Southampton County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Southampton County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Courtland
Organized: 20 May 1749[1]
Parent County(s): Isle of Wight
Neighboring Counties
Gates (NC)  • Greensville  • Hertford (NC)  • Isle of Wight  • Northampton (NC)  • Suffolk City  • Surry  • Sussex
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaSouthamptonCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Southampton County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Southampton County is in the southeastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Southampton County may have been named for Southampton, a major city in England, or for Henry Wriothesley, third Earl of Southampton, one of the founders of the Virginia Company and a supporter of colonization in North America.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Southampton County Courthouse
P.O. Box 190
22350 Main Street
Courtland, VA 23837
Phone: 757-653-2200
Southampton County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, court, land and probate records[3]

Southampton County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1750 1853 1749 1749 1749 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

The county is probably named after the English port of Southampton.[8]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Livingston, Virginia Pope. "Southampton County, Virginia, Apprenticeship Indentures, 1827-1894," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1968):99-105. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Southampton County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 12,864
1800 13,925 8.2%
1810 13,497 −3.1%
1820 14,170 5.0%
1830 16,074 13.4%
1840 14,525 −9.6%
1850 13,521 −6.9%
1860 12,915 −4.5%
1870 12,285 −4.9%
1880 18,012 46.6%
1890 20,078 11.5%
1900 22,848 13.8%
1910 26,302 15.1%
1920 27,555 4.8%
1930 26,870 −2.5%
1940 26,442 −1.6%
1950 26,522 0.3%
1960 27,195 2.5%
1970 18,582 −31.7%
1980 18,731 0.8%
1990 17,550 −6.3%
2000 17,482 −0.4%
2010 18,570 6.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1808 Nottoway Indian

1820 - Exists, but the National Archives microfilm copy of Southampton County, Virginia omits pages 111a and 112. The missing names have been published in The Virginia Genealogist:

  • Petty, Gerald M. "Virginia 1820 Federal Census: Names Not on the Microfilm Copy," The Virginia Genealogist 18, no 2 (April-June 1974):136-139.
The list is also available online at the Shenandoah County GenWeb Project.

1850 Mortality Schedule

  • Almasy, Sandra L. Mortality Census 1850-1880: Isle of Wight, Nansemond & Southampton Counties, Virginia. Rome, New York: Kensington Glen Pub., 1988. Available at FHL.

1860 Mortality Schedule

  • Almasy, Sandra L. Mortality Census 1850-1880: Isle of Wight, Nansemond & Southampton Counties, Virginia. Rome, New York: Kensington Glen Pub., 1988. Available at FHL.

1870 Agricultural Schedule

  • Productions of Agriculture, Virginia, 1870. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Va. Available on microfilm at FHL. [Southampton County is included on FHL US/CAN Film 29742.]

1870 Mortality Schedule

  • Almasy, Sandra L. Mortality Census 1850-1880: Isle of Wight, Nansemond & Southampton Counties, Virginia. Rome, New York: Kensington Glen Pub., 1988. Available at FHL.

1880 Mortality Schedule

  • Almasy, Sandra L. Mortality Census 1850-1880: Isle of Wight, Nansemond & Southampton Counties, Virginia. Rome, New York: Kensington Glen Pub., 1988. Available at FHL.

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Black Creek (1786).[9] Original records online; Birth records (1759-1818) were published in the Southside Virginian, Vol. 1, No. 1 (Oct. 1982). FHL Book 975.5 D25s v. 1-2 (1982-1983); online at Internet Archive - free.. A register (dated 1776-1804) was published in Virginia Tidewater Genealogy, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Mar. 1976). FHL Film 1955382.
  2. Meherrin (1788).[9]
  3. South Quay (1785).[9]
  4. Tucker's Swamp (1807).[9]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Southampton County fell within the bounds of the Portsmouth Association.

Church of England
go to See also Nottoway Parish
go to See also St. Luke's Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Southampton County is available online.[10]

  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes Southampton County.]

