Starksboro, Addison County, Vermont Genealogy
Town Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Starksboro, Vermont at Wikipedia
Starksboro was chartered on November 9, 1780 by the Vermont State Legislature. The town was organized in March, 1796. Although Starksboro village on Route 116 is now commonly recognized as the town’s primary center, in earlier times there were many other villages and hamlets: Brownsboro; Little Boston, Hillsboro, and Jerusalem. [1] [2]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following is a list of cemeteries in present-day Starksboro. For location of cemeteries, see Cemeteries of Vermont, Addison County, website at this link.
- Brace (Newell Stokes) Cemetery - inscriptions at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Brown Hill (Hallock) Cemetery - inscriptons at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Catholic (Ireland or Conway) Cemetry - inscriptions at Find a Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Green Mount Cemetery - inscriptions at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Hillsboro (Ryan) Cemetery - inscriptions at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Jerusalem Cemetery - inscriptions at Find a Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Mason Hill Cemetery - inscriptions at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Norton (Casey or Butler) Cemetery - inscriptions at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Quaker-Friends Cemetery- inscriptions at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Rounds Cemetery - inscriptions at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Starksboro Village Cemetery - inscriptions at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Taft Cemetery - inscriptions at Find A Grave and Starksboro Historical Society sites.
- Starksboro Cemeteries List at FindAGrave
- Addison County Cemeteries at FamilySearch Catalog
- Addison County Cemeteries at FamilySearch Places
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Historically, the largest religious groups in Vermont were the Congregational, Baptist, Roman Catholic, and Methodist churches. For general information about Vermont denominations, view the New Hampshire Church Records wiki page.
To see the churches in Starksboro, visit.
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. The following are church records available online for the town of Starksboro:
Starksborough Monthly Meeting Records of the Society of Friends, 1813-1838, are available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
City Directories[edit | edit source]
- Various Dates U.S. City Directories, 1860-1960 at MyHeritage - index and images ($) some towns and years may be missing
Land Records[edit | edit source]
The following are online land records for the town of Starksboro:
Libraries and Historical Societies[edit | edit source]
Starksboro Public Library
2827 VT RT 116
PO Box 124
Starksboro, VT 05487
Phone: (802) 453-3732
Email: starksboropl@comcast.net
Website
Starksboro Historical Society
6657 Vermont 116
Starksboro, VT 05487
Phone: (802) 434-3469
Website
Maps[edit | edit source]
The following are online maps of the town of Starksboro:
1871 map of Starksboro Township
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Addison County Independent ($)
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In Vermont, most probate records are kept at the town level. The following are online probate records for the town of Starksboro:
The probate district for Starksboro is Addison.
Addison Probate Court
7 Mahady Court
Middlebury, VT 05753
Phone: (802) 388-2612
Town Histories[edit | edit source]
- History of the Starksboro Village Meeting House.
- Bertha's book : a view of Starksboro's history, by Bertha B Hanson and Emma-Lou G Craig (1998) - find this book in a library.
Town Records[edit | edit source]
In Vermont, most records are kept at the town level and generally began being kept at the founding of the town. These records may include the following:
|
The following are Starksboro town records available online:
Town Clerk Vital and Town Records, 1783-1998, can be found on FamilySearch (browse only images).
The Family History Library has microfilm of original records from the Starksboro Town Clerk's Office. These include Vital records of Starksboro, Vermont, 1857-1998, Deeds, 1796-1849; index, 1797-1880, and Land records, 1792-1877.
Town Clerk[edit | edit source]
The town clerk is responsible for these records, and so most originals can be found at the town clerk's office.
Starksboro Town Clerk
2849 Vermont 116
PO Box 91
Starksboro, VT 05487
Phone: (802) 453-2639
Email: starksboro@madriver.com
Website: https://sites.google.com/a/starksboro.org/starksboro/
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Historical Records Collection has Vermont birth, death, and marriage records online.
Births[edit | edit source]
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Deaths[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
Guide to Starksboro, Addison ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- ↑ Starksboro VT Town History, http://www.virtualvermont.com/towns/starksboro.html#about
- ↑ History of the Town of Starksboro, VT http://sites.rootsweb.com/~vermont/AddisonStarksboro.html
Adjacent towns:
| ||||||
