Sullivan County, New Hampshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sullivan County, New Hampshire ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Newport
Organized: July 5, 1827
Parent County(s): Cheshire
Neighboring Counties
Cheshire  • Grafton  • Hillsborough  • Merrimack  • Windham (VT)  • Windsor (VT)
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Hampshire, Sullivan County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nh-sullivan.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Sullivan County is located in the southwest region of the state. The county was named for John Sullivan. an Irish-American General in the Revolutionary War, a delegate in the Continental Congress, Governor of New Hampshire and a United States federal judge.

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Sullivan County Courthouse
22 Main Street
Newport, NH 03773-0045
Phone: 855-212-1234
Sullivan County Website

The Town or City Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records.
The Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1827.
The Register of Probate has probate records.
The Register of Deeds has land records. The Richards Library, in Newport, New Hampshire has other records of genealogical interest.[1]

Sullivan County, New Hampshire Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[2]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1827 1827 1827 1827 1827 1827 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1866. General compliance by 1901.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1827 Early deeds were damaged by fire. A separate series of “burned deeds,” consisting of copies of surviving portions of the burned volumes with a separate index, is at the registry.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

New HampshireVermontSullivan CountyGrafton CountyMerrimack CountyHillsborough CountyCheshire CountyWindham CountyWindsor CountyPlainfieldGranthamSpringfieldCornishCroydonSunapeeNewportClaremontCharlestownUnityGoshenWashingtonLempsterAcworthLangdonWalpoleAlsteadMarlowStoddardAntrimDeeringWindsorHillsboroughHennikerBradfordWarnerNewburySuttonNew LondonWilmotDanburyGraftonAlexandriaOrangeGrotonDorchesterCanaanEnfieldLabanonHanoverWestminsterRockinghamSpringfieldWeathersfieldWindsorWest WindsorHartlandWoodstockHartfordPomfretNorwich
Modern town borders in Sullivan County, New Hampshire.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


Towns Organized Before 1800:

  • Acworth 1766
  • Charlestown 1753
  • Claremont 1764
  • Cornish 1763
  • Croydon 1763
  • Goshen 1791
  • Grantham 1761
  • Langdon 1787
  • Lempster 1761
  • Newport 1761
  • Plainfield 1761
  • Springfield 1794
  • Unity 1764
  • Washington 1776
  • Wendell 1731

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

There are books or films with biographies, genealogies, and vital records for the towns and cities of Sullivan County. The Family History Library has books or films with genealogical sections for: Acworth, Claremont, Charlestown, Cornish, Goshen, Langdon, Lempster, Newport, Plainfield, Unity, and Washington. Please see the FamilySearch Catalog for the town, and look under the headings Genealogy and History.

For Grantham and Sunapee for which the Family History Library does not have a genealogical book, the Library has films with very good vital records (birth, marriage, and death records) . For Croydon, there is a Centennial Celebration history book published in 1867 with some information on leading figures in the community to 1866.

A very good place to contact for biographies and family histories in Sullivan County is the Newport Historical Society, 20 Central St., P. O. Box 413, Newport, NH 03773, tel. 603-863-1294, e-mail, newporths1761@gmail.com. They have a good number of local histories, and a good amount of family history information.

Another good place to contact for biographical information is the Historical Society of Cheshire County, in Keene, New Hampshire. They have town histories, family histories, biographical manuscripts, photographs, city directories, newspapers, business records, and other biographical information. The New Hampshire Historical Society in Concord, New Hampshire is a good source for similar materials.