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Black Creek Monthly Meeting, Sedley, Va. (1691-1705)[11]
  • Corinth Monthly Meeting (begun 1880)[11]
  • Johnson's Monthly Meeting (1761-1845)[11]
  • Seacock Monthly Meeting (1788-1817)[11]
  • Vick's Monthly Meeting (1768-1825)[11]

Friends from Southampton County, Virginia also attended the Blackwater Monthly Meeting in Surry County, Virginia.[12]

  • Bell, James Pinkney Pleasant. Our Quaker Friends of Ye Olden Time: Being in Part a Transcript of the Minute Books of Cedar Creek Meeting, Hanover County, and the South River Meeting, Campbell County, Va. Lynchburg, Va.: J.P. Bell Company, 1905. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library. Includes Quakers from Southampton County.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Southampton County has an almost complete and very rich collection of records. The court records consist of Minute Books, Order Books and loose papers. The first two categories are outlined below. The court loose papers have been microfilmed as well and are available in some 30 reels from the Library of Virginia on interlibrary loan.

County Court Minute Books

The original Southampton County Court Minute Books are held at the County Courthouse in Courtland, Va. These records have been reproduced multiple times. The Virginia State Library (now Library of Virginia) microfilmed these records. They were also microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah (now FamilySearch) in 1949 and again in 1985.

The Southampton Project

In 2009 and 2010, in cooperation with Circuit Court Clerk, the Honorable Richard Francis, volunteers of the Brantley Association of America digitized the entire court book collection from 1749 through the early 1880s and recruited volunteers across the nation to index some 57,000 pages involving approximately one million names. It has been named "The Southampton Project" (SoH). All the images and indexes shown below, are fruits from the SoH project and have made been made available online, for free. See how it developed at www.brantleyassociation.com. Acquired files are outlined in the following table:

Records Southampton
Project
Images
Southampton
Project
Indexes
LVA
Reels
FHL Films FHL Film
Duplicates
General Index to Minute Books
(Vols. 6-28)
. . . 2025566 .
Court Minute Book 1763-1765 . . 467 . .
Court Minute Book 1771-1772 . . 90 . .
Court Minute Book 1775-1778
Includes proceedings of
Committee of Safety, 1775-1776
View View 32 34025 .
Court Minute Book 2, 1776-1810 . . 175 . .
Court Minute Book 1786-1790 View View 175, 32 34025 2025562
Court Minute Book 1790-1793 View View 176 2025563 .
Court Minute Book 1793-1799 View View 32, 176 34025 2025563
Court Minute Book 1799-1803 View View 32, 176 34025 2025563
Court Minute Book 1804-1806 View View 32 34025 .
Court Minute Book 1809-1813 View View 32 34025 .
Court Minute Book 1809-1813
(Addendum)
View View 32 34025 .
Court Minute Book 1813-1816 View View 33 34026 .
Court Minute Book 1819-1824 View View 33 34026 2025459
Court Minute Book 1824-1830 . . 33 34026 2025460-
2025461
Court Minute Book 1830-1835 View View 34 34027 .
Court Minute Book 1835-1842 View View 34 34027 .
Court Minute Book 1842-1848 View View 35 34028 .
Court Minute Book 1848-1855 View View 35 34028 2025566
Court Minute Book 1855-1861 View View 35 34029 .
Court Minute Book 1861-1870 View View 36 . .

County Court Order Books

The original Southampton County Court Order Books are held at the County Courthouse in Courtland, Va. These records have been reproduced multiple times. The Virginia State Library (now Library of Virginia) microfilmed these records. They were microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah (now FamilySearch) in 1949 and again in the mid-1980s.

The Southampton Project

In 2009 and 2010, in cooperation with Circuit Court Clerk, the Honorable Richard Francis, volunteers of the Brantley Association of America digitized the entire court book collection from 1749 through the early 1880s and recruited volunteers across the nation, to index some 57,000 pages, involving approximately one million names. The Court Order books were part of the collection. All the images and indexes shown below, are fruits from the SoH project and have made been made available online, for free. Acquired files are outlined in the following table:

