|Spain Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
National Census Records[edit | edit source]
No true national census exists for Spain. The closest collection that could be considered a national census is the Marques de Catastro de Ensenada (Catastro). The Catastro was taken for tax purposes between the years 1749 to 1756. The census included the kingdom of Castille and Leon.FamilySearch microfilmed the Catastro where available in the historical provincial archives throughout Spain.
FamilySearch is currently working closely with Spain's Ministerio de Cultura to convert the microfilms to digital images. The Ministerio de Cultura has published the section called Respuestas Generales on their website, found at: Portal de Archivos Espanõles (in Spanish).
FamilySearch has also began publishing the Catastro on it's website too. Besides the Respuestas Generales, FamilySearch is publishing all other sections that they originally microfilmed. Those sections are:
- Autos generales
- Bienes de legos o seglares
- Bienes de eclesiásticos
- Personal de eclesiásticos
- Respuestas generales**
- Memoriales de legos o seglares
- Memoriales de eclesiásticos
You can also get access to the images for the province of La Rioja from their website. The Historical Provincial Archive created and maintains the website. The records have been indexed and is searchable from their website. The page is only found in Spanish.
Local Census Records[edit | edit source]
Local municipalities (municipios) took censuses of their populations periodically. In Spain you will find that the majority of the municipios began taking population censuses in the latter half of the 19th Century and continuing onto the present time, however, many census records exist for the 17th and 18th centuries.
Municipal census records are usually housed in the Municipal archives. Some have been microfilmed by FamilySearch (see Cádiz), but most have not. FamilySearch has scanned microfilm copies of local census records and published them on their website. Currently census records can be found among the municipal records collections by province. They may be called censo or padrones.
The best place to find local census records is through the Directorio de Archivos. Perform a search for the municipio where your ancestors lived.
You can review the census records for Castilla La Mancha online at this site: padrones1808.jccm.es/
- 1387-1986 Spain, Province of Barcelona, Municipal Records, 1387-1986 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1470-1897 Spain, Province of Asturias, Municipal Records, 1470-1897 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1890-1934 Spain, Aragón, Electoral Censuses, 1890-1934 at FamilySearch — index
- 1566-1956 Spain, Province of Gerona, Municipal Records, 1566-1956 at FamilySearch — index and images
16th Century Census Records[edit | edit source]
Wiki articles describing online collections are found at:
- Spain, Province of Barcelona, Municipal Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Spain, Catastro de Ensenada - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Spain, Province of Cádiz, Municipal Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Spain, Municipal Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Spain, Province of Sevilla, Municipal Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Spain, Province of Tarragona, Municipal Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Spain, Province of Valencia, Miscellaneous Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
- Related Collections
- Census of the Archipelagoes of Spain, ca. 1899 - ca. 1899. The Census was taken in 1887