St Magnus the Martyr with St Margaret New Fish Street and St Michael Crooked Lane, London Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
St Magnus the Martyr with St Margaret New Fish Street and St Michael Crooked Lane

London St Magnus the Martyr with St Margaret New Fish Street and St Michael Crooked Lane ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Magnus the Martyr with St Margaret New Fish Street and St Michael Crooked Lane, London
Londonstmagnus.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred London, Within the Walls
County London, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union City of London
Registration District London City
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for St Michael Crooked Lane beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800; Separate records exist for St Margaret New Fish Street beginning 1629-31; 1639-40 and for St Michael Crooked Lane beginning 1802
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery None
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of London
Location of Archive
London Metropolitan Archives
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]

St Magnus the Martyr
St Margaret New Fish Street church site

'St Magnus the Martyr with St Margaret New Fish Street and St Michael Crooked Lane, the church is situated at the northeast corner of old London Bridge, and derives its name from having been dedicated to St. Magnus, who suffered martyrdom, under the Emperor Aurelian, in the city of Caesarea. It is a rectory, the patronage of which was anciently in the confidence of Westminster and Bermondsey, who presented alternately, till the general suppression of monasteries, when it devolved to the Crown. In 1533, Queen Mary granted by letters patent to the Bishop of London and his successors in whom it still remains. The ancient church was destroyed by the fire of 1666, and one rebuilt, was named the United parish church for this parish, and that of St. Margaret, New Fish Street, which is annexed to it by act of Parliament.

'The present church was erected by Sir Christopher Wren in 1676, and it is an elegant and substantial church built of stone and oak timber, covered with land; with a very handsome lofty steeple, consisting of the tower, and a lantern, or bell tower, covered with a cupola, and surmounted by a well proportioned spire. The opening under the tower, was made shortly after a great fire in this neighborhood in 1759, through the recesses and growing arches originally formed in the main building, by Sir Christopher, as if he had foreseen its necessity, whenever the street required widening.

'The interior is 90 feet in length, 59 in breadth, and 41 in height, divided into a nave and two aisles, by columns, and an entablature of the Ionic order. The steeple and spire were not built till 1705. The advowson of this church is a rectory, in the archdeaconry, city and diocese of London, and in the patronage of the Bishop of that city.'[1]

'St Michael's Crooked Lane, the church of, is situated on the east side of Miles's Lane, Great Eastcheap, and is so called from its dedication and from its immediate vicinity to Crooked Lane, Old Fish Street. This church is of ancient foundation,...and the church dedicated to St Michael, before the year 1304. It was then a very small church, and stood amidst lay stalls and slaughter grounds, used by butchers of Eastcheap Market. [In 1374 a] capacious church [was built on the site of the original]. This church having been destroyed by the fire of London, was rebuilt in 1687 by Sir Christopher Wren. The interior, which is 78 feet long, by 46 broad, and 32 high, is a fine specimen of a metropolitan parish church, is well lighted by a wide and lofty semicircular in the Windows, and diffuse well distributed for seeing and hearing the minister. This handsome church [was condemned] for standing in the line of the new London Bridge,... The patronage of this church was anciently in the prior and convent all Canterbury, in and continued till 14 away, since which time it has been in the archbishops of that see, and as one of the 13 peculiar is within the city, belonging to that Archbishop...'[1]

These parishes belong to Bridge Ward. St Michael Crooked Lane also belonged to Candlewick Ward.

St Margaret New Fish Street Parish Church has been demolished.

1848 parish description[edit | edit source]


St. Magnus, with St. Margaret, New Fish-street, are parishes of the city of London Within the Walls. The patron is The Bishop. They are parishes within the poor-law union of the City of London.[2]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

St Magnus the Martyr, St Margaret New Fish Street, and St Michael Crooked Lane were originally three individual parishes. Each maintained separate parish registers.

