Sumter County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sumter County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Sumter
Organized: April 16, 1868[1]
Parent County(s): Sumter District extinct[2]
Neighboring Counties
Calhoun  • Clarendon  • Florence  • Kershaw  • Lee  • Richland
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Sumter County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-sumter.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Thomas Sumter. The County is located in the central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Sumter County Courthouse
215 North Harvin Street
Sumter, SC 29150
Phone: 803-436-2227
Sumter County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[4]

Sumter County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1795 1801 1774 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Sumter suffered a major loss of probate records and deeds, on 27 November 1801, when fire destroyed the residence of Sumter District Clerk of Court John Horan, in Stateburg. This fire also consumed the records of Clarendon, Claremont, and Salem counties.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Sumter County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 3,571
1810 19,054 433.6%
1820 25,369 33.1%
1830 28,277 11.5%
1840 27,892 −1.4%
1850 33,220 19.1%
1860 23,859 −28.2%
1870 25,268 5.9%
1880 37,037 46.6%
1890 43,605 17.7%
1900 51,237 17.5%
1910 38,472 −24.9%
1920 43,040 11.9%
1930 45,902 6.6%
1940 52,463 14.3%
1950 57,634 9.9%
1960 74,941 30.0%
1970 79,425 6.0%
1980 88,243 11.1%
1990 102,637 16.3%
2000 104,646 2.0%
2010 107,456 2.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1820 Manufactures
The original manufactures schedules for South Carolina are kept at the NARA, Washington, D.C. FHL copies: FHL Collection 1024517 - 1024518.

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840; FHL Collection 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Sumter District on page 142.

1850

  • Teel, Dorothy Owens and Three Rivers Historical Society. 1850 Census, Sumter District, South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: n.p., 1983. FHL Collection 975.769 X2t 1850

1860

  • Teel, Dorothy Owens and Three Rivers Historical Society. 1860 Census, Sumter District, South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: n.p., 1983. FHL Collection 975.769 X2t 1860

1870

  • Hughes, Nancy Phillips. 1870 Census Sumter County, South Carolina. Sumter, S.C.: Sumter County Genealogical Society, 1997. FHL Collection 975.769 X2h 1870

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church of England
See also St. Mark's Parish.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • Sumter

