St Michael on Wyre, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to St Michael on Wyre, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a List of Chapelries in the Parish of St Michael on Wyre

St Michael on Wyre, Lancashire
St. Michael's on Wyre Lancashire.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Fylde; Preston
Registration District Fylde; Garstang; Preston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1660
Bishop's Transcripts: 1677
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Michael on Wyre is an Ancient Parish in the county of Lancashire.

Other places in the parish include: Car House Green Common, Carhouse Green Common, Great Eccleston, Catforth, Eaves, Upper Rawcliffe with Tranacre, Tarnacre, Tarnicar, Upper Rawcliffe, Upper Rawcliffe with Tarnacre, and Sowerby

The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.

The parish church of St Michael is the village's most prominent landmark. The nave and chancel date from the 14th century, and the tower from the 16th.

MICHAEL, ST., ON WYRE, a parish, in the union of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire, 3¾ miles (S. W. by S.) from Garstang;including the chapelry of Plumpton-Wood, and the townships of Great Eccleston, Elswick, Inskip with Sowerby, Out Rawcliffe, and Upper Rawcliffe with Tarnacre. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents,Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. Two very popular index sites are:

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of St Michael on Wyre[edit | edit source]
  • Copp (or Great Eccleston) St Ann Chapelry - 1728
  • Inskip St Peter Chapelry - 1848
  • Out Rawcliffe St John Chapelry - 1838
  • Wood Plumpton St Ann Chapelry - 1604

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

St Michael on Wyre Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in St Michael on Wyre are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.



Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]

Fylde Poor Law Union, Lancashire Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire Genealogy

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 298-301. Date accessed: 18 November 2013.


[edit | edit source]