 
Records Southampton
Project
Images
Southampton
Project
Indexes
LVA
Reels
FHL Films FHL Film
Duplicates
Court Order Book 1749-1754 View View 25 34018 .
Court Order Book 1754-1759 View View 25 34018 .
Court Order Book 1759-1763 View View 26 34019 .
Court Order Book 1768-1772 (A&B) A B View 26 34019 .
Court Order Book 1772-1777 (A&B) View View 26 34019 2025455
Court Order Book 1778-1784 View View 27 34020 2025456
Court Order Book 1784-1788 View View 27 34020 2025455
Court Order Book 1802-1803 View View 28 34021 2025456
Court Order Book 1803-1805 View View 28 34021 2025457
Court Order Book 1805-1807 View View 29 34022 .
Court Order Book 1807-1808 View View 29 . .
Court Order Book 1811-1812 View View 29 34022 2025457
Court Order Book 1814-1816 View View 29 34022 2025457
Court Order Book 1816-1819 View View 29 34022 2025458
Court Order Book 1819-1822 View View 30, 178 34023 2025458
Court Order Book 1822-1824 View View 30, 179 34023 2025460
Court Order Book 1824 View View 30, 178 34023 2025459
Court Order Book 1824-1830 View View 179-180 . .
Court Order Book 1835-1839 View View 180, 30 34023 2025461
Court Order Book 1839-1843 View View 180, 31, 83 34024 2025461-
2025462
Court Order Book 1843-1849 View View 31, 181-182 34024 2025468-
2025469
Court Order Book 1870-1875 View View 183 2025463 .
Court Order Book 1875-1881 View View 184-185 2025466-
2025467
.
Court Order Book 1881-1885 . . 183, 186 2025463-
2025464
.
Court Order Book 1885-1890 . . 185, 181 2025467-
2025468
.
Court Order Book 1890-1896 . . 186-187 2025464-
2025465
.
Court Order Book 1896-1904 . . 187, 184 2025465-
2025466
.

Chancery Court

Records Southampton
Project
Images
Southampton
Project
Indexes
LVA
Reels
FHL Films FHL Film
Duplicates
Chancery Records 1832-1858 View View . . .
Chancery Records 1859-1882 View View . . .
Chancery Records 1749-1912 Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Blackwater River

South Quay was a port during the colonial period.[13] No official passenger lists survive for the seventeenth or eighteenth centuries.

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
From 1790 through 1860, Southampton County had one of the largest free colored populations in the state (559 in 1790; 1794 in 1860).[14]

  • 1865-1872 Virginia, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of Southampton County.
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Allen, Anderson, Archer, Artis, Ash, Banks, Bartlett, Bartley, Bazden, Bell, Berry, Boon, Bowers, Bowser, Branch, Brooks, Byrd, Cannady, Charity, Chavis, Clark, Coleman, Davis, Day, Demery, Duncan, Fagan, Freeman, Garner, Gillett, Going, Haithcock, Hanson, Hathcock, Heathcock, Hicks, Hilliard, Hines, Hunt, Hurst, Jeffries, Keemer, Kersey, Lawrence, Locust, Munday, Newsom, Pompey, Portis, Powell, Rann, Reed, Roberts, Rogers, Ruff, Ruffin, Skipper, Smith, Stewart, Sweat, Taborn, Tann, Taylor, Turner (see introduction), Vickory, Walden, Wilkins, Williams, Wood, Worrell, Young families in pre-1820 Southampton County, Virginia.
  • Heinegg, Paul. "Southampton County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1821," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • Heinegg, Paul. "Southampton County Register of Free Negroes, 1794-1832," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • Heinegg, Paul. "Southampton County Loose Papers (Tax List), 1801-1826," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks, mainly by the surname "Artis," but also the complete 1822 list for St. Luke's Parish.]
  • Watkins, Raymond W. Watkins - Doyle - Bailey - Osborne Collection. Manuscript collection, donated by Raymond W. Watkins, Falls Church, Va. Available on microfilm at FHL. [Includes list of blacks charged with 1831 Nat Turner insurrection in Southampton Co., Va., their sentences, and owner's names.]

