South Dakota, United States Genealogy
| South Dakota Wiki Topics |
|
| Beginning Research |
| Record Types |
|
| South Dakota Background |
| Cultural Groups |
| Local Research Resources |
Guide to South Dakota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
South Dakota Information[edit | edit source]
South Dakota is a state in the central northern part of the United States. It is divided into 66 counties and its capital is Pierre. South Dakota was admitted as the 40th state on 2 Nov 1889. It was created from Dakota Territory. [1]
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with South Dakota ResearchLinks to articles on getting started with South Dakota research.
|
South Dakota Research ToolsLinks to articles and websites that assist in South Dakota research.
|
South Dakota Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
Many genealogy records are kept on the county level in the United States. Click on a county below to go to the county Wiki article listing more information.
Counties[edit | edit source]
Extinct or Renamed Counties: Armstrong | Ashmore | Big Sioux | Boreman | Bramble | Bruguier | Burchard | Burdick | Cheyenne | Choteau | Cole | Cragin | Delano | Ewing | Forsythe | Greely | Jayne | Lugenbeel | Mandan | Martin | Meyer | Midway | Mills | Nowlin | Pratt | Presho | Pyatt | Rinehart | Rusk | Schnasse | Scobey | Shannon | Sterling | Stone | Thompson | Wagner | Washabaugh | Washington | Wetmore | White River | Wood
South Dakota Migration Routes[edit | edit source]
Missouri River · Red River of the North · Great Northern Railway (U.S.) · Wadsworth Trail
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- Cyndi's List - Alabama genealogy sites on the internet
- South Dakota Genealogy Trails - collection of transcribed data for the state of Alabama
- Access Genealogy – Genealogy guide for South Dakota
- Ancestorhunt.com - resources for South Dakota genealogy research
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness - Guide to Ancestry and Family Tree Records for South Dakota
- South Dakota Research Outline – Original Family History Library research outline; contains many out of date links
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "List of US States by Date of Admission," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_by_date_of_admission_to_the_Union, accessed 31 Oct 2016.
