South Stoneham, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to South Stoneham, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|South Stoneham, Hampshire|
|Hundred||Mainsbridge; Southampton Borough|
|County||Hampshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||South Stoneham|
|Registration District||South Stoneham|
|Parish registers: 1659; Separate registers exist for Highfield Christ Church beginning 1847|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of South Stoneham and St Mary Extra with Allington and Shamblehurst; Post-1844 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Archives and Local Studies|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
STONEHAM, SOUTH (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, partly in the county of the town of Southampton, but chiefly in the hundred of Mansbridge, Southampton and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Southampton with the tythings of Allington, Barton, Bittern, Eastley, Pollack, Portswood, and Shamblehurst..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.
- See England Civil Registration for online resources and information.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
|South Stoneham Online Parish Records|
|FamilySearch Parish Registers-Hampshire|
|Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog|
|Findmypast (Portsmouth)-Hampshire ($)|
|Ancestry-Church of England Hampshire ($)|
|Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)||
|Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage|
|Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)|
|National Burial Index-FMP (Free)|
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Hampshire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Hampshire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at Findmypast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 224-229.Date accessed: 05 June 2013.