Guide to Suriname ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Suriname Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Suriname is a country in South America bordered by French Guiana, Guyana, and Brazil. It was formerly known as Nederlands Guyana, Netherlands Guiana, and Dutch Guiana. The official language is Dutch.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Suriname Research
Links to articles on getting started with Suriname research.
Suriname Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Suriname research.
Suriname Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the district level in Suriname.
Districts[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the district level in Suriname. Click on a district below to go to the district Wiki article listing more information.
Suriname is divided into 10 districts (distrikten).
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Suriname," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suriname, accessed 21 April 2016.