Native Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Chapman, Blanche Adams and Isle of Wight County Library (Virginia). Smithfield Branch. Chapman Collection of Virginia Family Names, Smithfield Branch, Isle of Wight County Library, 1635-1814. Original records in the Blanche Adams Chapman Collection, Smithfield Branch, Isle of Wight County Library, Smithfield, Va.; available on microfilm: FHL Collection
  • Doyle, Stuart W. Roots Exposed the Lineage and Interrelationships of 15 Family Branches from Virginia's Sussex, Southampton and Greensville Counties. [Orlando, Fla.?]: S.W. Doyle, 2002. FHL Collection 929.273 D772ds [Includes Clanton, Graves, Heath, Hill, Hunnicutt, Maine, Massenburg, Reese, Seaborne, Smith, Vaughn, West, Wright and related families.]
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Allen, Anderson, Archer, Artis, Ash, Banks, Bartlett, Bartley, Bazden, Bell, Berry, Boon, Bowers, Bowser, Branch, Brooks, Byrd, Cannady, Charity, Chavis, Clark, Coleman, Davis, Day, Demery, Duncan, Fagan, Freeman, Garner, Gillett, Going, Haithcock, Hanson, Hathcock, Heathcock, Hicks, Hilliard, Hines, Hunt, Hurst, Jeffries, Keemer, Kersey, Lawrence, Locust, Munday, Newsom, Pompey, Portis, Powell, Rann, Reed, Roberts, Rogers, Ruff, Ruffin, Skipper, Smith, Stewart, Sweat, Taborn, Tann, Taylor, Turner (see introduction), Vickory, Walden, Wilkins, Williams, Wood, Worrell, Young families in pre-1820 Southampton County, Virginia.
  • Joyner, Ulysses P. They Crossed the Blackwater: The First Settlers of Southhampton County Virginia. Orange, Va.: U.P. Joyner, 2001/2003. FHL; another edition is also available at FHL.
  • Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD-ROM. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Free online index, courtesy: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. [Includes a great deal of information about residents of Southampton County, see discussion of cited sources.] FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 3887.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Land and Property[edit | edit source]

Deeds

The original Southampton County Deed Books are held at the County Courthouse in Courtland, Va. They have been reproduced multiple times. The Genealogical Society of Utah (now FamilySearch) microfilmed Deed Books 1-46 and Grantee/Grantor Indexes in 1949. The Virginia State Library (now Library of Virginia) has also collected microfilms of these records. In 2001, local expert John Anderson Brayton abstracted Deed Book 1 and annotated the records. 

The Southampton Project

In 2009 and 2010, in cooperation with Circuit Court Clerk, the Honorable Richard Francis, volunteers of the Brantley Association of America digitized all of the first 35 deed books through 1881. Volunteers indexed the entire collection. All the images and indexes shown below, are fruits from the Southampton Project (SoH) and have made been made available online, for free. See how it developed at www.brantleyassociation.com. Acquired files are outlined in the following table:

Deed Books Southampton
Project
Images
Southampton
Project
Indexes
LVA
Reels
FHL Films
Deed Book 1 1749 - 1753 View View 1 34005
Deed Book 2 1753 - 1760 View View 1 34005
Deed Book 3 1760 - 1767 View View 1 34005
Deed Book 4 1767 - 1773 View View 2 34006
Deed Book 5 1773 - 1781 View View 2 34006
Deed Book 6 1781 - 1787 View View 3 34007
Deed Book 7 1787 - 1793 View View 3 34007
Deed Book 8 1793 - 1798 View View 4 34008
Deed Book 9 1798 - 1802 View View 4 34008
Deed Book 10 1802 - 1805 View View 5 34009
Deed Book 11 1805 - 1809 View View 5 34009
Deed Book 12 1809 - 1812 View View 6 34010
Deed Book 13 1812 - 1814 View View 6 34010
Deed Book 14 1814 - 1816 View View 6 34010
Deed Book 15 1816 - 1818 View View 7 34011
Deed Book 16 1818 - 1819 View View 7 34011
Deed Book 17 1819 - 1820 View View 7 34011
Deed Book 18 1821 - 1822 View View 8 34012
Deed Book 19 1822 - 1826 View View 8 34012
Deed Book 20 1826 - 1828 View View 9 34013
Deed Book 21 1828 - 1831 View View 9 34013
Deed Book 22 1831 - 1833 View View 9 34013
Deed Book 23 1833 - 1836 View View 10 34014
Deed Book 24 1836 - 1840 View View 10 34014
Deed Book 25 1840 - 1843 View View 11, 334 34015,
2025679
Deed Book 26 1843 - 1846 View View 11 34015
Deed Book 27 1846 - 1850 View View 12 34016
Deed Book 28 1850 - 1851 View View 12 34016
Deed Book 29 1851 - 1860 View View 13 34017
Deed Book 30 1860 - 1870 View View 13 34017
Deed Book 31 1870 - 1874 View View 334 2025679
Deed Book 32 1874 - 1877 View View 335 2025680
Deed Book 33 1877 - 1879 View View 336 2025681
Deed Book 34 1879 - 1880 View View 337 2025682
Deed Book 35 1880 - 1881 View View 338 2025683
Deed Book 36 1881-1883 . . 339 2025684
Deed Book 37 1883-1884 . . 340 2025685
Deed Book 38 1884-1886 . . 341 2025686
Deed Book 39 1885-1887 . . 342 2025687
Deed Book 40 1887-1889 . . 343 2025688
Deed Book 41 1889-1891 . . 344 2025689
Deed Book 42 1891-1893 . . 345 2025690
Deed Book 43 1893-1896 . . 346 2025691
Deed Book 44 1896-1897 . . 347 2025692
Deed Book 45 1897-1899 . . 348 2025693
Deed Book 46 1899-1901 . . 349 2025694
  • Brayton, John Anderson. Annotated Abstracts of Southampton County, VA, Deed Book 1, 1749-1753. Memphis, Tenn.: J.A. Brayton, 2001. Available at FHL.

