Southport Christ Church, Lancashire Genealogy
England 
Lancashire Lancashire Parishes
Guide to Southport Christ Church, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Southport Christ Church, Lancashire | |
|---|---|
 | |
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | West Derby |
| County | Lancashire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Ormskirk |
| Registration District | Ormskirk |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1821 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1821 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | North Meols |
| Diocese | Chester |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Lancashire Archives | |
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
Southport Christ Church is an Ecclesiastical Parish and a market town in the county of Lancashire, created in 1825 from North Meols Ancient Parish; located on Lord Street.
The area is mentioned in the Domesday Book where it was called Otergimele. The name is derived from Oddrgrimir meaning the son of Grimm and inked with the Old Norse word Melr meaning Sandbank. The Domesday Book states that there were 50 huts in Otergimele, housing a population of 200. The population was scattered thinly across the region and it was at the North-East end of Otergimele (present day Crossens) where blown sand gave way to new fish supplies from the River Ribble Estury that a small concentration of people had occurred. The alluvium provided fertile agricultural land.
It was here, it seems that a primitive church was built, which gave the emerging village its name of Churchtown. This church was called St Cuthbert's and is still a centre point to Churchtown to this day.
With a booming fishing industry the area grew slowly and hamlets became part of the parish of North Meols. From south to north these villages were Southaws, Hawiside, Little London, Higher Blowick, Lower Blowick, Rowe-Lane, Churchtown, Marshside, Crossens, and Banks. North Meols was centred around St. Cuthbert's Church in Churchtown, although there were vicarages in Crossens and Banks.
William Sutton was born in North Meols in 1792. He was the landlord of the Black Bull Inn in Churchtown (now the Hesketh Arms). In the early 1790s he realized the importance of the newly created canal systems across the UK, he gambled with the idea of a hotel by the seaside just 4 miles (6 km) away from the newly constructed Leeds and Liverpool Canal. So in 1792 he built a bathing house in South Hawes, two miles south-west of Churchtown. William arranged transport links from the canal that ran through Scarisbrick, 4 miles from the hotel. At the time South Hawes was an almost uninhabited place that was riddled with sand dunes. The local people thought he was mad and so they called him The Mad Duke.
He quickly made a profit and others decided to open hotels nearby. Southport grew quickly in the 19th century as it gained a reputation for being a more refined seaside resort than its neighbour-up-the-coast Blackpool.
SOUTHPORT, a sea-bathing place, in the parish of North Meols, union of Ormskirk, hundred of WestDerby, S. division of Lancashire, 9 miles (N. W.)from Ormskirk, and 20 (N.) from Liverpool. It is situated at the mouth of the Ribble, on the shore of the Irish Sea, opposite to Lytham. [1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.
Online Parish Records Table
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
| Southport Christ Church Parish Records | ||||||
| FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire | ||||||
| Parish Registers-Lancashire | ||||||
| Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog | ||||||
| FreeREG | ||||||
| Find My Past-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($) | 1500s-1900s |
1500s-1900s |
||||
| Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage | ||||||
| Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free) | ||||||
| National Burial Index-FMP (Free) | ||||||
Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Lancashire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Lancashire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- OnLine Parish Clerks - Lancashire - OnLine Parish Clerks project for Lancashire
Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at Findmypast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Ormskirk Poor Law Union, Lancashire
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
![[tree]](/en/wiki/index.php?title=File:Mosaic_FamilySearch_Tree_Image.jpg&filetimestamp=20150812015853&){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 149-152. Date accessed: 27 August 2013.