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Sullivan County, New Hampshire online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Hampshire Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 19,669
1840 20,340 3.4%
1850 19,375 −4.7%
1860 19,041 −1.7%
1870 18,058 −5.2%
1880 18,161 0.6%
1890 17,304 −4.7%
1900 18,009 4.1%
1910 19,337 7.4%
1920 20,922 8.2%
1930 24,286 16.1%
1940 25,442 4.8%
1950 26,441 3.9%
1960 28,067 6.1%
1970 30,949 10.3%
1980 36,063 16.5%
1990 38,592 7.0%
2000 40,458 4.8%
2010 43,742 8.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Hampshire denominations, view the New Hampshire Church Records Wiki page. For tips on how to determine denomination, view the New Hampshire Research Tips and Strategies Wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

For Sullivan County there are many excellent town histories. Many have a genealogical section.The Family History Library has history books or films with genealogical sections for: Acworth, Claremont, Charlestown, Cornish, Goshen, Langdon, Lempster, Newport, Plainfield, Unity, and Washington. In the Family History Library Catalog, go to the town, then look for the heading Genealogy or History. Many of the books are on microfilm or available online.
Many other historical societies and libraries will very likely also have these books.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See New Hampshire Land and Property for additional information about early New Hampshire land grants. A

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Hampshire Local Histories.

Early-1885: The Family History Library of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints has many local history books about Sullivan County and the towns in the county. Several of the books can be read online through familysearch.org. For example, the History of Cheshire and Sullivan Counties, New Hampshire, by D. Hamilton Hurd, published in 1886 (FHL book 974.2 H2h, film 962,933). This has histories of each town from early settlement to about 1885. You can search for names or keywords. There is also a separate index on the internet.

1766-1878: The book History of the Town of Cornish, New Hampshire is available online, and The History of Newport, New Hampshire, from 1766 to 1878, with a Genealogical Register can be seen online.

The Newport Historical Society and other town historical societies are good places to contact for local history for Sullivan County. See the Internet site of the New Hampshire History Network for contact information for historical societies.

The New Hampshire State Library in Concord, New Hampshire has a vast collection of books about New Hampshire towns and counties. Check their internet catalog for a town of interest.

The New Hampshire Historical Society also in Concord has a very large collection of local history books and other publications.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Cheshire CountyHillsborough CountyMerrimack CountyGrafton CountyWindsor CountyWindham CountyNH SULLIVAN.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


For historical publications and online resources for the state, see the pages: New Hampshire Maps and New Hampshire Gazetteers.

1890: An interesting help for 1890 is the Town and City Atlas of the State of New Hampshire, published in 1892 in Boston by the D. H. Hurd Company. The atlas has maps for almost every city, town, and village in New Hampshire. The maps show the locations of homes, and the map gives the name of the person living in the home. The above web site is from the University of New Hampshire Library.

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

Potter, Chandler Eastman, The Military History of the State of New Hampshire. Concord, N.H.: McFarland and Jenks, 1866. (Family History Library film 1033664; fiche 6046858.) You can search this book online by going to google.com. Look for ancestry.com as the internet way to search this book. This history comprises events from the first settlements in New Hampshire to the rebellion in 1861. It includes biographical notices of many of the officers and explanatory notes.

Fortunately the History of Cheshire and Sullivan Counties, New Hampshire is available online through familysearch.org. This was written by D. Hamilton Hurd, and published in 1886 (FHL book 974.2 H2h, film 962,933). There is a history of each town with names of soldiers who served from that town in the Revolutionary War. There is also background information about activities surrounding the war.

The most complete listing of New Hampshire Revolutionary War soldiers is found in volumes 14-17 of the New Hampshire State Papers. You can go to google.com, and look forNew Hampshire State Papers with the link to ancestry.com. There you will find a name index to voloumes 14-17, then you can go to the needed volume and page for information on the soldier. Often the place of residence is given.

War of 1812
Hurd's History of Cheshire and Sullivan Counties, New Hampshire, mentioned above, is available online, and lists soldiers in the various towns who served in the War of 1812. Find the history of the town where the soldier lived and look in the military history section.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Sullivan County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Sullivan County.

- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies D and K.
- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Cavalry, Troops A, F, G, I, and L.
- 1st Regiment, New Hampshire Heavy Artillery, Companies A, B, and H.
- 2nd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies H and I.
- 3rd Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A and F.
- 5th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies E and G.
- 6th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies F and G.
- 9th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company D.
- 11th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company F.
- 14th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies B and I.
- 15th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Company F.
- 16th Regiment, New Hampshire Infantry, Companies A, F, and I.
- New Hampshire Sharpshooters, 1st Company E

World War I

World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

  • 1827-1906: Many of the Sullivan County naturalization records for 1827-1906 have been transferred to the New Hampshire State Archives. See this link for a list of what is at the State Archives. Naturalization records since 1906 may very well be at the courthouse.
  • 1838-1903: Naturalization index, 1838 to approxamatley 1903.
  • 1838-1903: Naturalization records of the various courts, 1838-1903.
  • 1906-1993 New Hampshire, United States Naturalization Records, 1906-1993 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index and images

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

The oldest newspaper for the Sullivan County region is the Keene Sentinel, published since 1799. The offices are at 60 West St., Keene, NH 03431, tel. 603-352-1234, e-mail classified@keenesentinel.com. The web site is sentinelsource.com. See the Newspaper section for Cheshire County in the wiki for information on indexes to the Keene Sentinel.

Over the years various newspapers have been published in Sullivan County, for example for the Newport region, the New Hampshire Argus, 1834-1835. The name has changed many times, and today there is the Argus Champion. For the Claremont region there is the Claremont Eagle Times, and the Claremont Courier.

To learn more about early newspapers published in Sullivan County cities and towns, see the United States portion of the wiki, under the heading Newspapers. For example see Winifred Gregory's book American Newspapers, 1821-1936, published in 1937, reprinted in 1967 (FHL Ref Q book 970 B33a 1967, film 483713).

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In most counties in New Hampshire, probate records have been kept by the county. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Online Probate Indexes and Records

The Family History Library has films of Sullivan County probate records. The follow records can be viewed at the library: 1827-1864: probate index for wills 1827-1864 1856-1914, 1858-1922, to 1947: probate index for wills 1856-1914, and admistrations abt. 1858 to 1922, some other records to 1947.

1827-1864, 1827-1855, 1827-1902: records of wills 1827-1864, administrations 1827-1855, and other records 1827-1902.

1856-1914, 1858-1922, to1947: records of wills 1856-1914, administrations, ca. 1858-1922, and other records to 1947.

Pre-1827: For information on the pre-1827 probate records please go to the Cheshire County, New Hampshire wiki - Probate section.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Town Records[edit | edit source]

To see the types of family history information you might find in town records please go to the heading Town Records in our New Hampshire wiki article.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Certified copies of of birth, death, and marriage records are available from the State Division of Archives and Records management or from the local city and town clerk where the event took place. Original records are kept by the city or town clerk and copies are sent to the state. In 1905, when the state created the Bureau of Vital Records and Health, printed cards were distributed to the local clerks and earlier vital records were transcribed onto the cards and submitted to the state.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Towns: An excellent way to gain information is to contact the local town historical society. The best list of these is found at the New Hampshire History Network. At that site, click on the Directory, and scroll down to the town of interest.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Sullivan County Historical Societies as listed by CountyOffice.orgWebsite

The Historical Society of Cheshire County in Keene, New Hampshire has a large genealogical collection relating to Cheshire County. Their collection might help you if your family was an early family in Sullivan County.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

1. Check www.familysearch.org (Family Tree) and see if your ancestor's name is listed there.

2. Check familysearch.org's historical records and see if your family's vital records of births, marriages, and deaths are there.

3. Check familysearch.org and see if your family is listed on the U. S. census records of 1850-1940. You can also see those censuses at the Family History Center using Heritage Quest, and ancestry.com.

4. If you know the town where they lived, seek a town history that has a genealogical section (see below).

5. Read through the wiki articles on Sullivan County, and on New Hampshire, for ideas of sources. Study the Records Selection Table in the New Hampshire article. This can help you think of new sources to try.

6. Share your search on familysearch.org (Family Tree), genforum.com, or ancestry.com. You can also share your quest with the local historical society or town library and ask for help. Send them your family group forms and a pedigree chart.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sullivan, New Hampshire page 453, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sullivan County, New Hampshire. Page 452-453. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 436.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Hampshire.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Sullivan County, New Hampshire," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sullivan_County,_New_Hampshire, accessed 20 November 2018.