Grants and Patents

Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

Procession Map Book

The Brantley Association of America digitized and indexed Southampton County Procession Map Book 1826-1836.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Parramore, Thomas C. Southampton County, Virginia. Charlottesville, Va.: University Press of Virginia, 1978. Available at FHL.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Franklin (Independent City)Emporia (Independent City)Greensville CountySussex CountySurry CountyIsle of Wight CountySuffolk (Independent City)Northampton CountyHertford CountyGates CountyVA SOUTHAMPTON.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Removals from delinquent list, 1797, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Oct 1982. Vol. 1 Iss. 1.

Early migration routes to and from Southampton County for European settlers included:[15]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. Online at: Ancestry ($). Identifies some Southampton County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Southampton County, see p. 100.
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some Southampton County militia officers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • Proceedings of the Committees of Safety of Caroline and Southampton Counties, Virginia, 1774-1776. Richmond, Virginia: Division of Purchase and Printing, 1929. Available at FHL. Reproductions of the original records are also available for free online and on microfilm, see Court Records.
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Southampton County on page 133.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Southampton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Southampton County supplied soldiers for the:

- 4th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). See Vol. 5, Virginia, Southampton County, p. 104. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Regiments. Southampton County men served in the 86th Regiment.[16]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Southampton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Southampton Greys) and Company G (Rough and Ready Guards).[17]
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate).[18]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12th Months, 1861-62) (Confederate). Company A (The Southampton Cavalry).[19]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers[edit | edit source]

  • 1607-2007 Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • [Barrow] Barrow, David and James V. Clark. 1795 Diary of Reverend David Barrow: Pioneer Minister - Anti-slavery Spokesman - Founder of South Quay Baptist Church, Southampton, Va. 1776: Wilderness Travels from Virginia through North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Kentucky, Cincinnati, Miami and Scioto Valleys in Northwest Territory from May to September, 1795: Index of Names, Places. Knightstown, Indiana: Bookmark, 1980. Available at FHL.
  • [Edwards] Newspaper Clippings Found in the Prior Family Bible, in possession of Mrs. Edwin F. Prior, Apalachee, Ga.; available on microfilm at FHL.
  • [Wade] Ray, Gloria E. Wade Family Bible Records. Original manuscripts, Smithfield Branch of the Isle of Wight Library, Smithfield, Va. Available on microfilm at FHL.

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

The Brantley Association of America digitized and indexed Voter Registration Book 1902.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Wills
The original Will Books of Southampton County are held at the County Courthouse in Courtland, Va. They have been reproduced multiple times. Between 1947 and 1958, Blanche Adams Chapman published abstracts of the Will Books covering the years 1749 to 1800, which Ancestry subsequently utilized to create a digital book on their website. In 1949, the Genealogical Society of Utah (now FamilySearch) microfilmed the original Will Books 1-22 (1749-1916) and an Index (1749-1937). The Library of Virginia has also acquired microfilm copies.

The Southampton Project
In 2009 and 2010, in cooperation with Circuit Court Clerk, the Honorable Richard Francis, volunteers of the Brantley Association of America digitized the entire will book collection from 1749 through the early 1880s and recruited volunteers across the nation, to index some 57,000 pages involving approximately one million names. All the images and indexes shown below, are fruits from the SoH project and have made been made available online, for free. Acquired files are outlined in the following table:

