Staunton (Independent City), Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Staunton, Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Staunton, Virginia | |
|---|---|
| — Independent City — | |
 |
|
| Founded | 1908 |
| Website | http://www.staunton.va.us/ |
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The City of Staunton is located in the Western portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for Lady Rebecca Staunton, wife of colonial governor Sir William Gooch[1].
Courthouse[edit | edit source]
For additional records, see Augusta County, Virginia Genealogy.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1908--Staunton was created 16 January 1908 from Augusta County. [2]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| ||
| ||
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of the City of Staunton.
Court[edit | edit source]
Indexes (1808-1951) and images (1808-1913) to Staunton City, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, which were often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
Military[edit | edit source]
Since Staunton was created 16 January 1908 from Augusta County. [3] go to the Nansemond County page for information about the Civil War military units of that county. Civil War service men from Suffolk served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their area.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1793-1794 - Staunton Spy (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1800-1801 - Political Mirror (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1808-1809 - Political Censor (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1811 - Spirit of the Press (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1814 - Staunton Observer (Staunton, Va.) at Genealogy Bank ($).
Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Staunton silversmiths.]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
How can Virginia tax lists help me?
- [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Staunton is included in Vol. 5.]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1785-1940 Virginia Marriages, 1785-1940 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1785-1940 Virginia, Select Marriages, 1785-1940 at Ancestry.com ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ https://www.ci.staunton.va.us/government/history
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
