dietz Press, 1948. Reprint edition, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Company, 1966.
  • Lawrence-Dow, Elizabeth. Autographs of 65 Gentlemen Justices, Militia Officers and Members of the Grand Jury from Charles City, Prince George and Surry Counties Who Signed an Oath of Loyalty to Protestant King William III of England in March 1701/2. Richmond, Virginia: Dietz Press, 1976.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Charles City CountyJames City CountyIsle of Wight CountySouthampton CountySussex CountyPrince George CountyVA SURRY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. Identifies some Surry County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Surry County, see p. 101.
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some Surry County militia officers and soldiers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Surry County on page 133.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Surry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Surry County supplied soldiers for the:

- 4th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Surry County, p. 105. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Regiments. Surry County men served in the 71st Regiment.[17]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Surry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Surry Light Artillery).[18]
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate).[19]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12th Months, 1861-62) (Confederate). Company G (The Surry Cavalry) and Company K.[20]
- 37th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Dunn's Battalion, Partisan Rangers) (Confederate). Company F; men possibly recruited in Surry County, North Carolina.[21]


World War I


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Probate Records

  • 1652-1850 Library of Virginia, Index to Wills and Administrations, can be searched online for Surry County, Virginia, 1652-1850.
  • 1652-1684 Davis, Eliza Timberlake and Robert Barnes. Surry County Records. [1652-1684] 195-?; reprint, Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1995. Original edition available at FHL US/CAN Film 483733 Item 2; reprint available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5562 P2de; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes court, land, and probate records.
  • 1671-1750 Davis, Eliza Timberlake. Wills and Administrations of Surry County, Virginia, 1671 - 1750. [Smithfield, VA: s.n.], c1955. Available FHL US/CAN Book 975.5562 P2d, and FHL US/CAN Film 928168 Item 2, Reprint FHL US/CAN Book 975.5562 P2d 1980; digital version at MyHeritage ($).
  • 1730-1900 Hart, Lyndon H. III. Surry County, Virginia, Wills, Estate Accounts, and Inventories, 1730-1900. Easley, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 1983.
  • 1757-1786 Hopkins, William Lindsay. Surry County, Virginia Deeds and Expense Accounts, 1757-1786. Athens, GA: Iberian Publishing Co., 1995.
  • 1759-1844 Livingston, Virginia Pope. "Unrecorded Wills of Surry County, Virginia, 1759-1844," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1969):51-55. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1800-1852 Alphabetical Listing of Surry County, Virginia, Wills and Administrations, 1800 through 22 March 1852 (the end of Will Book 1845-52) at VAGenWeb
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. Available at FHL. Includes Surry County.

London Courts

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1668 "Census of Tithables in Surry County in the Year 1668," William and Mary College Quarterly, 1st Series, Vol. 8 (1900):160-164. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1668 Alphabetical List of Surry County Tithables taken 10 June 1668 in Southwarke Parish at VAGenWeb
  • 1668-1703 Surry County Tax Payers 1668-1703 at VAGenWeb
  • 1668-1703 MacDonald, Edgar and Richard Slatten. Surry County (Virginia) Tithables, 1668-1703. Baltimore, Maryland: Clearfield, 2007. Available at FHL.
  • 1668-1670 Tithables, 1668, 1669, 1670, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Feb 1984. Vol. 22 Iss. 1.
  • 1673 Annual co. levy, unlawful assembly, advices, 1673, Colonial Williamsburg. Williamsburg VA: Spring 2003. Vol. 25 Iss. 1.
  • 1673-1675 Tithables, 1673, 1674, 1675, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: May 1984. Vol. 22 Iss. 2.
  • 1677-1679 Tithables, 1677, 1678, 1679, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Aug 1984. Vol. 22 Iss. 3.
  • 1678 Alphabetical List of Surry County Tithables taken 7 June 1678 from Sunken Marsh to the upper end of Surry County at VAGenWeb
  • 1680-1682 Tithables, 1680, 1681, 1682, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Nov 1984. Vol. 22 Iss. 4.
  • 1683-1685 Tithables, 1683, 1684, 1685, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Feb 1985. Vol. 23 Iss. 1.
  • 1686-1688 Tithables, 1686, 1687, 1688, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: May 1985. Vol. 23 Iss. 2.
  • 1689-1691 Tithables, 1689, 1690, 1691, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Aug 1985. Vol. 23 Iss. 3.
  • 1692-1694 Tithables, 1692, 1693, 1694, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Nov 1985. Vol. 23 Iss. 4.
  • 1695-1697 Tithables, 1695, 1696, 1697, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Feb 1986. Vol. 24 Iss. 1.
  • 1698-1700 Tithables, 1698, 1699, 1700, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: May 1986. Vol. 24 Iss. 2.
  • 1701-1703 Tithables, 1701, 1702, 1703, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Aug 1986. Vol. 24 Iss. 3.
  • 1704 "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). Surry County appears in 29:18-28.
  • 1782-1841 Partial Tax Records for Surry County, VA from 1782 to 1841 - free.
  • 1782-1821 Heinegg, Paul. "Surry County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1816," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Surry County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1790, 1800 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Surry County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1790, 1799 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1799 Land Tax Lists of Surry County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Surry County is included in Vol. 3.
  • 1849 Free Persons of Surry County, Virginia in 1849 is a transcription of free African-Americans eligible to be taxed, found on a personal property tax list for Surry County 1849-1850, on microfilm at the Library of Virginia.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Surry County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Surry County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Blackwater Regional Library
Website

Surry County, Virginia Historical Society
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Surry County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Surry County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1979):125-127. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://www.surrycountyva.gov/299/History
  3. http://surrycountytourism.com/
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Newberry
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Surry County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surry_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 4 March 2020.
  9. Wikipedia Contributors, "Surry County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Surry_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  10. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 442-443. Digital version at Google Books.
  11. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  12. 12.0 12.1 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  13. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  14. William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
  15. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  16. Charles Campbell, History of the Colony and Ancient Dominion of Virginia (Philadelphia, Pa.: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1860), 267-268. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  17. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 202. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  18. Lee A. Wallace, 3rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 22.
  19. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  20. Daniel T. Balfour, 13th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 26.
  21. J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.