Will Books Southampton
Project
Images
Southampton
Project
Indexes
LVA
Reels
FHL Films
Index to Wills 1749-1937 . . 24 33994
Will Book 1 1747 - 1762 View View 16 33995
Will Book 2 1762 - 1772 View View 16 33995
Will Book 3 1772 - 1783 View View 16 33995
Will Book 3 Guardianship View View 16 33995
Will Book 4 1783 - 1797 View View 17 33996
Will Book 5 1797 - 1804 View View 17, 477 33996
Will Book 6 1804 - 1810 View View 18 33997
Will Book 7 1810 - 1815 View View 18 33997
Will Book 7a 1810-1815 View View 18 33997
Will Book 8 1815 - 1818 View View 19 33998
Will Book 9 1812 - 1828 View View 19 33998
Will Book 10 1825 -1832 View View 19 33998
Will Book 11 1832 - 1837 View View 20 33999
Will Book 11A 1833 - 1897 View View 20 33999
Will Book 12 1837 - 1842 View View 20 33999
Will Book 13 1842 - 1847 View View 21 34000
Will Book 14 1847- 1852 View View 21 34000
Will Book 15 1852 - 1857 View View 22 34001
Will Book 16 1857 - 1860 View View 22 34001
Will Book 17 1860 - 1863 View View 23 34002
Will Book 18 1863 - 1867 View View 23 34002
Will Book 19 1867-1874 View View 378 2025575
Will Book 20 1874-1881 View View 379 2025576
Will Book 21 1881-1898 . . 380 2025577
Will Book 22 1899-1916 . . 381 2025578
  • Will Book No. 1, 1749-1762 (digital images online). See names of testators. Virginia Pioneers
  • Will Book No. 2, 1762-1772 (digital images online).See names of testators. Virginia Pioneers
  • Will Book No. 3, 1772-1782 (digital images online). See names of testators. Virginia Pioneers
  • Chapman, Blanche Adams. Wills and Administrations of Southampton County, Virginia, 1749-1800. 2 vols. 1947, 1958; reprint, Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1980. Available at FHL; 1980 reprint at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Guardianships

Records Southampton
Project
Images
Southampton
Project
Indexes
LVA
Reels
FHL Films FHL Film
Duplicates
Guardianships 1751-1772 View View . . .
Guardianships 1798-1836 View View . . .
Guardianships 1776-1810 View View . . .
Guardianships 1848-1857 View View . . .
  • Livingston, Virginia Pope. "Southampton County, Virginia, Guardians' Bonds," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 25, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1981):125-134; Vol. 25, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1981):171-178; Vol. 25, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1981):265-274; Vol. 26, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1982):13-20; Vol. 26, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1982):118-124; Vol. 26, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1982):177-182; Vol. 26, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1982):273-282. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [Loose court papers; often include additional information not found in the condensed Guardians' Account books.]
  • 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
  • 1749-1762 Images of Wills, Bk 1 Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1762-1772 Images of Wills, Bk 2 Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1772-1782 Images of Wills, Bk 3 Virginia Pioneers ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Online Southampton County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Tithes - - 1752 - - -
Tithes - 1770 - - -
Tithes 1778 - - - - -
Personal Property 1782 - - 1782 - 1782
Personal Property 1783 - - 1783 - 1783
Personal Property - - - 1784 - 1784
Personal Property - - - 1785 - 1785
Personal Property - - - 1786 - 1786
Land 1786 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - 1787 - 1787
Personal Property - - - 1788 - 1788
Personal Property - - - 1789 - 1789
Personal Property 1790 - - 1790, 1790 - 1790
Personal Property - - - 1791 - 1791
Personal Property - - - 1792 - 1792
Personal Property - - - 1793 - 1793
Personal Property - - - 1794 - 1794
Delinquents 1794 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - 1795 - 1795
Personal Property - - - 1796 - 1796
Personal Property - - - 1797 - 1797
Personal Property 1798 - 1798 1798 - 1798
Personal Property - - - 1799 - 1799
Personal Property - - - 1800 - 1800
Personal Property - - - - 1801-1850 1801-1806

Bibliography
The original personal property tax lists of Southampton County, Virginia are held at the Library of Virginia in Richmond, Va. FHL has microfilmed these records for the years 1782 to 1850. Several of these records are also available in print or online:

