Sheridan County, North Dakota Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Sheridan County, North Dakota ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


County Facts
County seat: Forman
Organized: December 24, 1908
Parent County(s): McLean [1]
Neighboring Counties
Burleigh  • Kidder  • McHenry  • McLean  • Pierce  • Wells
See County Maps
Courthouse
NorthDakotaSheridanCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
North Dakota Sheridan Map.png
Adoption


County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Sheridan County was named after Civil War General Philip Henry Sheridan.[2]The County is located in the center area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Sheridan County Courthouse
215 E 2nd St
McClusky, ND 58463
Phone:701-363-2205
Sheridan County Website

Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1943, marriage records from 1886, burial records from 1909, burial records from 1910 and military records from 191;
Register of Deeds has land records from 1909[4]

Sheridan County, North Dakota Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1943 1909 1909 1909 1909 1909 1836
*State Dept. of Vital Records started births and deaths in 1923.
Full compliance by 1924.[6]

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Census-designated places
Townships
  • Berlin
  • Boone
  • Denhoff
  • Edgemont
  • Fairview
  • Goodrich
  • Highland
  • Lincoln Dale
  • Martin
  • Mauch
  • McClusky
  • Pickard
  • Prophets
  • Rosenfield
  • Strassburg


Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Listed below are resources for Bible records specific to Sheridan County. To find more resources, go to the North Dakota Bible Records page.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Sheridan County, North Dakota online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See North Dakota Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1910 8,103 —
1920 7,935 −2.1%
1930 7,373 −7.1%
1940 6,616 −10.3%
1950 5,253 −20.6%
1960 4,350 −17.2%
1970 3,232 −25.7%
1980 2,819 −12.8%
1990 2,148 −23.8%
2000 1,710 −20.4%
2010 1,321 −22.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Before North Dakota was a state in 1889, parts of North Dakota were included in the 1836 Iowa Territory census (also known as Wisconsin Territory), 1840 Iowa Territory census, 1850 Minnesota Territory census, and the 1860-1880 Dakota Territory censuses.[9] See links listed below.

Territory and State Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Census Records[edit | edit source]

Federal Censuses were taken for the state of North Dakota starting in 1890, although no records survived. The 1900 Census is the next Federal Census available. For links to Federal census indexes, see North Dakota Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Church records can be found online, kept onsite at the church, or housed in a church archive or library. See North Dakota Church Records for more information on how to locate the records.

Online Church Records
Sheridan County Church Histories

Lutheran Church

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages. For more information, see North Dakota Land and Property.

Online Land Records

For more information see North Dakota Land and Property

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories, including those of the county, are available for Sheridan County. These histories can include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Online Collections[edit | edit source]

These collections are unique to North Dakota. You will find nationwide databases for military records on U.S. Military Online Genealogy Records and North Dakota Military Records.

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

For further information see North Dakota Military Records.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Please see the North Dakota Naturalization and Citizenship page for state-wide information.

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For more information, see North Dakota Newspapers.

North Dakota Newspaper Catalogs

North Dakota Newspapers Online

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records, including wills and estates, are at the county clerk's office. See also North Dakota Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

County tax records are at the county treasurer's, auditor's or clerk's office in the county courthouse. Some tax records may have been moved to the North Dakota State Archives.


Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, death, and divorce records may be recorded on registers, certificates, or other documents at the county clerk's office. Many records are also being digitized and put online. See North Dakota Vital Records for more information about availability and how to access them.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Online Death Indexes and Records

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Sheridan County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Dakota Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Sheridan County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Dakota Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Sheridan County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Dakota Societies.

Pioneer Historical Society for Sheridan County
609 Frank Street West
Goodrich, ND 58444
701-884-2567

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Sheridan County at Cyndi's List — a comprehensive, categorized & cross-referenced list of links that point you to genealogical research sites online
  • Sheridan County at Genealogy Trails — volunteer transcriptions of genealogical and historical data
  • Sheridan County at North Dakota USGenWeb - free online resources for genealogical research
  • Sheridan County at North Dakota USGenWeb Archives - free online data for genealogical research
  • Sheridan County, North Dakota at Linkpendium - genealogy and family history
  • Sheridan County, North Dakota Genealogy at LDSGenealogy.com - collection of links by state, county, city, and record type
  • FamilySearch Catalog The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. ↑ Sheridan County, North Dakota, Genealogy and History (Genealogy Trails)
  3. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Sheridan, North Dakota," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sheridan_County,_North_Dakota accessed 8/28/2018
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sheridan County, North Dakota. Page 526 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Sheridan County, North Dakota. Page 526 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 518.
  6. ↑ Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Rev. ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 1992), 562; Alice M. Hetzel, U.S. Vital Statistics System: Major Activities and Developments, 1950-95 (Hyattsville, Md.: U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Health Statistics, [1997]), 58.
  7. ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  8. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Sheridan County, North Dakota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia.
  9. ↑ Alice Eichholz, ‘’Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources,’’ 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 2004), 511. Free online version; FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004; WorldCat entry.
v • d • e
Links to North Dakota-related articles
Topics
Counties
Adams · Barnes · Benson · Billings · Bottineau · Bowman · Burke · Burleigh · Cass · Cavalier · Dickey · Divide · Dunn · Eddy · Emmons · Foster · Golden Valley · Grand Forks · Grant · Griggs · Hettinger · Kidder · LaMoure · Logan · McHenry · McIntosh · McKenzie · McLean · Mercer · Morton · Mountrail · Nelson · Oliver · Pembina · Pierce · Ramsey · Ransom · Renville · Richland · Rolette · Sargent · Sheridan · Sioux · Slope · Stark · Steele · Stutsman · Towner · Traill · Walsh · Ward · Wells · Williams
Extinct
Counties
Allred · Buffalo · Buford · Burbank · Chippewa · Church · De Smet · Flanery · French · Garfield · Gingras · Howard · Kittson · Sheyenne · Stevens · Villard · Wallace · Wallette · Wynn
Major
Repositories
Migration
Routes

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

Due to contractual agreements, some images and/or databases on FamilySearch.org may only be viewed at a Family History Center or FamilySearch Affiliate Library.

A national directory from the Library of Congress that lists of libraries around the country that have the newspapers in their collections.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Sheridan_County,_North_Dakota_Genealogy&oldid=4889704"