|State Library of North Carolina
Insert building images here.jpg
Email: email@example.com or Contact form
- 109 East Jones Street
- Raleigh, NC 27601
- (Mail to: 4641 Mail Service Center
- Raleigh, NC 27699-4600)
Hours and holidays: Hours and Directions. Closed on state holidays.
Public transportation, driving directions
Internet sites and databases:
- State Library of North Carolina: government and heritage library, library for the blind and handicapped, catalogs, services, and resources.
- North Carolina Digital Collections
- State Archives of North Carolina
- Genealogy and Family History: online, on site, interlibrary loan, county records, and census records.
- Online Resources: newspapers, genealogy and history database access, atlas, map and gazetteer materials.
Great collection of books, periodicals, and genealogies for North Carolina. Their collection includes genealogy databases; digital: family Bibles, marriages, deaths, newspapers, and cemetery photos; genealogy guides; county records including wills, deeds, marriages, court minutes, tax lists, and probate records.
- Government Information State government information: online, in print, NC MOSAIC, State Government website archives, census data 1960-1980, and state agency databases ; federal government documents: federal documents available, FDsys online fed gov doc access, and suggested websites and publications.
- North Carolina Newspapers.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the State Library of North Carolina, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- Library of Congress, Washington, DC, is the world's largest library including 50,000 genealogies, 100,000 local histories, manuscripts, microfilms, maps, newspapers, photographs, books, strong in North American, British Isles, and German sources. The Local History and Genealogy Reading Room has moved to the Main Reading Room, but services remiain unchanged.
- National Archives I, Washington DC, census, pre-WWI military service and pensions, passenger lists, naturalizations, passports, federal bounty land, homesteads, bankruptcy, ethnic sources, prisons, and federal employees.
- National Archives at Atlanta records of federal agencies and courts for Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee, censuses, ships lists, naturalizations, Indian records, and military records.
- North Carolina State Archives, Raleigh, has so many county court records they have not all been cataloged, NC government records at the state, district, and county levels, maps, War of 1812, Civil War, World Wars, newspapers, photos, organization records, private collections, and defunct academic institution records.
- North Carolina Vital Records, Raleigh, order for a fee births since 1913, deaths since 1930, marriages since 1962, and divorces since 1958.
- Wake County Register of Deeds births since 1913, marriages since 1770, deaths since 1913, and land entries since 1774.
- Wake County Clerk of Superior Court probate records since 1770.
- North Carolina Literary and Historical Association, Raleigh, publishes NC Historical Review.
- Wake County Historical Society program archives, newsletter, and photos.
- North Carolina Genealogical Society, Raleigh, NC Revolutionary War petitions and index, NC Loose Estates Records indexing project, newsletter, and society publications.
- Wake County Genealogical Society meetings, newsletter, journal, and local genealogy publications.
- Olivia Raney Local History Library, Raleigh, Internet databases, books, maps, photos, and files, and states from which North Carolinians emigrated such as Virginia, Maryland, and Pennsylvania.
- U.S. District Court, Eastern District of North Carolina criminal and civil court records.
Repositories in surrounding counties: Chattam, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Harnett, Johnston, and Nash.
- UNC Chapel Hill Libraries have the famed Southern Historical Collection of plantation records, slavery, Civil War, families, religious communities, Civil Rights, NC books and their biographical index. 
- Duke University Perkins Library, Durham, largest manuscript collection in the South, including newspapers, county records, Bibles, and journals. Also census records from the National Archives.
- Moravian Church Archives, Winston-Salem, for Moravians in southern states some diaries with name indexes, memoirs, published family histories, and research service for an hourly fee.
- North Carolina Friends Historical Society, Greenboro, history of Quakers in North Carolina.
- Presbyterian Heritage Center Research Library, Montreat, 35,000 books, Presbyterian church and congregation records, minutes, periodicals, church and mission histories.
Repositories in other surrounding states: Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.
- Chattanooga Public Library Downtown, Tennessee, has the Upper South's largest family folder collection which is heavy on North Carolina, Internet genealogy databases, census, newspapers, obituary index, county records, 30,000 books, manuscripts, and genealogical periodicals.
- Knox County Public Library, Tennessee, has the best index to North Carolina families, Internet genealogy databases, 75,000 books, genealogies, First Families of Tennessee, manuscripts, censuses, state and local government records, newspapers, Knoxville city directories, maps, and photos.
- Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown, California, holds the Tina Brayton Collection which is equivalent to the Draper Manuscript Collection but larger and with a better index, and many compiled genealogies of North Carolina, Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia families.
- ↑ William Dollarhide and Ronald A. Bremer. America's Best Genealogy Resource Centers (Bountiful, Utah: Heritage Quest, 1998), 85. At various libraries (WorldCat). FHL Ref Book 973 J54d.
- ↑ Genealogy Research in State Library of North Carolina&amp;nbsp; (accessed 7 February 2014).
- ↑ The Collections in Local History and Genealogy Reading Room in Library of Congress (accessed 31 December 2013).
- ↑ Information for Researchers at the National Archives Building in Washington, DC in National Archives (accessed 31 December 2013).
- ↑ Checklist of Records Available for Research into Family History at NARA's Southeast Region in National Archives (accessed 13 February 2014).
- ↑ Dollarhide and Bremer, 85.
- ↑ Collections in State Archives of North Carolina (accessed 7 February 2014).
- ↑ Vital Records in NC Dept. of Health and Human Services (accessed 13 February 2013).
- ↑ Alice Eichholz, ed. Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 508. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004, and Wake County Vital Records in vitalrecords.com (accessed 13 February 2014).
- ↑ Eichholz.
- ↑ Home in North Carolina Literary and Historical Association (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Home in Wake County Historical Society (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Resources in North Carolina Genealogical Society (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Publications in Wake County Genealogical Society .
- ↑ Elizabeth Reid Murray Collection in Wake County Public Libraries (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Societies, Libraries, Archives in North Carolina Genealogical Society (14 February 2014).
- ↑ Record Request System in U.S. District Court, Eastern District of North Carolina (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ About the Southern Historical Collection in UNC Chapel Hill Libraries (accessed 11 February 2014).
- ↑ Family History and Genealogy Resources in the North Carolina Collection in UNC Chapel Hill Libraries (accessed 11 February 2014).
- ↑ Home in Moravian Archives Winston-Salem (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Home in North Carolina Friends Historical Society (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Research Library in Presbyterian Heritage Center (accessed 14 February 2014).
- ↑ Genealogy Resources in Chattanooga Public Library (accessed 6 April 2021).
- ↑ Calvin M. McClung Historical Collection in Knox County Public Library (accessed 11 February 2014).
- ↑ The Tina Brayton Collection in Genealogical Society of Santa Cruz County (accessed 3 January 2014).