  • 1752 Worrel, Stephen W., "Some Southampton County Tithables, 1752," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, v.50, #4
  • 1770 Williams, Gary M. "Southampton County, Virginia, Tithables, 1770," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1978):243-246. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1778 Tithable Persons, Parish of Nottoway, 1778, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Jul 1988. Vol. 6 Iss. 3. Available at FHL; online at Internet Archive.
  • 1782-1806 Southampton County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1806 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. FHL book 975.5 R4f 1978. Online at FamilySearch Digital Library, FHL film 874197, item 4 - images. 1782 personal property tax list of Southampton County.
  • 1782 Land tax list, 1782, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Feb 2003. Vol. 41 Iss. 1.
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1786 Land tax, 1786, of Nansemond co. residents, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Jan 1984. Vol. 2 Iss. 2. Available at FHL; online at Internet Archive.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Southampton County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1790, 1798 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1798 Personal Property Tax Lists of Southampton County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1782-1820 Heinegg, Paul. "Southampton County Personal Property Tax List 1782-1821," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1794 Removals from delinquent list, 1794, Southside Virginian. Richmond VA: Oct 1982. Vol. 1 Iss. 1. Available at FHL; online at Internet Archive.
  • 1800 Liles, Frankie. "1800 Personal Property Tax List, Southampton County," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. ?, No. 2 (May 2012):153-166.
  • 1801-1826 Heinegg, Paul. "Southampton County Loose Papers (Tax List), 1801-1826," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks, mainly by the surname "Artis," but also the complete 1822 list for St. Luke's Parish.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Southampton County is included in Vol. 2.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

The original Birth Register of Southampton County, covering the years 1853 to 1870, is held at the County Courthouse in Courtland, Va. The Library of Virginia has a microfilm copy. In 2009-2010, the Brantley Family Association of America, as part of their Southampton Project, digitally reproduced the Birth Register, created an index, and made the images and index available for free online, as seen here and outlined in the following table:

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Southampton County's original marriage bonds, licenses, and loose ministers' returns are held at the County Courthouse in Courtland, Va. They have been reproduced multiple times. Between 1929 and 1931, a "Register of Marriages," covering the years 1750 to 1853, was compiled as an "abstract of all original Southampton County marriage bonds and connecting papers borrowed by the Virginia State Library from Southampton County Court House," by the Virginia State Library (now Library of Virginia). This compilation was microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah (now Family Search) in 1947. The records were next abstracted by Joel Ricks in 1936, then by Blanche Adams Chapman and Catherine Lindsay Knorr in 1948, and by Catherine Lindsay Knorr in 1955. In 1965, Virginia Pope Livingston published abstracts of loose marriage records that were missed by the previously mentioned compilers. In 2009-2010, the Brantley Family Association of America, as part of their Southampton Project, digitally reproduced the compiled Marriage Register 1750-1853, as well as Marriage Books 1 to 6, indexed them, and made the images and indexes available for free online, as outlined in the following:

Published Abstracts

Reproductions of Original Records

Death[edit | edit source]

The original records of the second-half of the nineteenth century were microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah in 1949. The original records were also microfilmed by the Virginia State Library in 1975 and 1985. Copies of VSL microfilms are also available at the Family History Library.

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Southampton County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Southampton County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Southampton County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • USGenWeb Project: Southampton County, Virginia. Includes maps, name indexes, history and other information.
  • Southampton Project, The Brantley Family Association of America. Digitized images of original court, land, probate, and other miscellaneous record books, with indexes. Note that Southampton county records include a voluminous collection of loose papers in addition to the record books digitized by the Brantley Family Association, invaluable as the latter are. An idea of their scope and coverage may be found in the Library of Virginia microfilm list in "Research Guides" (above).
  • Cyndi's List
  • Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

The Library of Virginia's website includes the following research guide:

Additional guides include:

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Southampton County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1978):287-290. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Historical Records Survey (Virginia). Inventory of the County Archives of Virginia, No. 88, Southhampton County (Courtland). Richmond, Va.: Virginia Historical Records Survey Project, 1940. Available at FHL.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.ereferencedesk.com/resources/counties/virginia/southampton.html
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Southampton County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southampton_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 2 March 2020.
  8. Wikipedia Contributors, "Southampton County, Virginia," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southampton_County,_Virginia, accessed 13 January 2012.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 442-443. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
  10. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  12. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  13. John Crump Parker, "Old South Quay in Southampton County: Its Location, Early Ownership, and History," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 83, No. 2 (Apr. 1975):160-172. Digital version at JSTOR ($).
  14. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  15. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  16. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 196. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  17. Lee A. Wallace, 3rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 22.
  18. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  19. Daniel T. Balfour, 13th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 26.