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Sumter County has court records from 1795 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. Sumter County was formed from Clarendon, Claremont and Salem Counties in 1800 and was a part of the Camden District from 1785 - 1800. The records of the Camden District courts are housed in Kershaw County with the Clerk of Court.There was a record loss in 1801 which destroyed records of Clarendon and Old Claremont Counties. The records are fragmented. The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Sumter County. The Family History Library collection includes books and microfilm regarding court records for Sumter County.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
Gotoarrow.pngSumter County, South Carolina African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Andrews] Andrews, Robert W. The Life and Adventures of Capt. Robert W. Andrews, of Sumter, South Carolina: Extending Over a Period of 97 Years Replete with Startling Situations and Interesting Incidents. Together with Reminiscences of the War of 1812, and the Recent Unpleasantness Between the North and South. Boston: E.P. Whitcomb, 1887. FHL 6082606
  • [Atkinson] Andrea, Leonardo. "Folder No. 25. James Atkinson of Sumter Co.," Genealogical Folders in the Leonardo Andrea Collection. MSS. Microfilmed 1974. FHL Film 954525.
  • [Birchmore] Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Birchmore Families of Sumter County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 1996. FHL 2055408 Item 5
  • [Bradford] Gottschalk, Kathrine Cox. Descendants of John Bradford, Sr. of Sumter District, South Carolina. Typescript, microfilmed 1976. FHL 929.273 B727g
  • [Brunson] Brunson, Ray D. and Jean Brunson. Brunson Descendants of John and Hannah Brownson of South Carolina Notes on Brunsons of St. Mark's Parish/Old Sumter District, South Carolina, Brunsons from South Carolina to Other States, the Sons of John and Hannah Brownson. Lafayette, La.: R. & J. Brunson, 1991. FHL 929.273 B838brj
  • [Coker] Thigpen, Cynthia Jones. "Thomas Coker of Wilcox County, Alabama," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 33, No. 1 (Winter 2005):19-27. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 33
  • [Compton] Thomas Heflin. A Record of the Brunson-Capps-Tisdale & Johnson Families of Crenshaw County, Alabama. Inverness, Fla.: T.H. Compton, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 B838c. Treats several Sumter County families
  • [Cooper] Andrea, Leonardo. Cooper. Typescript, National Library, D.A.R. Microfilmed 1971. FHL Film 873024 Item 10.
  • [DuBose] Paunov, Catherine Pennington. "Captain David DuBose," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 29, No. 2 (Spring 2001):72-78. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 29
  • [Durant] Andrea, Leonardo. Durant. Typescript, Polk County Historical Library, Bartow, Fla. Microfilmed 1975: FHL Film 978080 Item 2.
  • [Fullwood] Fullwood, Michael D. The Fullwood Family Being a Genealogy of the Fullwood Family in the United States and Its English Antecedents and the Pedigree of the Author Including All Collateral Families. Ancram, N.Y.: M.D. Fullwood, 1992. FHL Book 929.273 F959fmd.
  • [Geddings] Record Book of Edward Geddings of Privateer and Sumter, South Carolina and His Descendants Geddings, McLeod, Jennings, Parker, Pritchard, Turner and Treasure. MSS., microfilmed 1975. FHL 928039 Item 14
  • [Guignard], Arney R. Planters and Business Men: The Guignard Family of South Carolina, 1795-1930. Columbia, S.C.: University of South Carolina Press, 1957. FHL Book 929.273 G942c.
  • [Haynsworth] Haynsworth, Hugh Charles. Haynsworth-Furman and Allied Families (Including Ancestry and Descendants of Sarah Morse Haynsworth). Sumter, S.C.: Osteen Publishing Co., 1942. FHL Book 929.273 H334h.
  • [Holloman] McCaskill, Ollie Andrew and Dixie Miller McCaskill. The Holloman Genealogy of North and South Carolina, 1811-1983. Irmo, S.C.: A. & D. McCaskill, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 H727m.
  • [Houston] Glenn, Thomas Allen. William Churchill Houston, 1746-1788 ... Norristown, Pa.: T.A. Glenn, 1903. FHL Film 1760317.
  • [Jones] Terrar, Edward. Family History Information About Charles H. Jones (1833-1895) and Elizabeth Margaret David Jones (1831-1887) and Related Watts/David/Stafford/Macon/Brown/Benson Families in Sumter County, South Carolina. Silver Spring, Md.: E. Terrar, 1988. FHL 929.273 J712t
  • [Kelley] Kelley, Mary Sutherland. Simon Kelley Sr. 1787-1852 and Descendants. Spartanburg, S.C.: Reprint Company Publishers, 2006. FHL Book 929.273 K287km.
  • [Lee] Lee, Richard D. Lees, Whites, McCords and Doziers. Typescript, 1901. FHL Fiche 6018484.
  • [Locklair] Brown, Gerald D. A Genealogy of a Locklair Family Mainly of the Old Sumter District of South Carolina - Present Day Sumter and Lee Counties. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL 929.273 L812b
  • [McKenzie] Brown, Gerald D. Descendants of Daniel and Rebecca McKenzie Old Williamsburg/Sumter Districts of South Carolina. Hemingway, S.C.: Three Rivers Historical Society, 1995. FHL 929.273 M199b
  • [Mellett] Mellett Family Records. MSS. FHL Film 835121 Item 2.
  • [Pettypool] Hartsough, Carolyn S. "The William Pettypool Family of Southside Virginia: Lineage Reconstruction Based on Current Review of Evidence," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 47, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 2003):57-75; Vol. 47, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 2003):139-146. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($); FHL Book 975.5 B2vg.
  • [Player] Player, Hubert E. Player Genealogical Records, 1759-1974. MSS. Microfilmed 1979: FHL Film 1036346 Item 1.
  • [Prescott] Prescott, Adell Taylor. The Ancestors and Descendants of Benjamin Prescott of North Carolina and Sumter District, South Carolina Born ca.1752, Died Prior to 1830. Greenville, N.C.: A.T. Prescott, 1980. FHL 929.273 P921pb
  • [Vaughan] Vaughan, Terry. Bloodgames: The Story of the Vaughans, a Southern Family, and Its Neighbors. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 V465vt.
  • [Watts] True, Charles Wesley. Alexander McIntosh Watts & Martha Dandridge Spann. Hamilton, Texas: C.W. True, 1997. FHL Book 929.273 W349t.
  • [Welch] Welch, Brian E. Welch Records in Sumter District and Other Areas of South Carolina. Columbia, S.C.: B.E. Welch, 1995. FHL 929.273 W442wb
  • [West] Scott, Karen West. Genealogy and Family History of the William Nelson West (1775-1846) Family. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 W52sk.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification.All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Sumter County with Parent Counties and Districts [9]
Date Government Office
1868-Present Sumter County
1801-1868 Sumter District
1800-1801 Sumter District Records Lost*
1792-1800 Salem County Records Lost*
1785-1800 Claremont County Records Lost*
1785-1800 Claredon County Records Lost*
1769-1785 Camden District
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
*Sumter District records destroyed by fire 27 Nov 1801

