St. Clair County, Alabama Genealogy
Guide to St. Clair County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named after General Arthur St. Clair, who came to America from Scotland as an officer in the British Army in the French and Indian War. He settled in America and served as a general in the Continental Army during the American Revolution. He also was the only Governor of the Northwest Territory.[2]The County is located in the central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
St. Clair County Courthouse
Ashville Division
100 6th Ave #400
Ashville, AL 35953
Phone: 205-594-2184
Fax: 205-594-2196
Pell City Division
1815 Cogswell Ave, #217
Pell City, AL 35125
Phone: 205-338-2511
Fax: 205-884-4224
St.Claire County Website
Probate Judge has marriage probate and land records from 1800
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records [4]
St. Clair County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1893 | 1800 | 1908 | 1818 | 1800 | 1800 | 1816 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in St. Clair County:
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in St. Clair County: [7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Census-designated places | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- St Clair County Bible Records at USGenWeb Archives
- St. Clair County Records Family Bibles at RootsWeb Records
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 4,166 | — |
| 1830 | 5,975 | 43.4% |
| 1840 | 5,638 | −5.6% |
| 1850 | 6,829 | 21.1% |
| 1860 | 11,013 | 61.3% |
| 1870 | 9,360 | −15.0% |
| 1880 | 14,462 | 54.5% |
| 1890 | 17,353 | 20.0% |
| 1900 | 19,425 | 11.9% |
| 1910 | 20,715 | 6.6% |
| 1920 | 23,383 | 12.9% |
| 1930 | 24,510 | 4.8% |
| 1940 | 27,336 | 11.5% |
| 1950 | 26,687 | −2.4% |
| 1960 | 25,388 | −4.9% |
| 1970 | 27,956 | 10.1% |
| 1980 | 41,205 | 47.4% |
| 1990 | 50,009 | 21.4% |
| 2000 | 64,742 | 29.5% |
| 2010 | 85,593 | 32.2% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1855 Alabama State Census, 1855 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1866 Alabama State Census, 1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.
- 1831-1994 Alabama, Church Records, 1831-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1819-1826 Court Minutes, 1819-1826(*); Circuit and Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1819-1849 Court Records, 1819-1849(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1827-1850 Orphans Court Minutes, 1827-1850(*); Orphans' Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1850-1952 Probate Records (Ashville, St. Clair, Alabama), 1850-1952(*); Probate and County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1900-1911 Apprentice Records (St. Clair County, Alabama), 1900-1911(*); Probate Court and Probate Judge at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- Alabama Records(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- Early St. Clair County, Alabama Records. By Mrs. C. P. McGuire. St. Clair County, Alabama : St. Clair County, Alabama. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
The Northern Judicial District county seat is Ashville.
The Southern Judicial District county seat is Pell City.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African American
- 1865-1872 Alabama, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- 1914-1936 - St. Clair County, Alabama Colored Marriage Book 2 and Folders 1-27 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Christian Memorial Funeral Home Pell City
- Kilgroe Funeral Home Pell City
- Usrey Funeral Home Pell City
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for St. Clair County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Alabama (1799-1980)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Alabama Maps and Blueprints Collection at Alabama Department of Archives and History – maps can be browsed by location or subject
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- ca.1918-ca.1962 Alabama, Military Discharge Records, ca.1918 - ca.1962 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Civil War Service Database at Alabama Department of Archives and History - index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1871-1880 Alabama, Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871-1880 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1930 Alabama, Confederate Pension Applications, ca. 1880-1930's at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
Regiments. Men in St. Clair County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in St. Clair County:
- - 10th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Ashville Guards"
- - 10th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company F "Coosa Valley Guards"
- - 25th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D and H
- - 30th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- - 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company E
- - 58th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, C, G and I
World War I
- 1917-1919 Alabama, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Service Records at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Gold Star Files at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
World War II
- 1940-1945 Alabama, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1940-1966 Alabama Active Military Service Reports at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1834-1981 Alabama Voter Registration and Poll Tax Cards, 1834-1981 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection; index and some images
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. St. Clair County has one book.
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1753–1999 Alabama Wills and Probate Records 1753-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- 1809-1985 Alabama Probate Records, 1809-1985(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images
- 1819-1849 Court Records, 1819-1849(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1830-1976 Alabama Estate Files, 1830-1976(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1850-1952 Probate Records (Ashville, St. Clair, Alabama), 1850-1952(*); Probate and County Courts at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1902-1916 Probate Records (Pell City, St. Clair, Alabama), 1902-1916(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- Early St. Clair County, Alabama Records(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.
- 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). St. Clair County is in District 3.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1881–1930 Alabama Births and Christenings, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881-1930 Alabama, County Birth Registers, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1733-2013 Alabama, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1800–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry $
- 1809–1920 Alabama Marriages,1809-1920 (Selected Counties) at Ancestry $
- 1809–1950 Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- 1816–1957 Alabama Marriages, 1816-1957 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1819-1895 St. Clair County Marriage Index 1819-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- 1819-1826, 1828-1853, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($);
- 1819-1852 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry– ($); Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1899-1936 St. Clair County, Alabama Marriage Boxes 1-6, Books G-H, and Pell City Division Books 1-4, and Boxes 1-2 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry– ($); contains over 12,000 names.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1881–1952 Alabama Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 at FamilySearch.org
- 1881-1895 St. Clair County Death Index 1881-1895. Batch B593436 at FamilySearch
- 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. varies depending on the original record.
- 1908-1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry– ($);
- 1908-1974 Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch Historical Records Collection.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in St. Clair County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.
Trussville Public Library
201 Parkway Dr.
Trussville, Alabama 35173
Phone: 205-655-2022
Website
Pell City Library
1000 Bruce Etheredge Pkwy, Suite 100
Pell City, AL 35128
Phone: 205-884-1015
Website
Moody Alabama Library
300 Bookmark Circle
Moody, Alabama 35004
Phone: 205-640-2517
Website
Springville City Library
6315 US Highway 11
Springville, Al 35146
Phone: 205-467-2339
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Ashville Museum & Archives
St. Clair County Courthouse
P. O. Box 1570
Ashville, AL 35953
Phone: 205-594-2128
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Northeast Alabama Genealogical Society
One Cabot Avenue
P. O. Box 8268
Gadsden, AL 35902
Email: neagslib@comcast.net
Website
Facebook
Publication: Northeast Alabama Settlers
St. Clair Historical Society
78 6th Avenue
P. O . Box 1570
Ashville, Alabama 35953
Phone: 205-594-2128
Email: archives@stclairco.com
Website
Facebook
Publications: Cherish: The Quarterly Journal of the St. Clair County Historical Society
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- St.Clair County ALGenWeb~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Saint Clair County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, "St. Clair County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/stclair/ 6/26/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "St. Clair, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Clair_County,_Alabama 6/26/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Clair County, Alabama. Page 37 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 33.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "St. Clair County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Clair_County,_Alabama, accessed 26 October 2018.
