Stone County, Arkansas Genealogy
Guide to Stone County, Arkansas ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the natural stone formations in the area.[2] It is located in the north central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Stone County Courthouse
HC 71 Box 1427
Mountain View, AR 72560-0427
Phone: 870.269.5550
Stone County Website
County Clerk has marriage and divorce records from 1873;
Clerk Circuit Court has probate, land, military and court records from 1873.[4]
Stone County, Arkansas[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1914 | 1873 | 1914 | 1873 | 1873 | 1873 | 1830 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Stone County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [8]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Stone County Bible Records at Arkansas USGenWeb Project Archives
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1880 | 5,089 | — |
| 1890 | 7,043 | 38.4% |
| 1900 | 8,100 | 15.0% |
| 1910 | 8,946 | 10.4% |
| 1920 | 8,779 | −1.9% |
| 1930 | 7,993 | −9.0% |
| 1940 | 8,603 | 7.6% |
| 1950 | 7,662 | −10.9% |
| 1960 | 6,294 | −17.9% |
| 1970 | 6,838 | 8.6% |
| 1980 | 9,022 | 31.9% |
| 1990 | 9,775 | 8.3% |
| 2000 | 11,499 | 17.6% |
| 2010 | 12,394 | 7.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1875-1899 Nebraska, Church Records, 1875-1899 at FamilySearch — index
List of Churches and Church Parishes - How to Use this Collection
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1873-1881 Court Records, 1873-1881(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1873-1928 Administrators and Guardians Bonds and Letters, 1873-1928(*); Clerk of the Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1873-1951 Court Records, 1873-1951(*); Circuit Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1874-1960 Equity-Chancery Docket, 1874-1918; Chancery Court Records, 1873-1960(*); Chancery Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Mountain View Funeral Service in Mountain View
- Roller-Coffman Funeral Home in Mountain View
- Roller-Crouch Funeral Home in Mountain View
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Stone County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Arkansas (1813-1925)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Arkansas State Archives State Maps Collection at Arkansas Digital Archives
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Arkansas Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1890-1963 Arkansas Confederate Soldier Home,1890-1963 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1891-1939 Arkansas Ex-Confederate Pension Records, 1891-1939 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1901-1929 Arkansas Confederate Pensions, 1901-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Stone newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat
- FamilySearch. Do a Stone County, Arkansas Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see, FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
- Fayetteville Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Fayetteville Daily Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Daily Fayetteville Democrat at Ancestry.com ($)
- Northwest Arkansas Times at Ancestry.com ($)
- Courier Times at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1783-1998 Arkansas Wills and Probate Records 1783-1998 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
- 1817-1979 Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; images
- 1873-1911 Court Records, 1873-1911(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1875-1969 Wills, 1875-1969(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1876-1933 Executors Bonds and Letters, 1876-1933(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
| Y | M | |
| Name of Child | 
|
|
| Birth Date and Place |
|
|
| Parent's Names |
|
|
| Mother's Maiden Name |
| |
| Parent's Ages |
|
|
| Father's Occupation |
|
|
| Current Residence |
|
|
| Name of Doctor or Midwife |
|
|
In 1877, a few county and city clerks[9] started keeping birth and death records.
In 1914, the state law required all county clerks to record births and forward them to the state.
- Arkansas Births and Christenings, 1812-1965 at FamilySearch. (Free, index only)
- Small file, but worth searching. Most entries were user-submitted.
See also: • Arkansas Online Genealogy Records, • How to Find Arkansas Birth Records and • Arkansas Vital Records—Birth.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1779-1966 Arkansas, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1860 - 1976 Arkansas Church Marriages, 1860-1976 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1865 - 1928 - Stone County Marriage Index 1865-1928 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[10]
- 1873 - 1953 - Stone County Marriage Index 1873-1953 in Arkansas, County Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch - free.[11] - How to Use this Collection
- 1917-1969 Arkansas, Marriage Certificates, 1917-1969 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1914-1969 Arkansas, Death Certificates, 1914-1969 at Ancestry.com - index and images ($)
- 1935-1961 Arkansas, Death Index, 1935-1961 at MyHeritage - index and images ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1923-1969 Arkansas, Divorces, 1923-1969 at Ancestry.com - index ($)
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1868-1910 Arkansas, County Voter Registration Records, 1868-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Stone County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Arkansas Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Stone County. For state-wide library facilities, see Arkansas Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Stone County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Arkansas Societies.
Stone County Arkansas Historical Society
PO Box 210
Mountain View, AR 72560
Email: stonecountyhistoricalsociety@gmail.com
Website
Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- ARGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
- USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
- Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Stone County, Arkansas Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ark/stone/
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Stone County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stone_County,_Arkansas
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Stone County, Arkansas. Page 70 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 67.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Stone County, Arkansas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stone_County,_Arkansas, accessed 1 October 2018.
- ↑ Stephanie Lawrence Labert, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=811&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Stone County.”
- ↑ such as Sebastian County (Fort Smith) and Pulaski County (Little Rock) (No entry in FamilySearch Catalog found for Pulaski County nor for Little Rock, Aug 2014)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
- ↑ FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages - FamilySearch Historical Records," in FamilySearch Wiki.