St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana|
Location in the state of Louisiana, United States Genealogy
Location of Louisiana in the U.S.
|Founded||October 27, 1810|
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Indian Chief Tamanend. The County has Covington as its seat and the County was created October 27, 1810. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
St. Tammany Parish Courthouse
701 N. Columbia Street
PO Box 1090
Covington, LA 70434
Parish Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1812, land records from 1810, tax records from 1880 and military discharge records.
History[edit | edit source]
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
1810--St. Tammany Parish was created 27 October 1810 from Spanish West Florida (Old).
Parish seat: Covington 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- St. Tammany Parish Biographies (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to St. Tammany Parish Biographies (USGenWeb Archives)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following websites may have additional information on St. Tammany Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
Census[edit | edit source]
|St. Tammany Parish Census Data|
- Tammany Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Census Images (USGenWeb Census Images Project)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
- Tammany Parish Court Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this parish - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Project)
Military[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- 1883 St. Tammany Parish List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883 (Genealogy Trails)
- Some Military Land Grants In St. Tammany Parish Louisiana For Soldiers Of The War Of 1812 (USGenWeb Archives)
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index — How to Use this Collection
- 1898-1950 Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — images — How to Use this Collection
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1920 Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- St. Tammany Parish World War 2 Honor List of Casualties (Genealogy Trails)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- St. Tammany Parish Obituaries and Death Notices (Genealogy Trails)
- Index to St. Tammany Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1864 St. Tammany Parish 1864 Civil War Tax List (LAGenWeb)
- St. Tammany Parish Tax Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1889 - St. Tammany Parish Birth Index 1889. Batch C726191 at FamilySearch
- Birth Announcements, Tammany Parish (Genealogy Trails)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1811-1820 St. Tammany Marriage Records (Genealogy Trails)
- 1811-1912 - St. Tammany Parish Marriage Index 1811-1912. Batch M726191 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1837–1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
- St. Tammany Parish Marriage Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1867-1905 Louisiana, Orleans and St. Tammany Parish, Voter Registration Records, 1867-1905 at FamilySearch — index and images — How to Use this Collection
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- St. Tammany Parish Library - Covington Branch (FamilySearch Affiliate Library)
310 West 21st Avenue
Covington, LA 70433-3154
- St. Tammany Genealogical Society
P. O. Box 1904
Covington, LA 70433
- St. Tammany Historical Society
PO Box 1001
Mandeville, LA 70470-1001
- Louisiana Historical Society
428 Hector Ave
Metairie, La. 70005-4412
- Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- St. Tammany Parish (LAGenWeb)
- St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- St. Tammany Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Tammany_Parish,_Louisiana."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., St Tammany Parish, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "St. Tammany Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Tammany_Parish,_Louisiana, accessed 7 January 2020.
- United States Census Bureau. "St. Tammany Parish Quickfacts". http://quickfacts.census.gov/qfd/states/22/22103.html. Retrieved 2007-06-12.
- United States Census Bureau. "Louisiana Population of Counties by Decennial Census: 1900 to 1990". http://www.census.gov/population/cencounts/la190090.txt. Retrieved 2007-06-12.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/c/c2/Igilouisiana.pdf.