Sequatchie County, Tennessee Genealogy
Guide to Sequatchie County, Tennessee ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Sequatchie County was named for the Sequatchie Valley, which in turn had been named for a Cherokee chief. The county is located in the south-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Sequatchie County Courthouse
22 Cherry St Ste 4
Dunlap, TN 37327
County Courthouse Phone: 423-949-3479
County Clerk Phone: 423-949-2522
County Register of Deeds Phone: 423-949-2512
County Clerk Master Phone: 423-949-3670
County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, and probate records from 1858
Clerk of Circuit Court has divorce and court records
Register of Deeds has land records[3]
Sequatchie County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1858 | 1858 | 1858 | 1858 | 1858 | 1858 | 1810 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Additional Information
East Tennessee county in the Sequatchie Valley.
The county is named after a "Cherokee word believed to mean opossum, he grins or runs."[7]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Miller, Alan N. East Tennessee's Forgotten Children: Apprentices from 1778 to 1911. Baltimore, Md.: Printed for Clearfield Company, Inc., by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2000. FHL US/CAN 976.8 U2m. Digital version at MyHeritage ($).
- Tennessee Bureau of Agriculture, Statistics and Mines. Coal Mines and Mining--Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: A.B. Travel, 1883. Free digital copy.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information. | |
Additional Cemetery Resources
- Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 2,120 | — |
| 1870 | 2,335 | 10.1% |
| 1880 | 2,565 | 9.9% |
| 1890 | 3,027 | 18.0% |
| 1900 | 3,326 | 9.9% |
| 1910 | 4,202 | 26.3% |
| 1920 | 3,632 | −13.6% |
| 1930 | 4,047 | 11.4% |
| 1940 | 5,038 | 24.5% |
| 1950 | 5,685 | 12.8% |
| 1960 | 5,915 | 4.0% |
| 1970 | 6,331 | 7.0% |
| 1980 | 8,605 | 35.9% |
| 1990 | 8,863 | 3.0% |
| 2000 | 11,370 | 28.3% |
| Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau. | ||
1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Sequatchie County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
See Sequatchie County, TN census assignments, including links to transcribed files and scanned images of census microfilm. The USGenWeb Census Project®.
1810-1891
1860
- Douthat, James L. 1860 Sequatchie County, Tennessee Census. Signal Mountain, Tennessee James L. Douthat, 1983. FHL 976.877 X2d
- Goins, Sarah A. and Norma Jean Hobbs. 1860 Census, Sequatchie County, Tennessee. S.l.: Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 198-?. FHL 976.877 X2g 1860
1870
- Goins, Sarah A. and Norma Jean Hobbs. United States Census, Sequatchie County, Tennessee 1870. S.l.: Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 198-?. FHL 976.877 X2h
1880
- Hobbs Norma Jean and Sarah A. Goins. United States Census, Sequatchie County, Tennessee 1880. Dunlap, Tennessee N. Hobbs & S. Goins, 1986. FHL 976.877 X2h 1880
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1880 Census Sequatchie County, Tennessee. Nashville, Tennessee: B. Sistler and Associates, 1994. FHL 976.877 X2s 1880
1891 Male Voters
- 1891 Tennessee Enumeration of Male Voters 1891 at Ancestry — index $
1910
- Goins, Sarah A. and Norma Jean Hobbs. Sequatchie County, Tennessee, 1910 Census. S.l.: Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 1986. FHL 976.877 X2g 1910
1920
- Goins, Sarah A. and Norma Jean Hobbs. 1920 Census, Sequatchie County, Tennessee. Dunlap, Tennessee Goins and Hobbs Genealogy Service, 198-? . FHL 976.877 X2g 1920
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- As of August 2010, a query for persons born in Sequatchie, Tennessee at World Connect, results in more than 5,000 entries.
- Compendium of Local Biography Sequatchie County, Tn. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1997?. FHL US/CAN Book 976.877 D3c.
