Somerset County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Somerset County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Somerville
Organized: May 14, 1688
Parent County(s): Middlesex
Neighboring Counties
Hunterdon  • Mercer  • Middlesex  • Morris  • Union
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Somerset County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-somerset.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Somerset County is located in the north-central region of the state. It was created in 1688. Somerville is the county seat. The county was named for the county of Somerset in England.[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Somerset County Courthouse
20 North Bridge Street
Somerville, NJ 08876
Phone: 908-332-7700
Somerset County Website

County Clerk has court records from 1777 and land records from 1785.
County Surrogate has probate records.[2]

Somerset County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1765 1901 1777 1765 1794 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1779 Fire burned the courthouse.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Boroughs
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1710, boundaries changed.
  • 1714, part back to Middlesex County.
  • 13 March 1714, part set off to be Hunterdon County.[7]
  • 1741, part from Essex County.
  • 1749, boundary with Morris County defined.
  • 1790, boundary changes with Middlesex County and again in 1855, 1858 and 1878.
  • 22 February 1838 1838, part of Montgomery twp set off to form Mercer County. [8]
  • 1844, Tewksbury twp. from Hunterdon County and restored in 1845.
  • 1850, part of Fanklin twp. added to to North Brunswick twp., Middlesex County.
  • 1876, Union County boundary clarified.
  • 1965, Hunterdon County boundary clarified.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Somerset County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 12,296
1800 12,815 4.2%
1810 14,725 14.9%
1820 16,506 12.1%
1830 17,689 7.2%
1840 17,455 −1.3%
1850 19,692 12.8%
1860 22,057 12.0%
1870 23,510 6.6%
1880 27,162 15.5%
1890 28,311 4.2%
1900 32,948 16.4%
1910 38,820 17.8%
1920 47,991 23.6%
1930 65,132 35.7%
1940 74,390 14.2%
1950 99,052 33.2%
1960 143,913 45.3%
1970 198,372 37.8%
1980 203,129 2.4%
1990 240,279 18.3%
2000 297,490 23.8%
2010 323,444 8.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Hunterdon CountyMorris CountyMercer CountyMiddlesex CountyUnion CountyNJ SOMERSET.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Somerset County for settlers included:[9]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Somerset County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Somerset County Historical
9 Van Veghten Dr
Bridgewater, NJ 08807
Telephone: 908-218-1281
E-mail: info@somersethistorynj.org
Website

Somerset Hills, Historical Society Of The
PO Box 136
Basking Ridge NJ 07920
Website




Somerset Historical Center
10649 Somerset Pike
Somerset, PA 15501
Telephone: 814-445-6077
Fax: 814-443-6621
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Somerset County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Somerset_County,_New_Jersey accessed 23 September 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Somerset County, New Jersey page 465, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Somerset County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 465. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Somerset_County, New Jersey ," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Somerset_County,_New_Jersey#Communities, accessed 18 March 2020.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  9. Handybook, 847-61.