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

GenThomasSumter.jpg|thumb|right|General Thomas Sumter (1734-1832) The county is named after General Thomas Sumter (1734-1832).[10]

  • Gregorie, Anne King. History of Sumter County, South Carolina. Sumter, S.C.: Library Board of Sumter County, 1954. FHL Collection 975.769 H2g.
Review:
  1. by Jack Kenny Williams in The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 56, No. 1 (Jan. 1955):56-57. Digital version at JSTOR ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Kershaw CountyLee CountyFlorence CountyClarendon CountyCalhoun CountyRichland CountySC SUMTER.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Sumter County for European settlers included:[11]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • "Jasper Redden McCoy, Revolution, Scapo Swamp exploit legend, SC," Periodical Bay Area Genealogical Society Newsletter, February 2005, Volume 4, Issue 6. Bay Area Genealogical Society: Houston, TX.
  • "Pensioners census, 1840," Sumter Black River Watchman, October 2003, Volume 19, Issue 7. Sumter County Genealogical Society: Sumter, SC.
  • "Adam Cusack execution, 1780," Sumter Black River Watchman, September 2002, Issue 6. Sumter County Genealogical Society: Sumter, SC.
  • "Loyalists," Sumter Black River Watchman, March 2000. Sumter County Genealogical Society: Sumter, SC

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Sumter County, p. 189. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Sumter County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Sumter County or from many of its men:

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers) and Company B (also known as the Sumter Guards)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Artillery, Company D
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (2nd Palmetto Regiment), Company D (also known as Sumter Guards and Sumter Volunteers)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company C (also known as the Wilson Light Artillery, Culpepper's Light Artillery and Culpeper Battery), Company E (also known as the Yeadon Light Artillery), Company G (also known as the DeSaussure Light Artillery and the DePass Light Battery), and Company K (also known as Richardson's Company)
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina State Troops, Company I
- 5th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Ferguson's), Company H
- 5th Battalion, South Carolina Reserves (Brown's), Company B
- 6th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Byrd's), Company B and Company C
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company H and Company I
- 7th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (Nelson's) (Enfield Rifles), Company E
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company D, Company F, Company H, and Company I
- 8th Regiment, South Carolina Reserves
- 9th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D and Company F
- 14th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- 19th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company D and Company E
- 20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company A and Reorganized Company G
- 23rd Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Hatch's Coast Rangers), Company K
- Garden's Company, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Light Battery)

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Sumpter County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Current

For a history of Sumter newspaper presses, see:

  • Stubbs, Thomas McAlpin. "The Fourth Estate of Sumter South Carolina," The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 54, No. 4 (Oct. 1953):185-200. Digital version at JSTOR ($).

