St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana Genealogy
Guide to St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
 Location in the state of Louisiana, United States Genealogy | |||||||||
 Location of Louisiana in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | March 31, 1807 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Chalmette | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
 | |||||||||
| Address | 9061 W. Judge Perez Drive Chalmette, LA 70043 | ||||||||
| Website: www.sbpg.net | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Parish Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Bernardo de Galvez. The County has Chalmette as its seat and the County was created March 31, 1807. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]
St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1914 | 1800s | 1914 | 1800s | 1800s | 1800s | 1700s |
Parish Courthouse[edit | edit source]
St. Bernard Parish Courthouse
8201 W Judge Perez Drive
Chalmette, LA 70043
Phone: 504.278.1500
Clerk Court has marriage, probate, court and land records.[3]
History[edit | edit source]
Parent Parish[edit | edit source]
1807--St. Bernard Parish was created 31 March 1807 as an original parish.
Parish seat: Chalmette [4]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Louisiana Parish boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Louisiana Parish Boundary Maps" (1805-1990) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
|
|
|
Neighboring Parishes or Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana African American Griots Project
- Afrigeneas - African Ancestored Genealogy
- St. Bernard Parish - Largest Slaveholders from 1860 Slave Census Schedules and Surname Matches for African Americans on 1870 Census (LAGenWeb)
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Index to Biographies of St. Bernard Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
- Biographies of St. Bernard Parish (Genealogy Trails)
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The following web sites may have additional information on St. Bernard Parish cemeteries.
- Interment.net Louisiana cemetery records by Parish.
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1810 | 1,020 | — |
| 1820 | 2,635 | 158.3% |
| 1830 | 3,356 | 27.4% |
| 1840 | 3,237 | −3.5% |
| 1850 | 3,802 | 17.5% |
| 1860 | 4,076 | 7.2% |
| 1870 | 3,553 | −12.8% |
| 1880 | 4,405 | 24.0% |
| 1890 | 4,326 | −1.8% |
| 1900 | 5,031 | 16.3% |
| 1910 | 5,277 | 4.9% |
| 1920 | 4,968 | −5.9% |
| 1930 | 6,512 | 31.1% |
| 1940 | 7,280 | 11.8% |
| 1950 | 11,087 | 52.3% |
| 1960 | 32,186 | 190.3% |
| 1970 | 51,185 | 59.0% |
| 1980 | 64,097 | 25.2% |
| 1990 | 66,631 | 4.0% |
| 2000 | 67,229 | 0.9% |
| 2010 | 35,897 | −46.6% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- St. Bernard Parish Census Records (USGenWeb Archives)
- Louisiana Census Images (USGenWeb Census Images Project)
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Louisiana denominations, view the Louisiana Church Records wiki page.
- Louisiana Historical Church Information
- Directory of Churches in Louisiana, by city (Church Angel)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Ethnic Groups[edit | edit source]
- Canary Island Families that Settled at Terre-Aux-Boeuf, Saint Bernard Parish, LA, 1779 (Genealogy Trails)
Land[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Louisiana Land and Property for additional information about early Louisiana land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse where records are also currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Louisiana Local Histories.
- Louisiana Museums
- St. Bernard Memoir (USGenWeb Archives)
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this parish - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of Louisiana (1805-1990)
- USGW Digital Map Collection (USGenWeb Archives)
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Louisiana Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1898-1950 Louisiana Confederate Pensions, 1898-1950 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Civil War Battle[edit | edit source]
The following Civil War battle was fought in St. Bernard Parish:
- April 25–May 1, 1862 - New Orleans[6]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Louisiana.
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1920 Louisiana World War I Service Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 Louisiana First Registration Draft Cards, compiled 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- Honor List of Dead and Missing Army & Army Air Forces Personnel, St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana (Genealogy Trails)
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Newspaper List, listing by name/parish (USNPL)
- Louisiana Newspaper listing (Newslink)
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
Do a St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Index to St. Bernard Parish Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records before 1845 were kept in probate courts. Since 1845, they have been kept by the St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana Genealogy clerk of the district court. Many of the probate records are included in the notarial records with the deeds and mortgages. In some parishes they are known as “succession” records.
See the Wiki page Louisiana Probate Records for more information about probate records in Louisiana.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1756 – 1984 Louisiana Wills and Probate Records 1756-1984 at Ancestry — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Louisiana tax records can be used in place of missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Louisiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
Louisiana statewide registration of birth and death records began in 1911. Births and deaths are kept by the Louisiana Vital Records Registry. Marriages were recorded by each parish, and the records are at the parish clerk of court office. See also How to order Louisiana Vital Records or order electronically online.
See Louisiana Vital Records for more information on getting Louisiana records.
- Louisiana Records and Statistics Information ~ where and how to order information.
- St. Bernard Parish Vital Records (USGenWeb Archives)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1837–1957 - Louisiana, Parish Marriages, 1837-1957 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-1875, 1894-1960 Louisiana Deaths, 1850-1875, 1894-1960 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
- Gulf Coast Genealogical Society
107 Rickford Drive
Sidell, LA 70458-1328
Phone: 504-554-1716
Website - Louisiana Historical Society
428 Hector Ave
Metairie, La. 70005-4412
Website - Louisiana Historical Association
101 LSU Student Union
LSU Box 25435
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
Facebook
Website
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Louisiana Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- St. Bernard Parish (LAGenWeb)
- St. Bernard Parish (USGenWeb Archives)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)+
- St. Bernard Parish Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
- St. Bernard Parish LA Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Sabine Parish," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sabine_Parish,_Louisiana."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana. Page 289-293 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 267-268.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed., St Bernard Parish, Louisiana p 292 (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "St. Bernard Parish, Louisiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St._Bernard_Parish,_Louisiana, accessed 6 January 2020.
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)