- Douthat, James L. Sequatchie Families: Biographical Sketches of the Earlier Settlers of the Sequeatchie Valley of Tennessee. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: J.L. Douthat, 1983. FHL US/CAN Book 976.87 D3d.
Bibliography
- Boyd - Boyd, R. Vernon. The Boyds of Sequatchie Valley - Genealogy Data. 1992. FHL US/CAN Film 1750733 Item 38; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Boyd - Boyd, R. Vernon. The Boyds of Sequatchie Valley, Tn. 1992. FHL US/CAN Film 1750733 Item 37; digital version at FamilySearch
- Brock - Brock, E. Ralph. Brock: A Family History. Wyandotte, Oklahoma: E. Brock, 1989. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 B782be.
- Lamb - Mohon, James L. Lamb and Allied Families of the Sequatchie Valley. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1996. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 L165m.
- Mansfield - Stites, J.S. Mansfield and Stites Genealogical Record: Ancestors, Relatives, Descendants. Santa Rosa, California: J.S. Stites, 1989. FHL FAM HIST Large Q Book 929.273 M317s.
- Peters - Holloman, Eddie Inez Peters and Mary Lillian Peters Whitten. Peters, Vaughan, Russell and Related Families. Amory, Mississippi: Amory Advertiser, 1980. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 P442h.
- Stewart - Blakemore, Mary Stewart. A Narrative Genealogy of the Stewarts of Sequatchie Valley, Tennessee: and Allied Families. Richmond, Va.: Dietz Press, 1960. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 St49b; digital version at Heritage Quest Online ($).
- Swafford - Swofford, Ray C. Swaffords of Sequatchie Valley, Tennessee. Houston, Tex.: Swofford, 1971. FHL US/CAN Film 908246 Item 1.
- Swafford - Swofford, Ray C. Swaffords of Sequatchie Valley, Tennessee. Houston, Tex.: R.C. Swofford, 1978. FHL US/CAN Film 1036306 Item 1.
- Swafford - Swofford, Ray C. Swaffords of Sequatchie Valley, Tennessee. 2 vols. Houston, Tex.: R.C. Swofford, 1990. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sw12s ff.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Raulston, J. Leonard and James Weston Livingood. Sequatchie: A Story of the Southern Cumberlands. Knoxville, Tenn.: University of Tennessee Press, 1974. FHL US/CAN Book 976.87 H2r.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Tennessee (1777-1985)
- FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- Douthat, James L. Sequatchie Valley Revolutionary War Soldiers. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 1999. FHL US/CAN Book 976.877 M2d.
War of 1812
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1961):49-52. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes Sequatchie County pensioners (p. 52).
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Civil War Soldier Records and Profiles, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1891-1965 Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System
Regiments. Men in Sequatchie County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sequatchie County:
Confederate Soldiers
- 35th Regiment, Tennessee Infantry (5th Infantry) (1st Mountain Rifle Regiment) - CSA-2nd Company H.
Additional sources for Civil War soldiers from Sequatchie County:
- Blevins, Jerry. Sequatchie Valley Soldiers in the Civil War: Bledsoe, Grundy, Marion and Sequatchie Counties in Tennessee and Jackson County in Alabama. Huntsville, Ala.: J. Blevins, 1990. FHL US/CAN Book 976.87 M2b.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Sequatchie County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Sequatchie County, page 374.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Sequatchie County click on the following city:
- 1847 - 1851 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. [1847-1914] 10 vols. [Jackson, Tenn.]: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830s, 1840s, 1910s and 1920s. (Largely Methodist?)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Prisons[edit | edit source]
- 1831-1850 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1831-1850 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
- 1851-1870 Inmates of the Tennessee State Penitentiary 1851-1870 at Tennessee State Library and Archives
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Genealogical periodicals can contain unique sources and can be local, regional, or statewide. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News: Quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. For a keyword search, go to the county index. Read previous issues on their website; FHL Book 976.8 B2a.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The Sequatchie County Court and County Clerk have responsibility for probate records.