St Magnus the Martyr Parish[edit | edit source]

Online St Magnus the Martyr Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1557
1557
1557
Images
1557-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1906 Ancestry[4] 1754-1920 Ancestry[5] 1813-1853 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1669-1768 Ancestry[7] 1557-1837 findmypast 1813-1853 findmypast[8]
1800-1850 FamilySearch[9] 1675-1850 FamilySearch[10] 1813-1853 findmypast[11]
    1675-1754 Ancestry[12]    
    1776-1800 findmypast[13]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry[14]    


Webb published an index to burials for the years 1813 to 1853.[15]

St Margaret New Fish Street Parish[edit | edit source]

Online St Margaret New Fish Street Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1629
1629
1629
Images
1629-1640 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials; See also St Magnus
Indexes 1669-1768 Ancestry[16] 1629-1675 findmypast 1629-1631 findmypast
    1629-1640 findmypast 1813-1853 findmypast<
    1675-1754 FamilySearch[17]    
    1675-1754 Ancestry[18]    
    1780-1837 Ancestry    


St Michael Crooked Lane Parish[edit | edit source]

Online St Michael Crooked Lane Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1538
1538
1538
Images
1538-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials
1813-1890 Ancestry 1754-1835 Ancestry 1813-1852 Ancestry
Indexes 1749-1864 FamilySearch[19] 1539-1835 findmypast[20] 1813-1851 findmypast
    1749-1864 FamilySearch[21] 1813-1851 findmypast
    1776-1800 British Origins    
    1780-1835 Ancestry    


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

1541 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

St Mary at Hill.png

1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Magnus the Martyr, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Margaret, New Fish Street, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Margaret, New Fish Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael, Crooked Lane, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/151); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael, Crooked Lane, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/150); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1564 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Magnus the Martyr, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael, Crooked Lane, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Margaret, New Fish Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/219); copy: FHL Film 2228700.
  • St Michael, Crooked Lane and St Clement, Eastcheap, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/222); copy: FHL Film 2228700.

1576 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1582 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

1621 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Magnus the Martyr, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/484); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Margaret, New Fish Street, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/486); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Michael, Crooked Lane, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/484); copy: FHL Film 2228702.
  • St Michael, Crooked Lane, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/502); copy: FHL Film 2228702.

1625 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Michael, Crooked Lane, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/512); copy: FHL Film 2228703.

1628 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Magnus the Martyr, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/562); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Margaret, New Fish Street, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/562); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Margaret, New Fish Street, Billingsgate Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/563); copy: FHL Film 2228704.
  • St Michael, Crooked Lane, Bridge Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/562); copy: FHL Film 2228704.

1638 Inhabitants List[edit | edit source]

1646 Subsidy[edit | edit source]

  • St Michael, Crooked Lane, Candlewick Street Ward, London (The National Archives, Ref: E179/147/579); copy: FHL Film 2228705.

1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]

1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]


1695 Inhabitants Lists[edit source]

Add unique information about the censuses. Add links to online census records, and/or link to the Family History Library film/fiche numbers.

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish.

Court of the Deanery of the Arches of London, Croydon, and Shoreham probate records are available online at FamilySearch for free.

Before 1858, probate matters for residents of St Magnus the Martyr and St Margaret New Fish Street were handled by the Court of the Archdeaconry of London. St. Michael Crooked Lane Parish fell under the jurisdiction of the Court of the Deanery of the Arches. In practice, many St Magnus and St Margaret residents left their wills in the Prerogative Court of Canterbury from the 1700s through 1858.[22] From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.

Go to London Probate Records to find the name of the court having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Cemetery[edit | edit source]

St Magnus churchyard site

Records of the Poor[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).

Wikipedia
 Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Michael, Crooked Lane
Wikipedia
 Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Magnus-the-Martyr
Wikipedia
 Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Margaret, New Fish Street