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

  • The South Carolina Historical Magazine
  • Sumter Black River Watchman FHL Collection

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History hasmicrofilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name and the image is available. Estate records for Sumter County from 1800 to 1963 also available on microfilm. Search for probate records for Sumter County in the court of ordinary, the probate court, and the court of equity. Some estate records for the probate court are also available on microfilm through the Family History Library, including some miscellaneous estate records, 1784-1960. FHL Film 216930

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Sumter County.
  • The tax evaluation treasurer's report for district 17, dated 1960 to 1961 survives. Copies: FHL Film 355726.
  • State Equity Records, 1784, Sumter Black River Watchman (Feb. 2001).

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Online Marriage Records and Indexes

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Sumter County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Sumter County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Sumter County Library System
Website
The Sumpter County Library system consists of a main library in downtown Sumpter, two branches, and a bookmobile.

Downtown - Main Library
Address:
111 North Harvin Street
Sumter, South Carolina 2915Website
Telephone: 803.773.7273
Fax: 803.773.4875
Hours: Monday - Tuesday 9:00 am - 8:00 pm, Wednesday - Saturday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm, Sunday 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm
The South Carolina Room of the Downtown Library contains over 2500 items pertaining to the history, culture and government of South Carolina. Items of particular interest are histories of Sumter County and works of non-fiction, prose and poetry by current and former Sumter County and area residents. The room is available all hours the Downtown branch is open. Visit the Reference Desk for access.

Westmark Branch
Address:

180 W Westmark Blvd
Sumter, South Carolina 29150
Telephone: 803.469.8110
Fax: 803.469.8347
Hours: Monday - Tuesday 9:00 am - 8:00 pm, Wednesday - Saturday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm, Sunday 2:00 pm - 6:00 pm

South Sumter Branch
Address:

337 Manning Avenue
Sumter, S.C. 29150
Telephone: 803.775.7132 (voice and fax)
Hours: Monday - Friday 10:00 am - 6:00 pm

Museums[edit | edit source]

Sumter County Museum Complex
Website

The Sumter County Museum is a private non-profit institution whose mission is to promote the history of Old Sumter District through the preservation and exhibition of objects, manuscripts, and documents, which relate the story of this area of South Carolina. The museum campus includes the Williams-Brice House (1916), the Heritage Education Center (2003) and the Carolina Backcountry Homestead.
Sumter County Museum
Address:
122 North Washington Street
P.O. Box 1456
Sumter, South Carolina 29151-1456
Telephone: 803-775-0908
Hours:Website

The Museum's Archives houses records related to the history of the old Sumter District (present day Sumter, Lee, and Clarendon counties) and, after 1868, Sumter County. Records include over 30,000 photographic images, postcards, personal letters, scrapbooks, business records, plats, and maps. The Archive is also home to W. A. "Mayor Bubba" McElveen's Archive and the papers of historian Myrtis Ginn Osteen.
Housed in the Heritage Education Center at the museum, the Archive is accessible by appointment only. To make an appointment, call the museum is 803-775-0908. The physical address of the museum is the same as above.
Email the archivist at krichardson@sumtercountymuseum.org

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Sumter County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 28 December 2021.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 28 December 2021.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Sumter, South Carolina," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sumter_County,_South_Carolina. accessed 15/07/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sumter County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Sumter County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sumter_County,_South_Carolina, accessed DATE.
  9. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  10. "List of counties in South Carolina," Wikipedia.
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat entry., and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the Early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat entry.
  12. Sumter County (South Carolina), County Court Clerk, Sumter County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950; Indexes, 1911-1967, Salt Lake City, UT: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 2000.