Online Records and Indexes
- 1779-2008 Tennessee Wills and Probate Records 1779-2008 at Ancestry $
- 1858-1868 Sequatchie County portion of Tennessee, Probate Court Books, 1795-1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; handwritten indexes may be found at the front or back of some volumes.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
The original Sequatchie County Tax Books (1861-1891) are held at the County Courthouse. GSU microfilmed these records in 1969: FHL US/CAN Film 1012196.
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- 1861 Goins, Sara and Paula Carle Bosch. "1861 Sequatchie County, Tennessee Tax List," courtesy TNGenWeb
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1828-1939 Tennessee Births and Christenings 1828-1939 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1869-1909 Tennessee Delayed Birth Records 1869-1909 at Ancestry $
- 1880-1885 - Sequatchie County Birth Index 1880-1885 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch[8]
- 1908-1912 Tennessee, Birth Records (ER Series), 1908-1912 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
Online indexes and Records
- 1625-1966 Tennessee, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriages 1780-2002 at Ancestry $
- 1780-2002 Tennessee State Marriage Index 1780-2002 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1790-1962 Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 [1790-1962] - at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection. Covers all counties in Tennessee.
- 1796-1950 Tennessee Marriages 1796-1950 (Indexes only) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1838-1888 Tennessee Civil Marriages, 1838-1888 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1851-1900 Tennessee Marriages 1851-1900 at Ancestry $
- 1858-1874 - Marriage Records, 1858-1874, Sequatchie County, Tennessee. FHL Film 24815 Item 5 (Click on camera to open) Typescript
- 1858-1881 - Sequatchie County, Tennessee Marriages, 1854-1881. Digital Book
- 1858-1895 - Sequatchie County Marriage Index 1858-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- 1980-2014 Marriage Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Book Abstracts and Indexes
- 1858-1881 - Early Middle Tennessee Marriages. 2 vols. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 V2sb v. 2 ff. Indexes of brides, grooms, marriage dates for this county for specified years.
- 1858-1922 - Marriages of Sequatchie County, Tennessee, 1858-1922. FHL Book 976.877 V2g
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1874-1955 Tennessee Deaths and Burials 1874-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1908-1933 Tennessee Deaths, 1908 - 1933 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1908-1958 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1958 at Ancestry $
- 1908-1912 Tennessee Death Records 1908-1912 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1914-1933 Tennessee Death Records 1914-1933 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1914-1966 Tennessee Deaths, 1914-1966 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1949-2014 Death Records Index 1949-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1796-1850 Acts of Tennessee 1796-1850 at Tennessee State Library & Archives - index
- 1980-2014 Divorce Records Index 1980-2014 at Shelby County Register of Deeds - index
Online Titles
- W.P.A. Guide to Public Vital Statistics in Tennessee. Nashville, Tenn.: The Tennessee Historical Records Survey, 1941. FamilySearch Books Online
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Sequatchie County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Chattanooga Tennessee Family History Center
- Tullahoma Tennessee Family History Center
- Chattanooga Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Cleveland Bradley County Public Library History Branch - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Sequatchie County. For state-wide library facilities, see Tennessee Archives and Libraries.
Sequatchie County Public Library
227 Cherry St.
Dunlap, TN 37327
Phone: 423-949-2357
Fax: 423-949-6619
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Sequatchie County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Tennessee Societies.
Sequatchie Valley Historical Association
350 Mountain View Road
Dunlap, TN 37327
Phone: 423-949-2294
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Sequatchie County, TN Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Sequatchie County, Tennessee Genealogy and History (American Local History Network) Resources to help you place your ancestors within the context of their local history.
- Sequatchie County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Sequatchie County TN Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Sequatchie County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Sequatchie, Tennessee" in Wikipedia accessed 03 Jan 2019
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002) Putnam County, Tennessee, p.643
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Tennessee.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Sequatchie County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sequatchie_County,_Tennessee, accessed 25 September 2020.
- ↑ "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at Media:Igitennessees.pdf.