Somerset, England Genealogy

United Kingdom

England

Somerset

Somerset Wiki Topics

Image:Somerset county flag.png|border|250x150px|Somerset flag.png

Beginning Research

Guided Research Somerset Research Tips and Strategies Somerset Record Finder

Record Types

Census Church Records Civil Registration Court Records Crime and Punishment Directories Emigration & Immigration Genealogies Heraldry Land & Property Military Records Newspapers Nobility Parishes Poor Law Unions Probate Records School Records Taxation Voter Records

Background

History Maps Periodicals Place Names

Cultural Groups

Archives & Libraries Societies Local Family History Centre

Guide to Somerset ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Somerset England

Somerset, England Online Genealogy Records Ask the FamilySearch Community

County Information

“SOMERSET, or Somersetshire, a maritime county; bounded on the NW, by the Bristol channel; on the N, by Gloucestershire; on the E, by Wiltshire(Wilts); on the SE, by Dorset; on the S, by Dorset and Devon; on the W, by Devon.

Somerset is a rural county with rolling hills such as Blackdowns,Mendips and Quantocks . It is also has a national park (Exmoor National park). Somersets greatest length is 71 miles; its greatest breadth is 40 miles... and its area is 1,047,220 acres. From the list of counties of England, Somerset is ranked 22nd for population and 7th for total area.

There have been many People who have settled in Somerset, these include Romans and Anglo-Saxons. The county remained part of the Roman empire until around AD 409. The Roman baths gave there name to the city of Bath.

Parishes

Click on a letter for a list of Wiki page links to Somerset parishes: A B C D E F G H I K L M N O P Q R S T U W Y

Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Somerset.

Civil Registration Districts

List of Somerset Civil Registration Districts

Websites

• Somerset Online Parish Clerks
• Online Genealogical Index
• Somerset Resources and help pages on RootsChat Somerset Resources and help pages. (Free).
• http://groups.yahoo.com/group/somersetfamilyhistory/ -- This site is for the discussion and research of family history in the County of Somerset, England. Full transcripts of parish registers, and poor laws are available on its 40 affiliated sites. Free membership. Registration required.
• https://www.swheritage.org.uk/somerset-archives Somerset Archives and Local Studies exists to find, preserve and make available written records of Somerset's people and communities. Based at the Somerset Heritage Centre in Taunton.