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ 1.0 1.1 James Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (London: Whittaker, Treacher and Arnot, 1831). Adapted. Digitised by Google Books.
  2. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-170. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 December 2013
  3. ↑ London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. ↑ London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  5. ↑ London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  6. ↑ London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  7. ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Intellectual Reserve, copyright 2002. Used by permission.
  8. ↑ John Hanson, 'City of London Burials,' Find My Past, accessed 8 June 2011.
  9. ↑ Batch C042351 , see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish registers.
  10. ↑ Batches M042351 , M079041 , see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish registers. Skips 1755-1799.
  11. ↑ 'Greater London Burials: Middlesex and City of London Burials: Parishes, Counts and References,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins (£), accessed 4 April 2013.
  12. ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Intellectual Reserve, copyright 2002. Used by permission.
  13. ↑ 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' (Wayback Machine) British Origins, accessed 4 July 2011.
  14. ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm
  15. ↑ Cliff Webb, Some London Burials, Post-1812 (1979). FHL Book 942.1/L1 K29w.
  16. ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Intellectual Reserve, copyright 2002. Used by permission.
  17. ↑ Batch M079041 , see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish registers. Gap 1755-1799.
  18. ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah. British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Intellectual Reserve, copyright 2002. Used by permission.
  19. ↑ Batch C042361 , see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish registers.
  20. ↑ 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011.
  21. ↑ Batch M042361 , see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 8 June 2011. Indexes microfilmed parish registers.
  22. ↑ "About Archdeaconry Court of London Wills Index 1750-1800", British Origins, accessed 23 December 2011.
  23. ↑ Payne Fisher and G. Blacker Morgan, Catalogue of the Tombs in the Churches of the City of London, A.D. 1666 (1668; reprint, London: Hasell, Watson, Viney, Ld., 1885). Digitised by Internet Archive.
v • d • e
Links to London, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes
All Hallows Barking • All Hallows Bread Street • All Hallows Honey Lane • All Hallows Lombard Street • All Hallows London Wall • All Hallows Staining • All Hallows the Great • All Hallows the Less • Barnard's Inn • Bridewell Chapel • Christ Church Newgate Street • Furnival's Inn • Holborn St Andrew • Holy Trinity Gough Square • Holy Trinity the Less • Holy Trinity Minories • Lambe's Chapel • St Alban Wood Street • St Alphage London Wall • St Andrew by the Wardrobe • St Andrew Holborn • St Andrew Hubbard • St Andrew Undershaft  • St Ann Blackfriars  • St Ann and St Agnes  • St Antholin  • St Augustine • St Bartholomew by the Exchange • St Bartholomew the Great • St Bartholomew the Less • St Bartholomew Moor Lane • St Benet Fink • St Benet Gracechurch • St Benet Paul's Wharf • St Benet Sherehog • St Botolph Aldersgate • St Botolph without Aldgate • St Botolph Billingsgate • St Botolph without Bishopsgate • St Bride Fleet Street • St Christopher le Stocks • St Clement Eastcheap • St Dionis Backchurch • St Dunstan in the East • St Dunstan in the West • St Edmund the King • St Ethelburga • St Faith • St Gabriel Fenchurch • St George • St Giles without Cripplegate • St Gregory by St Paul • St Helen Bishopsgate • St James Duke's Place • St James Garlickhithe • St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook • St John the Evangelist • St John Zachary • St Katherine by Tower Precinct • St Katherine Coleman • St Katherine Cree • St Lawrence Jewry • St Lawrence Pountney • St Leonard Eastcheap • St Leonard Foster Lane • St Magnus the Martyr • St Margaret Lothbury • St Margaret Moses • St Margaret New Fish Street • St Margaret Pattens • St Martin Ludgate • St Martin Orgar • St Martin Outwich • St Martin Pomeroy • St Martin Vintry • St Mary Abchurch • St Mary Aldermanbury • St Mary Aldermary • St Mary at Hill • St Mary Axe • St Mary Bothaw • St Mary Colechurch • St Mary le Bow • St Mary Magdalene Milk Street • St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street • St Mary Mounthaw • St Mary Somerset • St Mary Staining • St Mary Woolchurch Haw • St Mary Woolnoth • St Matthew Friday Street • St Michael Bassishaw • St Michael Cornhill • St Michael Crooked Lane • St Michael le Querne • St Michael Paternoster Royal • St Michael Queenhithe • St Michael Wood Street • St Mildred Bread Street • St Mildred Poultry • St Nicholas Acons • St Nicholas Cole Abbey • St Nicholas Olave • St Olave Hart Street • St Olave Old Jewry • St Olave Silver Street • St Pancras Soper Lane • St Paul's Cathedral • St Peter Cheap • St Peter Cornhill • St Peter le Poer • St Peter Paul's Wharf • St Sepulchre • St Stephen Coleman Street • St Stephen Walbrook • St Swithun London Stone • St Thomas the Apostle • St Vedast Foster Lane • Staple Inn • Thavie's Inn • The Temple
Probate
Courts
Wards
Major
 Repositories

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=St_Magnus_the_Martyr_with_St_Margaret_New_Fish_Street_and_St_Michael_Crooked_Lane,_London_Genealogy&oldid=4754801"